We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (373)
Filter reviews
373 results
Traveler rating
54
209
83
20
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
54
209
83
20
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location street performers train station your doorstep your luggage an upgrade buffet style triple room noisy at night shopping district night market corner room local breakfast walking distance convenient hotel milk tea plenty of food
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 373 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Sometimes vacations can be challenging and unforeseen things come up as did with me during my stay here. But i must say that the staff at this hotel will take care of you. They are very responsive to your needs and concerns. Any issue with my stay here were more than adequately taken care of. Wanhua is a lively area and thats why people want to stay here.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank Inspire52182929130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2019

Ximending is a very busy Area with the Rainbow Hotel located in the middle of it all. The rooms are recently renovated, comfortable bed, and quiet despite the many activities outside the hotel. The breakfast was very good with lots of variety.

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Albert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2019

The hotel is right in the heart of Ximending and easily reached via the metro. I stayed for 4 nights and every night, the streets were bustling with activities (but you can't hear the sounds in the hotel). All the staffs were very helpful and informative and the room was very clean. Breakfast was hearty, although, a small variety of food and limited seatings. However, as the hotel is in the middle of Ximending, there are many easily accessible breakfast options in the vicinity.

I booked a family room for 4pax and it was rather spacious. There were two downsides of the room though: (1) there were limited space to hand the hangers (no closet; only a metal bar) and (2) there was no mirror in the room; we had to take turn to use the mirror in the toilet.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ilovemoihair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2019 via mobile

This hotel is located right in the heart of Ximending pedestrian zone -- a very busy shopping area and entertainment center of Taipei. I stayed here for a week and while the hotel itself is quite simple (but not really bad for a 3 star hotel), it did have the basic amenities I needed ... an AC room with two queen size beds, a private rest and shower room (our room even had a bathtub), a TV with cable channels, a mini bar and fridge, and so forth. Being in the center of Ximending was a great advantage since everything was right at your doorstep ... shops, restaurants, bars, etc. Ximending gets particularly alive at night, with street artists performing for free. As to accessibility, taxis are available within just a few minutes' walk. During daytime they're even allowed to enter the pedestrian zone. Or you can simply take the very efficient subway or MRT. Ximen station is just a 5 min walk from the hotel.

Three limitations I can think of about this hotel are as follows. First, the dining area on the 3rd floor, where complimentary breakfast is served, is not that big, food is not good and selection is very limited. Second, communication is not easy since Taiwanese in general (including those assigned at this hotel's front desk) speak very limited English. And, third, the elevator, which is your only access to the upper floors, is quite small and slow. Notwithstanding these three points, I would still very highly recommend this hotel. :D

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank CzarEmmanuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2019

The facade of this hotel is a bit aged like most of the buildings around the vicinity.

It's location, I must agree with other reviewers, is PRIME, in the heart of XMD and less than 5 minutes walk from Ximen station.

The room I stayed in had been renovated and spacious. Cleaning wise, unfortunately, I can't give them full 5 stars - I stayed there for 7 days and there were about a dozen strands of hairs that remained behind the toilet door throughout the 7 days.

Another misnomer, unlike other countries, take for example Bangkok, free minibar means its stocked with some sodas or beer and snacks. For Rainbow, free minibar is just an empty minibar. I had clarified this with the front office and was told only those on top of minibar is free. So again, no 5 stars.

Breakfast is ok although only the type of vegetables changes occasionally.

Free afternoon tea is another misnomer. There were supposed to be free drinks and beverages and cakes. I went there 4 times at different hours - I didn't see any cakes at all. Another negative that does not deserve 5 stars.

Staff attitudes are courteous and ok.

Overall, on the balance things, at best, is 4 stars.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Yong N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews