We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
West Central District

“Our Tainan food highlight - make sure you try the Tainan coffin bread and milkfish”

Chikan Peddler's Noodle
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Taiwanese
Neighborhood: West Central District/ North District
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: West Central District/ North District
Reviewed February 13, 2019

I absolutely adore this place - we visited after wanting to try the famous Tainan dishes of milk fish and coffin bread, and read about Chikan Peddler's Noodles on several blogs and web articles.

We visited on a Wednesday night and it was busy (always a good sign) - the menu was extensive (they have it in English) and there is a minimum spend of 150 TWD per head.

Service was brisk and friendly. We ordered milk fish, danzai noodles and coffin bread and the total bill with a drink was only 330 TWD. The food was all so good (especially the coffin bread) and we definitelly plan to go back before we leave Tainan

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank neilhassall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (129)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 129 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2018 via mobile

I can’t come to Tainan and not come here to eat.
Excellent local food, freshly made (there is an open kitchen), nostalgic ambience (old Tainan style, reminiscent of the old Japanese colonial time).
Their milk fish is one of my personal favourite dishes!
Keep it up!
See you next time!!

Date of visit: December 2018
1  Thank XueyanD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2017 via mobile

Though i am not an expert i believe the local food here ouds excellent. Busy with both tourists and locals so that's a good sign. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank 675yangyangc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2016

We let our guide order for us as the names really didn't mean anything to us. We got a table full of different dishes and most were very good. The traditional noodles in a broth were excellent, so were the pickles, sausage pork with bamboo shoots . I liked very much the green vegetables, and the radish in tofu and see weed . I cared a bit less for the "coffin" which was oily and the filling was tasteless, and for the pork intestine.
For dessert we had the peanut and condensed milk on shaved ice which was vey nice.
We drank a bottle of local plum juice, which was interesting but too concentrated .
The owner is a very nice lady very warm and speaks a nice English

Date of visit: October 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Amnon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2016

Very tasty food, friendly and fast service, English menu with food showcase. Long story short: I really enjoyed my dinner.

Date of visit: September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank astk07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chikan Peddler's Noodle also viewed

 
West Central District, Tainan
West Central District, Tainan
 

Been to Chikan Peddler's Noodle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing