We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tien Lai Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
$231
$134
Priceline
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$245
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dapu Hotel(Wanli)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (284)
Filter reviews
284 results
Traveler rating
116
119
37
5
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
116
119
37
5
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor hot springjapanese style roomthe busgreat viewtaipei cityspring poolsswimming pooltaipei main stationqueen sizefood optionsrelaxing experiencebathroom doortwo blockscomfortable hotelhot springs experiencemountain viewdinner buffet
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
77 - 82 of 284 reviews
Reviewed July 7, 2013

My wife & myself visited the resort during June 2013. Overall, it is a very relaxing place to be.

Service : I have to say it is very good. We have wifi problem from our room & the management fixed it up by installing another wifi modem in our room. The initiative is a big plus, to make customer happy. A + here

Hotspring : We stayed in Japanese style room, which means we have our private hotspring in pur room. It is really worth it. Great privacy & perfect for couples. A + here

Sleep & Room : Our room is huge & environment is very quiet. Real taste of relaxation from busy city for a change.

Food : For us, it is very very very excellent dinner. We enjoyed it so much........Great dinner.
Breakfast is adequate. A Big Big Plus here.

Conclusion : Will we come back again? Yes, we will.

One special thanks to the gentleman who works there as Service/Driver........Thank you for the great hospitality you had shown to us, especially assisting us to & from Jin Shan town.......Great warmth from the host. Keep up the great work.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Agnenick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Though my husband and I have been Taipei for several times, this is our first trial to stay at hotspring hotel.

TRANSPORT:
Since we would spend the first night at Tienlai Spring Resort, we have booked a taxi to travel from Taoyuen Airport (we arrived at Taipei in the morning) to Yang Ming Shan for sightseeing first and then check-in at Tienlai in late afternoon. It is not very easy to get to the hotel as there is only one bus route, with the frequency about 30 mins while the travel time is around 1 to 1.5 hrs from Taipei Main Station. That's why we decided to take a taxi so we didn't need to worry about our baggages or bus schedule.

Unfortunately, rain kept on falling after we arrived Taipei (actually it rains during our whole trip!), so we couldn't spend much time at Yang Ming Shan and needed to go to Tienlai earlier as we planned.

ROOM:
We have reserved a room at Tienlai II building which is in Japanese style. Our room is at highest floor facing hill view. We like the private hotspring at the balcony very much, esp in this rainy day! We couldn't see anyone using the outdoor hotspring in heavy pour ....It is convenient to use the private hotspring as it is connected to bathroom, so you can clean up easily. The room itself is spacious and in good condition, and many TV channels provoided.

MEAL:
We have bought a half board package and we may enjoy dinner at hotel restaurant, which is located at Tienlai I building. We didn't expect much on the food quality because we have read some bad comments on that (however there is no other restaurant nearby so we have to choose it). But finally we found the food are QUITE GOOD! Buffet is served, with Mongolian style BBQ as theme. The BBQ meat is delicious, though overall the food variety is limited. However the food variety at buffet breakfast is better, and the taste is good.

OVERALL:
We didn't use many hotel facilities (eg. outdoor hotspring, SPA, gym room, etc) during our stay, so I can't comment on those. I think it is nice to spend 1 night here for hotspring. Just don't expect it is a very resort-like hotel...I don't think it is good to stay for over 2 nights....For couples, recommend to choose Tienlai II building with private hotspring. Overall I am satisfied with the hotel but just think it is little bit overvalued.

Room Tip: Only rooms at Tienlai II building (Japanese style) have private hotspring, book that room if you want that!
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Opal H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TienLai, 公關經理 at Tien Lai Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Dear Guest,

Warm greeting from TienLai!!
Thank you for taking time to share your travel experience!!

Yang Ming Shan national park is always one of the traveler’s favorite destination in Taiwan, it has amazing view, and many trail selections, some of them just within walking distant from hotel, hotel also provide bus tours to explore more attractions in Yang Ming Shan, hope you will have more time and sunny day for your next visit to Yang Ming Shan Tien Lai!!

Once again thank you for choosing Tien Lai and our hotel as your holiday destination, sincerely we look forward to serving you again soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Maybe we had too much of an expectation of hotspring given we have been to quite a few of hotspring in Japan ranging from Northern to Southern Japan. If you were expecting the same kind of service and atmosphere as Japan, then Tienlai would disappoint you.

First, the service was only average. We checked in on Dec 31 and the hotel staff at the check in was neither friendly nor helpful. When we prompted about restaurant for dinner, then we were told and informed that all their dinner reservations were completely booked. We had to prompt her about what we could do for dinner given the resort is in the middle of nowhere on the mountain then was told about an 1 hour service available for Beef Noodle Soup at 8:30PM that night.

Second, the food was only edible. Knowing that we could not wait till that late for dinner, we went to try their afternoon tea buffet, which was a big disappointment. This is nothing like what you would get from a decent afternoon tea place in Taipei/Taichung. The breakfast buffet that came with the room reservation was the same rate and the selection were mainly items tailor to the local.

Third, the outdoor hotspring area was so crowded where you would think you were in a theme park with kids running around and the atmosphere was not relaxed at all for anyone who would expect Zen relaxation.


Given all these 3 points plus a long way from Taipei- literally 1 and 1/2 hour drive, it was not worth to go all the way for a low rate of experience.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Snowyisfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

This hotel is in fact far away from city. Hillside view of Yeung Ming Shan is beautiful and great value to this resort when you want to escape from business. There is a small water park in the hotel. There is some indoor hot spring pools and water SPA, kids playroom and nice natural view surrounded.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peggytsang2812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

This is not a luxurious resort. We stayed here because I thought it was too far from Taipei to make it a day trip. This assumption was wrong and I noticed many tour buses during our stay which apparently bring people for a day trip to this resort, just to use the hotspring spa facilities.
In retrospect, this is what we should have done as eating the same food everyday was difficult.
I have stayed in more luxurious hot springs in Taiwan. We had a standard room in the old wing, located to the left of the main entrance if you face the hotel. The rooms are spartan with stone floors and simple beds. The bathrooms have the mandatory hotspring tub, which is nice but have a design which fails to adequately separate the shower from the rest of the bathroom - as a result, the floor in front of the sink and around the toilet will be wet after showering. the new wing at the back of the hotel has far nicer Japanese-style rooms with balconies. These cost more but would be my preference if I returned.
There are several restaurants in the hotel but when we visited (April), only the main restaurant was running and their menu was repetitive. There are no shops or cafes nearby- well there is a small house down the road which looks like it is trying to be a restaurant but was never open when we walked there.
These things aside, the hotspring spa facilities are good. There are several indoor and outdoor pools of varying temperature. Bring a bathing suit if you wish to enjoy them all, particularly the outdoor ones. I only give it an average rating because I have seen better in Taiwan.
Staff are helpful if they can understand you. Mandarin is preferable. English will only cover the basic requests.
The grounds of the resort are spacious and tranquil with pleasant views of the hills. There is a bus stop outside the hotel which will take you around Yanmingshan. The road is very tortuous and people who feel motion-sickness easily should avoid it. Good luck catching a bus back. Taxis are rare. There is apparently a bus which will take you back to Taipei, but we hired a car and driver.

I would not recommend staying for more than 1-2 nights and if you enjoy variety and choice of food, stay in Taipei and make a day-trip.

Room Tip: Stay in the new wing which has a Japanese-style decor.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Psychochicken_Freud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews