We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (53)
Filter reviews
53 results
Traveler rating
32
7
7
2
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
32
7
7
2
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews main building night market lesson hostel waves dorm wifi beginners
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 53 reviews
Reviewed December 31, 2015

Rising Sun is a beautiful surf hostel right on the beach in Wai'ao. It is a convenient trip from Taipei and offers great surfing, food, and fun. It is a quiet and peaceful town and the staff is super helpful. It was just $NT 500 for a room in the mixed dorm and everything was very clean and comfortable. I really enjoyed my time there and would recommend it to anyone.

Room tip: Private rooms are great but so are the dorms, and all for a really good price.
Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2015 via mobile

When I got to this place I was overwhelmed by the friendly staff and the great location next to the ocean with volcanic sand. I stayed in the female dorm which has a big bathroom and a balcony with ocean view. I can also recommend a surf course- no problem even if you are a complete beginner. The hostel is a good starting point for day trips or longer tours. I came back to this great place twice on my tour around Taiwan. The staff can also help you with your travel plans. Guests are from all around the world. From my experience I can highly recommend the rising sun surf inn.

Date of stay: October 2015
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank CaroOnTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2015

I have stayed at Rising Sun for many times. I visit this place every year.
1 of the main attractive things about this place will have to be the beach. The hostel is facing a beach, which is only 2 min walk away. At night, if you don't close all the doors and windows, you can listen to the sound of the waves while you sleep.
the second thing that makes this place so great will have to be the staff there. they are all very friendly and will give good advice on how to spend your time at the area.
they do provide surfing lessons as well, so for those who want to pick up surfing, this place is 1 you should visit.
rooms are clean, but as the buildings are rather old, it might be to some people's liking. then again, if you want to stay at a posh beach resort, why come to waiao?

Room tip: choose the 6 bed mixed dorm if you want wifi in your room.
Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lionite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2015

We stayed there for two nights. The location is very good & the staff friendly. Expats meet there at the weekend for surfing or walking on the beach. Candy (the owner) showed us a lot of interesting places in the area, which was very nice & made our stay unforgetable! Also it's a nice place to hang out if the weather's bad.

Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jennyjenny m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2015

老闆娘非常熱情,而且帶動地方公益不遺餘力! 此處風景優美,若是晴天造訪肯定令你驚艷不已! 衝浪課教學非常適合初學者,很容易就能上手!

Great scenery especially in sunny days! The owner is passionate to every vistors and dedicated to local charity activities! Surfing course is good for people who never surf before!

Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunshine806150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews