We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Great place to have a taste of nature

This is definitely the best place in Taiwan to have a taste of nature where you could view thousand... read more

Reviewed November 23, 2019
trvkaki
,
Singapore, Singapore
via mobile
Alishan National Scenery Area

It was a spectacular weekend visiting Alishan and Fengchihu. The hike through the Alishan National... read more

Reviewed November 20, 2019
D1655WHbradc
via mobile
Read all 666 reviews
  
Google
Recommended experiences in and around Xinyi Township
from $2,250.00
More Info
Reviews (666)
Filter reviews
666 results
Traveler rating
346
230
77
8
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
346
230
77
8
5
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 666 reviews
Reviewed January 3, 2019

We prebooked the early morning train with our hotel, Alishan House. It costs NT$150 each. Morning call is from 3.40 to 4.10 am. Meeting point is the lobby at 4.30 am where we took the hotel shuttle to Alishan Station. Here we joined another long queue for the train up to the Zhushan station. We wore adequately with hats and gloves.
On arriving at Zhushan, we walked up to Mt Ogasawara. It is a fairly steep walk about 15 mins long. It is definitely worth the walk up here. While waiting for sunrise at 7.04 am, we could admire the numerous trees with the autumn colours. There are a few telescopes set up here to view the moon surface and other planets. We could also see the many mountain ridges such as the Jade mountain. After the glaring sighting of the sunrise, we had a lovely walk down passing the Duegaoyue viewing point (a slight detour 100 m away). We took the Zhushan Footpath as a shortcut. Before going back to our hotel for breakfast, we walked a short section of the Shuishan trail. It was such a lovely experience enhanced by viewing sunrise at Mt Ogasawara.

Date of experience: December 2018
4  Thank kim buay p
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2019

I would like to recommend friendly and knowledgeable tour guide/ driver @kevin052603. Since we cannot speak Chinese well, we found it easy to communicate with Kevin as he is well-versed in English. He also drives safely, ensuring comfort of the customers. We stopped by a lot of good food places which he has recommended. He also has good photography skill. He took our photos and forwarded them to us. The trip was free and easy. We can wander around at different stop points and meet him at agreed meeting point to go to next stops.
Our itinerary covers the following:

Day 1 (Lavender Cottage and Alishan)

Day 2 (Sunrise at Alishan and Sun Moon Lake)

Day 3 (Sun Moon Lake > Assam Tea House > Checheng Wood Museum > Mochi Museum)

His contact is:
Kevin Lin (@kevin052603)
Whatsapp (+886 952 537 969)

Date of experience: December 2018
4  Thank helen-ongkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2018

Ali Mountain is one of Taiwan National Park. Traveler go to Ali Mountain to watch the sunrise. In Ali Mountain Taiwan National Park, there are a lot of previous railway system for mining wood. It is built by Japanese in Japanese occupation in Taiwan. Now, we also can experience the little train which carried woods in past in Ali Mountain Taiwan National Park. This park is located in the mountains and has a forest. The temperature in Ali mountain is low in morning and evening .If you are afraid of cold, be sure take one more coat . Enjoy your forest bath!

Date of experience: February 2018
1  Thank Navigator408739
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2018 via mobile

Nice place to visit.

Nice place to enjoy great natures which away from any pollutions.
Make sure you manage to climb the mountain as it requires a proper stamina to complete the same.
Lot of attractions to visit and would suggest to wear proper shoes while enjoying the views.
Recommended.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank LCC8585
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2018 via mobile

Beautiful area with ancient trees as old as 2300 years. We love riding the historic train and enjoyed the walking paths. A very peaceful and lovely place!

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank NanNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews