We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal Group Hotel Chang Chien Branch
Nearby Hotels
$36
$32
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$49
$47
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Riverside Hotel Esthetics(Sanmin)(Great Value!)
$43
$32
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shihzuwan Hotel - Kaohsiung Station(Sanmin)(Great Value!)
$43
$39
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$52
$50
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$49
$47
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$26
$24
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$52
$49
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hwa Hong Hotel(Sanmin)(Great Value!)
$28
$23
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$38
$37
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (91)
Filter reviews
91 results
Traveler rating
27
38
17
1
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
27
38
17
1
8
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 91 reviews
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Conveniently located near the Kaohsiung Train Station and Kaohsiung Main MRT Station, with very affordable price, breakfast inclusive and with free flow of drinks / ice cream throughout the day - the LiuHe Night Market is just about 15 mins of walk towards the south direction

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seijinm82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Royal Group Hotel Chang Chien Branch

Tip 1: How to get there? If you arrived Kaohsiung HSR (Zuo Ying Station), you need to catch the metro to Kaohsiung metro station. When you get to Kaoshuing Metro station, use Exit no. 1 to exit. When you arrived upstairs from the escalator, you will see the main railway station. Ignore that, instead you look up around you and you will find the hotel's Chinese name printed at the top of the building - 御宿商旅

It is a white/black building, cross the road under the bridge and you will see it on your left.

Tip 2: Best advice i gonna give you. This hotel only allows check-in at 6pm! Basically there was no details about checking-in time when we book the hotel and the hotel receptionists were very rude. Well, they were just equally rude. I think its just the town itself, most of the people in Kaohsiung are not overly or highly-educated so i don't blame them. The customer-service you get is not what you will find in Taipei. Taipei's customer-service is top-notched.

Tip 3: Be very aware that this hotel is not close to any pharmacy at all. There is a Watson near the train station but they don't sell much drugs like stomach ache's tablets or anti-inflammatory.

Tip 4: To get to Dream Mall? I suggest you catch a taxi outside the hotel because the metro station at Dream Mall is about 1 -2 km away.

Tip 5: The room is very basic and the corridor is quite tiny. We booked into a deluxe room but it was near the lift so we could hear people coming in and out of their room all the time. Overall its clean and cheap so we are not that fuss.

Tip 6: The best thing about this hotel? Their hotel buffet is not too bad considering their hotel staff's service. You get find quite a lot of food selections from ice-cream to dim-sum.

Tip 7: Outside the hotel, there are ads of coach buses company that will bring you to Foguangshan (Buddha Enlightenment Temple) at very cheap prices. Do not take taxis or cab there because its a rip-off

If you think my reviews have been helpful to you, please click 'Yes' for 'Was this review helpful?'

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank TravelQueenie365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

The wifi was very unreliable and unavailable during most of our stay. The staff was unfriendly and unhelpful. We asked for a non-smoking room, but our request was completely ignored. My husband got food poisoning from the chocolate spread for the bread. On the positive note, the location of the hotel is excellent and it provides 24hr ice cream, tea, coffee, and snacks.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chiayijane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

The location is superb, just right across the Train/ Metro Station
Hotel is neat and tidy, water pressure is very strong
Breakfast was quite awful, in-room free wifi didn't always work properly
I was surprised to find that the adult channels are easily accessible and not locked, it might cause some embarrassment if you aren't travelling with your partner

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank E_Traveller_999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

The hotel is well located just opposite Kaoh Siung railway, subway and coach station. Just a few subway stops from airport, this place is excellent for travelers because you can get to every corner of Taiwan with ease. Staffs are nice and checking in takes no more than 30 seconds! The hotel is recently renovated and is clean and tidy. Do not expect a spacious room, a double bed takes up 90% of the space. What I love most is their 24-hour snack bar. It is a god send when you arrive in the middle of the night or woke up at 2 a.m. with a rumbling stomach.

Room Tip: My only complain is the traffic noise :( Not enough to disturb my sleep but noticeable. Choosing a room facing the back street instead of Kaoh Siung Station should help.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnnyChu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews