We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Royal Chiao Hsi
Nearby Hotels
$115
$107
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$178
$120
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$161
$145
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$72
$65
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$126
$117
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$93
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$220
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$66
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$101
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$82
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (563)
Filter reviews
563 results
Traveler rating
369
150
31
8
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
369
150
31
8
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsset dinnerping pongfishbuffet dinnerjapanese stylehot springsyour feettaipei citytable tennisdead skinset menusoaking tubevening entertainmentchinese operastayed for one nightmini golf coursefamily resort
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
168 - 173 of 563 reviews
Reviewed September 29, 2011

Last weekend some friends and I headed out to Chiao Hsi for a hot spring weekend and we feel this hotel is the best in town. It is situated on the outskirts of the town and there is a convenient shuttle bus which picked us up from the train station and it took us about ten minutes to reach the hotel. It is situated among hills and a mountain is behind the hotel so there are some walking trails and a waterfall close by. The hotel was well designed and large glass windows everywhere let in the light and show off the view. There are also many places to sit relax and read or just unwind. Our room was a mix with japanese style on the first floor and a western room on the second floor with a semi-outdoor hot spring pool on the balcony. We also had Thann spa bath products which was great. The outdoor pools were fun until they got too crowded and then we went into the hot spring area which is seperated into male and female pools and you are not allowed to wear bathing suits into those pools. It was much quieter and the water quality is good and they have an outdoor pool and indoor pools.

The room came with either a buffet dinner or a set menu dinner and we chose to go for the set menu dinner. The service was on the slow side but we were relaxed so it didn't bother us and then for breakfast one can choose again either a breakfast buffet or a set menu brunch and we decided to go with the buffet. The buffet selection was acceptable and they had taiwanese and western options but nothing that surprised or wowed us. I felt I would have prefered to have gone to the set menu restaurant because it is quieter and more orderly. The breakfast buffet restaurant was very busy and people were coming and going and it was quite raucous.

At nights there is a show in the lobby relating to Taiwanese culture and when we were there we saw a Taiwanese opera and there were English and Japanese translations on a slide show. It was interesting and after the hot springs we were feeling lethargic and didn't want to go into the town.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alextaiwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Stayed there in August for one night in a Japanese style room. Really spacious room with a big balcony. Great experience to try both the outdoor hotspring where swimming suit is required and also the Japanese style hotspring for naked bath. Buffet breakfast and dinner were up to standard though a bit crowded. A great hotel for a weekend getaway which is just about 1 hour by car from Taipei city.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank THo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Its the best hotel to stay at Chiao-Hsi, but not 5 stars. Very good for family with children. A lots of activites.

Room Tip: Get the room with valley view not mountain.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peiwei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

We originally plan to stay at another resort in Chiao Hsi but decided to give ourselves a nice treat by staying @ Hotel Royal Chiao Hsi which is one of the luxury boutique hotels in the Small Luxury Hotels (SLH) of the World. We paid USD315 nett for our mountain view room which includes breakfast and buffet dinner. We were fetched at the Chiao Hsi (Jiaoxi) train station upon arrival and within 5 mins we were warmly met at the front porch of the hotel.

The hotel provides free shuttle to the train station and the town centre at regular intervals. We took advantage of the shuttle to go to town for lunch @ Er Rou Lang Restaurant 鵝肉郎海鮮. We ordered a small plate of goose meat, Stir fried hollow stem vegetable (kung xin cai 空心菜) [which is "kangkong" as known to Singaporeans and Malaysians] & fried eggs with prawns. This simple meal with rice and tea for 2 persons costs NT$450.

When we stepped into Room 317, it was like stepping into a beautiful Japanese inn. The room is very spacious with a king size Japanese style bed and it has a sunken living area which overlooks the mountain. It also provides guests with 2 Yukata robes and Japanese sandals which we could wear to the spa or restaurant. It also has a huge tub where we could enjoy a relaxing soak. It is an idyllic retreat with a stunning spa complex with an open-air spa and four themed hot springs, a scenic swimming pool, a recreation centre, a massage lounge and two restaurants. We enjoyed soaking our feet in the fish spa and having all the fishes nibble away the dead skin off our feet. It feels ticklish initially but it is a relaxing pedicure experience.

The plus factor of the resort is the availability of 2 washing machines and 2 dryers at nominal costs located on the 6th floor. We wish all hotels would provide such a facility as this would be such a bonus for travellers who have been travelling and needs their laundry to be washed. Each floor also has an ice vending machine. Their buffet dinner spread is huge and very good and we love their citrusy vinegar drink. Breakfast spread is equally good. To keep their guests entertained throughout their stay, there are a host of activities including a nightly live performance of traditional musical instruments.

This resort is stunning and picturesque and our only regret is that we are only staying a night. We will return someday and stay a few more nights to enjoy the morning hike to the Wufengqi Fallls and the scenic area & the unforgettable fish spa. I am dreaming of coming back soon to Hotel Royal Chiao Hsi!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rainbowlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

Our stay at hotel Royal Chiao Hsi was definitely the highlight of our trip to Taiwan. Yilan is a short drive from Taipei and was quite refreshing compared to the hustle and bustle of the city. We stayed there during the end of the Chinese New Years festival and the hotel was decorated with a rabbit theme throughout.

When we arrived at the hotel (it was more like a hot spring resort), we were greeted by very friendly staff who helped us unload our car and move our luggage into the lobby. Check-in was quick and soon we were shown to our rooms - a Japanese style 4 person room along with a western style room for 2. The hotel staff showed us around our rooms - pointing out the remotes, the water boiler and the "outfits" we can wear while staying at the hotel.

Our Japanese styled tatami room was very spacious with a large sitting/sleeping area and a walk out balcony. There was a bathroom with a stone tub that enabled guests to enjoy a private hot spring for 1 since the water from the tap came from hot spring water. There was a separate toilet. There were plenty of storage space for clothing. Water and snacks were provided in room free of charge.

After we got settled in, we went down to explore the property. There is an infinity pool, many outdoor hot springs with different healing properties, a waddle pool for the kids, a "Dr. fish" pool with many fish to eat the dead skin off your feet, as well as private soaking rooms that can be booked by hotel guests. Inside, there were separate men and women baths. The women bath contained 1 outdoor hot spring and 3 indoor springs with varying temperatures. There was also a dry sauna as well.

We chose set dinner dining and the meal was very delicious - made with many local ingredients. It had 5-6 courses. We opted for the buffet breakfast and what a variety it had! There were so many options to chose from at this international buffet that we found ourselves eating more than we normally would since we wanted to try everything. The flavors and quality of the food were good - needless to say, the service was as well.

The property also had an internet room with 2 computers, there was a billiard room, a reading room, kids activity center, and 2 karaoke rooms for guests to use. In room internet is available if you ask at front desk.

We really enjoyed our stay at the hotel Royal Chiao Hsi. Service was great, food was delicious, the hot springs were soothing - everything added up to a wonderful experience. I highly recommend this to anyone who loves the onsen experience.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pnpadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews