We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
W Taipei
Nearby Hotels
Humble House Taipei(Xinyi District)
$222
$213
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Pacific Business Hotel(Xinyi District)
$116
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Le Meridien Taipei(Xinyi District)
$401
$288
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Hyatt Taipei(Xinyi District)
$201
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
AT Boutique Hotel(Xinyi District)
$84
$68
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Sparkle Hotel(Xinyi District)
$112
$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Home Hotel(Xinyi District)
$196
$167
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Eslite Hotel(Xinyi District)
$212
$172
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
EnRich House(Xinyi District)(Great Value!)
$58
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
THE Tango Taipei XinYi(Xinyi District)
$143
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,999)
Filter reviews
2,999 results
Traveler rating
2,225
565
128
43
38
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,225
565
128
43
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswoo baryen barfabulous roomw insiderwet barbliss productswhite noise machinekitchen tableday bedfloor to ceiling windowshankyu department storetop floortrendy hotelspg memberyoung peoplepool sidechinese restaurant
Filter
Updating list...
1,985 - 1,990 of 2,999 reviews
Reviewed August 26, 2011

Stayed there on a weekend getaway. It's a perfect location - right next to 2 department stores and subway station. a couple of times we just take a short walk to have our Xiaolongbao and noodles. The famous eslite bookstore is just round the corner - they open til 2am on weekends so you can save that for your last stop before heading back to hotel. On our day of departure we just take the airport bus which departs at the bus terminal right next to the hotel - almost as convenient as taking the taxi (at half the price at least)
The lobby was tucked away on the 10th floor of the building - kinda inconvenient as every time we have to switch elevators on our way back to the room. But that's about the only complaint.
Room's nice and spacious. We asked for a room with a view and how wonderful to wake up looking at Taipei 101 straight from our window. Everything else's as what you would have expected from a W - practical chic, if only they have a better coffee machine (how about a nespresso?)
We tried the swimming pool and gym a couple of times. Their changing room's one of the best we have seen. So relaxing - we could have stayed there forever just to check out the massage chair, jacuzzi, sauna, steam room and all that. Swimming pool is in the middle of the hotel next to the restaurant. Don't worry - just swim as if no one's watching.
Service's very decent. A couple of times we asked for extra turndown and amenities and they come straight away.
Anyway, we got a great corporate rate as well - so this is a great steal! Love it, and if we come back to Taipei, W will definitely be our choice again without a doubt.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the view. Ours has a magnificant view of Taipei 101!
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank g4gary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wtaipei_whotels, Manager at W Taipei, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2011

Hi g4gary!

Thank you for your nice review on W Taipei. It is our great pleasure to know that you enjoyed your weekend with us. Since we want to give our guests a moment to breathe from the exhausting city life, we tend to bring in more relaxing facilities in our hotel such as the lovely changing room with sauna, Jacuzzi and steam room that you mentioned, a gym with aerobics classroom and most important of all, a relax corner in every single guest room!
We understand that it is a bit inconvenient switching the lift at level 10, however, this is how we keep the privacy for our in-house guests since one of the lifts is only reachable to guest rooms and level 31.
Hope to see you soon in W Taipei.

Warm Regards,
W Taipei

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

Stayed for a few nights for work - Very impressed, especially as its still quite new.

Check in quick, friendly and efficient - Lobby on elevated floor with nice view, though you have to look hard to see Taipei 101! - Room itself was really good - Size was appropriate, view was cityscape (with a stunning aspect in the morning when the sun comes up) - electric blinds/curtains (great fun but also useful) - bathroom very good, with shower/bath in a wet room - big sink and loads of nice amenities dotted around - towels were a little small, but there was loads which is always a good sign

new HDTV with good selection of channels, both local and international - bed and pillows very comfy, though soft for western tastes - decor nice with a few of the usual W touches - ipod docking station next to bed - overall very impressive.

only had breakfast there (Taipei has some extremely good and cheap places to eat at night) - it was quite good - usual fare, with a mix of western and asian stuff on offer - staff friendly and generally helpful, though the insistance that you sign the bill mid meal while you are eating was a bit grating by day 3 - nice aspect overlooking the pool (which was closed while i was there) - speaking of the pool, you wouldn't want to be shy as its surrounded by the restaurant, two outdoor bars and the lobby bar - one for the beautiful people! - gym brand new, great views and tons of equipment

Overall it was a thoroughly enjoyable stay - staff were good, hardware the same, its a good location (just around the corner from 101, and near to some good shopping) and the free wifi in the car from the airport was a nice touch (recommended, and yes i said car!) - an excellent addition to business, and lesiure, hotels in the city

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WharfTrader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wtaipei_whotels, Manager at W Taipei, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2011

2. Hi WharfTrader,

It is great news to know that you enjoyed your stay at W Taipei! We are very happy to know that our guest rooms meet your expectations, and you liked us providing wifi in the car.
We would like to apologize for the disturbance of billing issue you encountered on you 3rd day here, we have send your review to our Beverage & Food department for follow up.

Hope to you again soon in W Taipei.
Warm Regards,
W Taipei

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

If you have never stayed at a W, you should and no matter what you will feel the Wow and Wonderful. If you have stayed at W before, then your critique is from another W benchmark which will probably be consistent with this and some of the other reviews.

Good Wows:
- Surroundings, furnishing and design aesthetics that make your friends swoon, definitely the place to be seen and to see.
- BLISS toiletries but only the foam cleanser and hand soap are great.
- Plush & comfy heavenly beds.
- No worries if you forget your iPhone charger, there are 2 docks in the room.
- Definitely what you expect from W, not what you expect from a hotel
- Breakfast experience is unique and spread can make you feel like a kid in a candy store, literally... Very gluttonous experience.
- WET, beautiful and probably best pool and pool side bar in Taipei/Taiwan
- SWEAT is probably the only place you can feel exclusive and completely relaxed because most of the people going in and out of this property cannot or do not use the gym.

Bad Wows:
- Popular like a tourist attraction, too many people at the property (tourists, diners, clubbers), making it feel less exclusive for those that stay there. WET is in direct view of the coffee shop and restaurant and too open for people to wander in and take snaps.
- Too many kids with families in and out of property and the pool, the typical W clientele is a specific target and unfortunately, this property gives the impression that it deviates from his vision and positioning. Great for families but if you are single, DINKs or travelling hipster friends, you get annoyed.
- Elevators are slow and congested because of the reasons above.
- Inroom bath towels are poor quality, cheap and rough. WET pool towels are fluffier and nicer. Slippers are of the worst and cheapest kind, this baffles me when W spend so much on design and decor, then forget about the important aspects of making a guest's stay feel comfortable and pleasurable.
- Inconvenience of depositing room card key at SWEAT in exchange for changing room card key. This poses major inconveniences for larger groups/families.
- Toiletries are not replenished each day unless finished, even if there are 2 people staying.
- I love BLISS spa and products, but for some reason the so called "Sudsy" showergel and shampoo gives the worst clean ever and not bubbly & sudsy at all. I think this may be to do with Taipei's water being very hard.... But i do wonder if management have noticed this.

This is the problem when expectations are set to be wowed, guests really expect to WOW. I will return because it is still worth it but would love to be more WOWed for the right reasons rather than wrong.

This is a relatively new property so that is understandable and some changes may not even be possible or avoided.

Whether you are a guest or not, as I have said, it seems like the place to see, so you should check it out for brunch, dinner or drinks... everyone is!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MissReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wtaipei_whotels, Manager at W Taipei, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2011

3. Hi MissReviews,

First of all, we would like to thank you for your detailed review. Your kind advice gives us a hint of how we can do even better for our guests.
It is great to know that you recommend the hotel as a must see place, and you will still return in the near future. Some bad WOW’s you mentioned in the article such as exchanging room card key for changing room and the BLISS spa products conditions are all addressed to our Rooms Department. Thank you again, we hope the next time when you check in, you will find yourself WOWed than ever.

Warm Regards,
W Taipei

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Looks like i am stuck with W Taipei hotel for the rest of my life (unless the status quo changes, which i am sure at some time, that will happen)

As i was booking it for the 2nd time round, having stayed in it earlier this year, i thought i'd switch rooms for a better view. the 1st time, i stayed in a city view room. this time round, i booked a taipei 101 view room. you actually have to pay more for this view, but i thought, why not?

then when i checked in and went to the room, i was disappointed with 2 things. the size of the room and the smoke smell in a smoke free hotel. it turned out that the reason why i liked my 1st time room, was cos it was a corner room with more space and different layout and furniture. since the smoke smell was unbearable, and taipei 101 view didnt really matter after all, i changed back to the same room type as my 1st stay. i probably got a different floor, but everything else about the room is the same as my 1st time. and i paid less for it than the taipei 101 room!

so my recommendation is, book a corner room. forget the taipei 101 view. it's not that important.

room service is still as good as ever. if they dont have something you need, they can go and get it for you from the nearest convenience store, etc.

note that they are a 'green' hotel and dont change bedsheets everyday, unless you request for it.

now for the rest of it.

the hotel has settled down from its initial opening period, so the gym and spa on Level 12 are fully operational. i like the spacious 24hr gym, grossly underutilised, and with all the spanking new equipment too! the changing room is superb - sauna, different bath pools (hot and cold) and a massage chair. i didnt have time to try out the spa but i am sure it would have been good too.

the makan place is still as good as ever. i love the extensive buffet breakfast spread. i still havent had time to try their lunch and dinner buffets.

if you cant get the late checkout you desire, you can still check your luggage with the concierge and then go shopping in the mall next to the hotel. there is also a huge eslite bookstore just a block away (which faces the taipei 101).

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank russiabear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wtaipei_whotels, Manager at W Taipei, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2011

Hi Russiabear!

Welcome back to W Taipei! We are sure we wish to have the pleasure to be your home in Taiwan for the rest of your life! It is great to know that you liked our changing room for WET and spa, hope you relaxed a bit while staying there. And now we know you liked the Cool Corner room of ours, here is a little tip, as W Taipei only has 2 Cool Corner rooms, it is always better to book it earlier! Thank you again, for you nice review, see you soon in Taipei!

Warm Regards,
W Taipei

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Excellent hotel, nice art work.

Fantastic service at check in, bar staff friendly and the fish & chips excellent. Cocktails a must and the whole ambience......tip top.

Excellent location for shopping, bars, eating out, transportation.....all in all prefect for movement around the city.

3rd hotel in Taipei in 6 weeks and I think it might just beat Le Meridien.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Max_scot1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews