We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Promisedland Resort & Lagoon
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Fitness center
Yiyuan Resort(Shoufeng)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Reviews (432)
Filter reviews
432 results
Traveler rating
234
126
42
11
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
234
126
42
11
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspromised landboat tourspanish stylemodern amenitiesneeds improvementbeautiful rivertrain stationwestern dishesrift valleybeautiful placehualien cityswimming poolactivitiescanaltaiwanarcherydiy
Filter
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 432 reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Stayed at Promised Land resort during our recent "road trip" in Taiwan. Though the resort seems a bit 'plopped out of nowhere', there's lots to do on the grounds and no need to leave the premises at all! My baby was a bit too young (only 10 months), but can't wait to go back when he is a bit older so he can take advantage of all the fun activities (and there are lots!): boat rides, swimming pools/slides, jungle gyms, canoeing, etc. etc. The rooms are a bit ho-hum (nothing special), but they are quite clean. The resort is definitely showing its age, but again, this didn't bother me, surprisingly (I'm usually very picky!). The breakfast buffet wasn't fabulous but wasn't too bad. All in all, a very fun place and one I wouldn't hesitate to recommend to friends/family.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank KOinCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2011

If you are looknig for a place to bring your family for a trip in Taiwan this is it.
Food was good.
Plenty of activities.
Staff were nice and professional.
Facilities are new, clean and usable.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank hossSidney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2010

I consider myself something of an expert on Disney resorts since I have stayed in all but two of the Florida on-site resorts. Walking through Promised Land reminded me greatly of being in a Disney World resort. There are about 20 buildings, each two stories tall and having about 10-20 rooms on each floor. When you check in, they take you and your luggage to the room on a large golf cart.

The room itself was incredibly spacious--large bedroom and large bathroom. The bath had a tub plus a separate walk-in shower. The room was comfortable, except for the fact that the bed was much softer than I like.

The meal in the main restaurant are served buffet style and are mostly western food. In fact, the resort is supposed to be Gaudi-style (after the Spanish architect) and much of the restaurant food is Spanish. The buffet includes beverages (juices and soft drinks) as well as a large selection of desserts.

There is an outdoor theater with a free show each night, and it includes Flamingo as well as other western entertainment. The resort also offers a free canal boat ride through the beautifully landscaped resort. There is a large pool and other smaller pools in the resort, but the only hot tub is in the spa and there is a charge for that.

The second floor of the welcome building with the front desk has a lounge with a variety of newspapers and magazines, a kid play area, and several computers for free internet.

We only stayed one night because this stay was part of a tour, but I would have enjoyed spending more time at this resort.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank OhioRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2009

The area is a nice place for family, especially for some young kinds. The place will send you to the room by a small boat after you check in. It is very special hotel in my impression. But the room rate is a little bit expensive.

You can spend one-day in the hotel if you like swimming activities. You also can ride bicycle to university near the hotel. It is also a beautiful place which you can enjoy and have good fun.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Pink_Rabbit_Angel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2008

MY TRAVEL STYLE: If possible, I try to stay away from business and strongly prefer resorts that resemble the Four Seasons, Aman, and Oberoi but try to find similar properties at lower cost. I seek out the “wow” experiences and I encourage you to view hotels I have stayed at and their respective reviews (by clicking on my name).

LOCATION: Ok, not too close to many things but is a destination in itself. At least an hour from Taroko Gorge. Having a car here would be a good idea. 25 minutes to Hualien city by car.

BEST WAY TO GET THERE: We drove from the Anton Resort Springs area (stayed at New Life Resort). Took a very leisurely couple of hours by car.

TYPE OF ROOM: Isabella honeymoon suite

BED/SHEETS/PILLOW: Bed is very comfortable, soft and has ultra luxurious linens. The down pillows are excellent. One of the best beds in our last 120 hotels in the last 11 months.

LIGHTING: Tons of lighting in both bedroom and bathroom.

BATHROOM/SHOWER: Shower has medium water pressure and temperature can be made consistently hot if desired. Separate bathtub.

TOILETRIES: Good quality

CLEANLINESS: Entire room and bathroom are exceptionally clean with the exception of a little mold in the shower grout.

A/C: Quickly and quietly got our room cool.

CLOSET SPACE: Better than average closet space.

STYLE OF ROOM: Huge room with couch and balcony with chairs and table. Very comfortable Spanish style design.

QUIET/MORNING LIGHT: Room is very quiet and all morning sunlight can be blocked with the curtains.

FOOD: Breakfast is included and had a good selection of both Asian and western cuisine. Waffles, eggs, 3 choices of cereals, salads, toast, yogurt, and fruits. Food was ok but nothing special. There is a Chinese and Western restaurant on the property. The Chinese restaurant doesn’t have English menus and the staff doesn’t speak English so good luck there. The Western restaurant’s menu choices are not so good and are identical to the room service menu. Our spaghetti Bolognese ended up being a seafood pasta with mediocre taste and some of the shellfish was close to inedible. At least it was only about US$7.00 for the entrée. Luckily we have a car so all of our non-included meals since this meal have been outside the resort. There are also options for food at the pool but the highlight there is hotdogs and packaged cup-o-noodle style soup. My suggestion is to bring food with you to this resort.

TV/INTERNET: Internet is no charge but very slow and wireless only. About 8 channels in English including Discovery, HBO, Animal Planet, and Cinemax.

SERVICE: Staff are very pleasant and helpful but few employees speak even basic English. Many signs and pamphlets explaining hotel activities are in Chinese only so may be best to get a translation on day one.

COMMON AREA: Beautiful setting. Palms trees and manicured gardens set among waterfalls and ponds with koi fish. Pool is excellent and very inviting. Every so often there is the odd roman sculpture set within the grounds. The Pool requires a that guests wear a swimming cap which may be purchased for 100 TWD at the hotel. There are only 2 sets of lounge chairs by the pool (4 total) as most Taiwanese prefer a poolside table and chairs. The umbrellas for the lounge chairs block very little sunlight and the better umbrellas for the tables and chairs block much more but I could still notice sun coming through. I would be nervous about getting sunburned when out by the pool. The 4 loungers have no cushions therefore you are going to be sitting on hard wood.

ROOM & CITY TIPS:
The rooms closest to the lobby are in the best location since it’s closest to the main pool and hotel activities. There is a 3rd restaurant outside the main hotel area that specializes in seafood and especially clams (we didn’t know this until our 3rd day). Having a car is a good idea if staying at this hotel since nothing is in walking distance. There are some good biking roads around the hotel (hotel rents bikes). This is a perfect hotel for kids as there are many kids activities here and many other kids were present. Some of the buildings with rooms have a 3rd floor which probably have the best views. If you are ok with the limited English, mediocre food, and some of the pool issues, then I highly recommend this hotel as it very likely the best hotel in all of Hualien.

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank TravelSnob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews