We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Shilin
Save
  
Google
Ways to Experience Shilin Night Market
from $34.70
More Info
from $15.38
More Info
from $119.00
More Info
from $19.50
More Info
Reviews (5,268)
Filter reviews
5,268 results
Traveler rating
1,499
2,214
1,183
279
93
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,499
2,214
1,183
279
93
Show reviews that mention
All reviews street food night market stinky tofu fried chicken jiantan station underground food court carnival games oyster omelette game stalls local food empty stomach stalls selling food stands bubble tea oysters mango long queue
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 5,268 reviews
Reviewed January 15, 2020 via mobile

Shilin market itself is not much at all. All the small kiosks are around all the small streets. Quite a lot of choices and clean. Nice to check it out.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank 394pascall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2020 via mobile

I was not interested in doing any shopping yet still spent two hours here. It is not like most night markets. Essentially you have real stores on pedestrian and non-pedestrian streets. Some of these streets also open to covered buildings with more stores, in all multiples blocks that take a good while to walk completely through. Add in hundreds of food stalls both indoors and outdoors (all very inexpensive, no big chain restaurants in the this market), and throw in lots of carnival kinds of games (throw darts at balloons to pop them and win prizes, etc) and you have the Shilin Night Market. This market is not really for the tourist as the stores offer inexpensive clothing and tech goods, etc, but not so much souvenirs. This market is not for the hipsters or young kids, they go to a market area in another part of town. This is for the locals who want to be entertained inexpensively. My wife and I walked for a couple hours, checking out the interesting food stalls, trying lots of things and browsing the shops. Only when we were about to leave did we find the downstairs food court with lots more cheap food restaurants but actual chairs and tables one could sit at.

Date of experience: January 2020
1  Thank jbushman2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2020

Chock-o-block of rowdy people. Some indoor eating area, we could see, had less than desirable hygeinic condition. Same food every vendor is selling. Totally unimpressive.

Date of experience: January 2020
8  Thank Detlef Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2020

Night market was a fun food adventure. Went on Saturday night. Very crowded but felt safe. Lots of different foods to try from sea food, fried food, the infamous stinky tofu. Strongly suggest a stroll first through the vendors and then decide, you can fill up pretty fast. I liked the vibe, the energy, and the meat on stick choices. Enjoy, gotta do this at least once

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank MJonesPE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2020

One of the nicer night markets out there with great food and some other shops as well. Some reviews claim it is too touristy, but I did not have the feeling at all.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank MartinG1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews