We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Choo_Travel
Singapore, Singapore

Value for Money and Strategically Located

Review of Rainbow Hotel
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Oct 30, 2012
This hotel is conveniently located in heart of Xi Meng Ding. We went shopping immediately after checking in. However, the downside was we had to bear with the noise in our room. I had no problem falling asleep as I used ear plugs every night. We had a triple room which was very spacious and cost us about US$90 per night. Recommend not to choose the room at the same level as their cafe coz it's very noisy.
Date of stay: November 2011
Trip type: Traveled with family
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
$107
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $99
  • Agoda.com
    $92
  • Hotels.com
    $99
0.1 miles from Rainbow Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$157
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $139
  • Priceline
    $108
  • Hotels.com
    $139
0.2 miles from Rainbow Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$53
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $46
  • Expedia.com
    $54
  • Hotels.com
    $54
0.1 miles from Rainbow Hotel
Free Wifi
$46
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $52
  • Priceline
    $36
  • Hotels.com
    $52
0.1 miles from Rainbow Hotel
Free Wifi
$79
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $82
  • Vio.com
    $61
  • Hotels.com
    $82
0.2 miles from Rainbow Hotel
Free Wifi
$32
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $21
  • Trip.com
    $26
  • Vio.com
    $21
0.1 miles from Rainbow Hotel
$64
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $64
  • Agoda.com
    $55
  • Priceline
    $56
0.2 miles from Rainbow Hotel
Free Wifi
$74
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $66
  • Vio.com
    $63
  • Expedia.com
    $72
0.9 miles from Rainbow Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
$41
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $40
  • KLOOK
    $38
  • Expedia.com
    $41
0.2 miles from Rainbow Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$69
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $56
  • Trip.com
    $45
  • Expedia.com
    $60
0.4 miles from Rainbow Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Wanhua
Reviews (386)
Filter reviews
386 results
Traveler rating
58
214
85
22
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
58
214
85
22
7
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
192 - 197 of 386 reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2012

had a great stay, nothing more to ask for (since we don't stay in the room very often)

good in it's own way and staffs are certainly very friendly and helpful.

Breakfast is kind of bland though but it's heaven once you stepped out of the hotel! (lotsa good food in ximending)

Wifi signals are rather strong on my level.. walking distance to train stations and not far away from most of the main attractions in taipei. got assigned a room with TWO KING BEDS xD

not a bad choice to stay in if you're just looking for a good room and reliable service to depend on!

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juisin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Booked two triple rooms for 4 nights but was given free upgrade for one of the rooms. The quad room was huge with two queen beds and big bathroom. The triple room was slightly smaller, but still had space for walking and opening luggages. Wifi was terrible as everyone mentioned. The people in my party who did not buy prepaid sim cards could not use the wifi in the hotel at all. So if u want to stay at rainbow hotel, please buy the local sim card if u need internet.

Breakfast was provided if you book directly from the hotel website. It's also cheaper than booking from other sites. Edible but not fantastic, not for fussy ones. The food is mostly simple vegetarian fare wtih almost the same dishes everyday. They make an effort to change the type of vegetables though. I liked the eggs the most. There's nothing to lose if you plan to sleep through breakfast hour anyway. There are lots of food stalls outside the hotel if you need better breakfast.

The staffs are very friendly! They greet u all the time. I could say even all the taiwanese shop owners we met throughout the trip are friendly people.

Soundproofing in the hotel is bad. We could hear noises at night...people talking and listening to music from outside can be heard from the room. I would also like to highlight that on our 4th morning(3 oct), drilling noises in the hotel could be heard as early as 9am in the morning. This woke us up from our sleep.

The location is the best, right smack in the liveliest area of ximending and very convenient!

Pros: location, friendly staff, great value, free breakfast
Cons: weak wifi connection, poor soundprooofing, tiled flooring. maybe carpeted flooring would make the rooms feel cleaner

Tip: come down at 11pm when all the makeshift stalls appear selling food, clothes and random stuff. The popiah ice cream and sweet potato balls are so good!! The other stalls sell unique things.Then watch the stall owners run away with the trolley carts when the police comes. What an eye-opener.

The famous Ah Zhong mee sua is along one of the shops below KFC on the left. Best mee sua in taipei ever.

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank luvholiday9
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

the hotel is a little on the old side. wifi was either very weak or none from my room (and it doesn't work half the time). but the rooms are clean though a little small (and they managed to fit a bathtub in it). there's only one lift but it's sufficient. 2 mins walk to the nearest Ximen station. great value. polite, helpful and smiling staff. will come back again.

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GuiLingKwek
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Had sleepless night due to environment. Other than good location, I do not have any better comments!

Date of stay: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shejar5
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Location (Excellent)
- 2 mins walk to nearest train station
- Food and shops just downstairs
- Could be noisy at night for those who get the street facing rooms. My room was facing the residential area, so I do not have an issue with that.

Rooms (Good)
- Very basic amenitites
- Very clean
- Bed was a little too hard for my liking

Breakfast (Bad)
- Popped by restaurant to look at the breakfast variety and decided it was not worth getting up early for it.

Service (Excellent)
- Receptionists are very friendly and helpful with directions (This is important)
- Booked for 2 way airport transfer. Driver was very punctual.
- Did not dine at hotel, can't comment about the waiters

Overall (Good)
- Good value for money
- Will return but will not mind staying other hotels with comparable rates and amenities

Date of stay: March 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HappyCamperoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews