We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
amba Taipei Ximending
Nearby Hotels
$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Swiio Hotel(Wanhua)
$56
$50
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$85
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Via Hotel(Wanhua)
$60
$55
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$48
$46
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
WESTGATE Hotel(Wanhua)
$136
$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$63
$55
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$45
$43
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$76
$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$38
$34
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (748)
Filter reviews
748 results
Traveler rating
296
360
67
17
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
296
360
67
17
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsflip flopslarge king roommedium kingbalcony roomdepartment storetrendy hotelrice rollsshopping mallbaby cottoilet and showerbreakfast buffethotel is locatednight lifepedestrian areaamenities providedstayed nightsyoung people
Filter
Updating list...
471 - 476 of 748 reviews
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Modern hotel in the middle of Ximending. Nice decor throughout, good friendly service. Decent sized room (large double) with separate toilet room, walk in shower, corridor with sink and clothes hanging space (see picture) with curtain divider to bedroom. Nice toiletries provided and good quality flip flops too for use around the hotel and also to take home. Aircon, flatscreen TV, safe, tea/coffee making facilties. Bedroom has absolutely huge bed and small window (no decent view from my room). All in all a very nice, clean and modern room. My only gripe with this hotel is the timing of breakfast. It closes at 10am every day, so if you have a late night on Saturday chances are you will miss Sunday breakfast because at 10am they actually start to clear away. The breakfast I did get on Monday morning was pretty good, decent choice and set in an interesting laid out and decorated cafe with a few quirky touches. I like this hotel for its location and its style.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poliwhirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teresahuang77, 總經理 at amba Taipei Ximending, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Dear amba guest,

Thank you for choosing amba TAIPEI XIMENDING and spare time to share your experience with us. I am glad to learn you enjoyed our convenient location and unique style that your overall stay with us was an enjoyable one.

Your positive feedback and observations regarding our location and decor will surely be shared with the entire team whom I believe will be highly encouraged.

Thank you once again for choosing ambal! We hope to see you soon whenever your next trip brings you back to Taipei!

Wish you a bright, happy and prosperous Year of 2013!

Teresa Huang
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Location is in the middle of XMD, on a pedestrian street. One would need to walk approximately 100m from the road to reach it.

Hotel is clean and bright, with a minimalistic decor that reminds one of the Japanese brand Muji.
Checking in was prompt and service was great, which is what the Taiwanese are famous for.
However, the 1st corner room we were led to on the 5th floor had such a strong smell of cigarettes. It was fresh cigarette smell, and obviously the housekeeping tried to mask it with a generous spritz of lavender room spray- which didnt help a single bit at all. The room also look smaller than what we had booked.
After voicing our dissatisfaction over the counter, we were given another room on the 8th floor, which look slightly bigger and of couse, smells much fresher.

Overall stay is great, with great food around the hotel. Few popular hotpot restaurants which opens up to 4am is nearby too.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gingerleaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teresahuang77, General manager at amba Taipei Ximending, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Dear amba guest,

Thank you for choosing amba TAIPEI XIMENDING and taking time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us.

It is a true pleasure to receive genuine feedback from our valued guests and I am glad to learn that our staff could be of assistance and made prompt response to your needs during your time with us.

Thank you once again for your support towards ambal! We hope to see you soon whenever your next trip brings you back to Taipei!

Wish you a bright, happy and prosperous Year of 2013!

Teresa Huang
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

The hotel is in good shape and have central location in Ximending. It is in a middle of a shopping area for young people. All the shops and restaurants in the are are for young people. You reach the Metro in a few minutes. Our room was large but had only one small window.

It is a good hotel but the restaurant is not good. The restaurant tries to be "Upmarket", both the food are more lika fast food and the service is slow and not syncronized. We had dinner for three persons. Our food took between 20-40 minutes! And one person got his main course after 20 minutes and the last of ous three got his after 40 minutes. The main courses we ordered was a burger and two different types of paninis.....

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ThomasGBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teresahuang77, General manager at amba Taipei Ximending, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Dear amba guest,

Thank you for choosing amba TAIPEI XIMENDING and taking time to share your experience on tripadvisor. I am glad to learn that you enjoyed our convenient location during your stay with us.

Further to your concerns regarding the service in the restaurant, I have met with the department manager concerned to highlight the issues and urge improvements needed. Thank you for your kind reminder.

Thank you once again for choosing ambal! We hope to see you soon whenever your next trip brings you back to Taipei!

Wish you a bright, happy and prosperous Year of 2013!

Teresa Huang
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in January 2013 and especially like the simple and spacious design in rooms. WE got a triple room for the three of us so one of the beds is a sofa bed but it is still comfortable. The good thing is they have thick curtains separating the washroom area and the sleeping areas so the noise when others are using the shower/bath/toilet is kept to a minimal. The slippers and amenities are reusable and of good quality and the hotel strongly recommend you to bring home the leftovers and the slippers too!! Which I did!! Wifi connection is stable and fast and available throughout the hotel. Staff is young and helpful and handled our orders and deliveries to the hotel well. Location is around 5 minutes walk from Ximinding station and loads of choice of restaurants around. Will definitely stay again next time.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmys704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teresahuang77, General manager at amba Taipei Ximending, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Dear amba guest,

Thank you for choosing amba TAIPEI XIMENDING and taking time to share your experience with us. Your positive appreciation regarding our location and hotel design is no doubt the greatest encouragement and inspiration to the entire team. On top of all, I am overwhelmingly thrilled to learn that our little appreciation to the nature has been noticed and you even show your gracious support by taking the slippers home with you. Your acknowledgement and recognition is highly appreciated!

Thank you once again for your kind words towards ambal! We hope to see you soon whenever your next trip brings you back to Taipei!

Wish you a bright, happy and prosperous New Year 2013!

Teresa Huang
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I stayed there from Feb 18 to Feb 22, it locals at Ximanding, 5 mins to MRT station. the hotel is modern and contemporary. Staff are friendly and helpful. The Hotel put a lot of effort on environmental protection. Breakfast is good with various choice of food and drinks. Will stay in here if I go to Taipei again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teresahuang77, General manager at amba Taipei Ximending, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dear amba guest,

Thank you for choosing amba TAIPEI XIMENDING and taking time to share your experience with us. It is a pleasure to receive genuine feedback from our valued guests and I am truly happy to learn that your overall stay with us is an enjoyable one. Your positive feedback and observations regarding our location, design and service will surely be shared with the entire team whom I believe will be highly motivated and encouraged.

Thank you once again for your kind words towards ambal! We hope to see you soon whenever your next trip brings you back to Taipei!

Wish you a bright, happy and prosperous New Year 2013!

Teresa Huang
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews