We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Art of Culinary”

Diaozishen - Tree House Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 152 Restaurants in Puli
Restaurant details
Reviewed July 23, 2016 via mobile

My family and I could not help but marvel whenever there is a new dish served. Everything is so beautifully plated.

This is our third time dining here. Every time we had pleasant surprises.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank BestLambert
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (16)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 16 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2016

Over the course of my foodie life, I've eaten at some serious non-buffet doozies, ranging from Auberge de la Mole near St Tropez to Dario Cecchini in Panzano. So I was not expecting to find myself keeling from stuffing my face in SML!

SML is not known for its dining scene, hence we opted for this place's weird combination of Japanese and Chinese fusion tasting menu!

The 10 course no menu Feast we opted at NTD2,000 started out well - nicely put together sashimi platter service on a HUGE bamboo stick. And continued to impress with abalone and caviar, followed by taraba crab and shark's fin in cream of mushroom, potatoes and corn soup. At that point, the restaurant had more than justified it's charge, so it should have stopped service right there.

But no, the food kept coming, and before long it had gone from Japanese to fusion to Chinese food. Leaving aside we were no longer paying for Japanese food, the restaurant basically shot itself in the foot by serving pork and caramelized onions on a bed of rice more commonly found in a canteen.

The shame of it all, and the reason this place doesn't get full marks is because the ridiculous number of dishes showed the cooks had no idea what is good and what is not. Otherwise, the tree house decor was fantastic, as was the service. In point of fact, to find a gut busting meal in SML of places was, well, plain unbelievable!

Date of visit: March 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jrocker7
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 16, 2015 via mobile

This was my second time here. The hygiene has improved since my last visit (one year ago). Last time, the table was a bit sticky, but this time everything was clean. Regarding the food, to me, the best thing here was: food was always very beautifully plated. Most of the dishes tasted great of course, but the look and the decoration were undoubtedly in the highest level.

Date of visit: August 2015
Thank BestLambert
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 22, 2015

It was merely incidental that I stumbled across this restaurant while searching for some decent place to eat on my way from Taichung City to Sun Moon Lake. I couldn't help being impressed by the beautiful photos of the tree house which harbours the restaurant and of the food they serve. It is actually one of two restaurants situated in the New Era Art Resort and Spa. The place was artfully decorated, making full use of the mother tree and converting it into a cosy and comfortably spacious 3 storied restaurant. They offer different set menus varying from NT$800 (lunch only), through 1200, 1600 to 1800. We opted for the 1800 omakase. From the very first course, we were presented with dish after dish of delicacies served on artfully moulded porcelain bowls and plates. The sashimi, while fresh, was a bit non-descript, but other than that, all the rest (there must be over 10 courses) were both pretty and delicious. We ended up spending more than 2 hours over lunch and left like a pack of Cheshire cats, smiling with satisfaction.
Puli is a small town conveniently situated midway between Taichung and Sun Moon Lake or Cingjing. Be sure to come to the Tree House when you next pass through the region. You won't be disappointed.

Date of visit: June 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank hchcheung
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 30, 2019 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of visit: February 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travelers who viewed Diaozishen - Tree House Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Diaozishen - Tree House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.