We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Sunshine
Nearby Hotels
$131
$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
R8 Eco Hotel(Lingya)
$41
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$78
$61
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$56
$46
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
85 Sky City(Lingya)(Great Value!)
$28
Booking.com
View Deal
$55
$47
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$46
$39
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$55
$51
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$38
$35
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$66
$27
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (239)
Filter reviews
239 results
Traveler rating
76
113
34
4
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
76
113
34
4
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspleasant staycross junctionfront desk staffenjoyable breakfastplus pointlovely roomsmall refrigeratorwater heaterbreakfast spread was goodmetro stationsky towerfree wifiroom windowminute walkcomfortable hotelshopping districtwashing machine and dryer
Filter
Updating list...
67 - 72 of 239 reviews
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Stayed for a night during the June rainy season period and i must say i really enjoyed staying in Hotel Sunshine! Loved their tea room in their lobby area though i didn't actually get to try their food there. The whole decoration of the hotel is splendid! With very chinese types of furniture right in front of our rooms as well as in our room. The whole room itself is spacious, with a huge bed. The best part is that they provided 5 pillows for each bed! What not to love about this?! Their rooms are also very high tech with touch screen light switches.

The downside is that our bathroom's drainage was clogged and the bathroom was flooded when my mommy was bathing! Fortunately, we called for housekeeping and their staff came promptly after a while to clear the drainage of clogged hair. I am impressed with the staff who came as she was wearing office uniform (which i doubt she is a housekeeping staff) and she actually went down hands on to dig for the clogged hair.

Nothing not to love about this hotel though there was a slight hiccup.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank Jisushika1126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

If you want to experience a hotel with traditional chinese decoration, sunshine hotel is the right choice. Close to Gaoxiong MTR station, 5-10 mins walk from the exit, free breakfast included. Cost around $3000NT per night. The decoration in the room is so traditional, very very interesting, also provded the chinese version chess for you to play. It took me a while to figure out where was the TV controllor hidden at. Worth to have a try and good value with money.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
24  Thank Ming S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2011

I stayed for 2 nights in July this year, it was my second stay already.

The new block was very nice, opened a few months back, more westernized compared to the old one, but both are good, depending on which would suit you better.

Breakfast was simple but good, that's all I need to start a day.
Service was excellent and staff are very friendly, they can recognize us almost since the first day we checked in until we left, always greeted with smiling face, from everyone.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in the new block, as rooms seems larger and brighter
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
38  Thank Tigger0502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

good service with waiters
confortable bed, restroom.
delicious meal.

Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
39  Thank polingsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2010

This is basically very popular with Asians, by which i mean it is not a western style, think dark carved wood and gold bits everywhere.

We were shown three rooms before we found one which did not smell of drains. They all looked out onto a brick wall , so avoid rooms ending with a three. The room on the front was better, I'd say an average 3 start hotel standard.

Staff were very friendly and helpful, we didn't bother with breakfast on the second day as there was nothing we wanted to eat.

If you are western and prefer a western style of modern hotel then try somewhere else, this cost us £55 uk which was only a little cheaper then the 5star places in town, and we Shpuld have stayed there. Even better, id recommend staying 30mins away by train at the shangri la in Tainan and coming in on the train, where we then went on to stay for the second time!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank TravellingBobUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews