We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and lovely desserts”
Review of Bossa Nova Cafe

Bossa Nova Cafe
Ranked #2 of 202 Restaurants in Hengchun
Cuisines: Asian
Description: Phone 08.889.7137
Restaurant details
Description: Phone 08.889.7137
Reviewed July 26, 2019 via mobile

We stayed in Kenting area for several days. We ended up having dinner in Bossa Nova twice as the food was tasty and moderately priced. They have a nice wine list and the desserts were really delicious. The restaurant itself is very casual and you may enjoy both Western and Asian food. We only had Western food but the Asians seemed to enjoy more local flavours. Reservation is recommended as the restaurant can get a bit crowded.

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank Johanna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (201)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 14 of 201 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2019 via mobile

We stayed in Nanwan for 5 nights and 4 of those nights were spent eating at Bossa Nova! You will not get tired because their menu offers a lot with flavors that you will crave. Claire Yu the owner and chef is fantastic in the kitchen and hospitable to guests. Her staff keeps everyone in check! Taste the flavors from Italy, Thailand, Malaysia whitout leaving Kenting. The place is very well decorated as it immediately puts you into that bossa nova vibe which is colorful, flambouyant and mysterious at the same time. A must try when in Kenting!

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank BeaOh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2019

We stumbled accross this cute, eclectic little place as we happened to be staying next door. Having just come off a 4hour flight and 2 hour drive, we just wanted a quick and easy bite.
We ordered the Steamed Fish with lemongrass and the Thai Seafood soup. The Steamed fish was INCREDIBLE, and the flavours excellent, The Thai soup, pretty good (personally would have preferred more spice). We thought the prices appeared a little steep, but when the meals came out, the portions sizes more than made up for it (NT$ 1000 for 1 appetizer, 2 mains, 1 dessert, 2-3 drinks).
The staff were genuine, and friendly, and remembered us when we came back the next day!
The menu is interesting. It has everything from local Taiwanese soup, to Italian speciality (caprese, risotto) and then Thai, Indonesian, Sandwiches, Salads.
All the dishes we tried were excellent:Swordfish, Beef Rendang (my bf's favourite dish in the world! He was so happy to see it on the menu, in Kenting of all places!), Beetroot Salad, Caprese, Steamed Fish, Thai Soup, Choco-Caramel dessert.
To our surprise, the place was PACKED when we went back Sunday night for dinner, and it appears most people had reservations.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Elise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2019

We have had a lunch in Bossa Nova Café on Wednesday May 8th and a diner on Friday 10th. We dis spend a great time ! The food is truly excellent, it gives you the perfect flavor of the regional cooking and the quantity is also very generous ! Especially the seafood plates, the steamed fish and the taiwanese soups are top value ! The service is really professional and the atmosphere is refined and cool ! The choice of beverages is also rich ! Certainly a prime regional restaurant for this lovely area, mixing sea and nature !

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank T3003
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2019 via mobile

We order a pasta and curry shrimp and egg white seaweed soup. All were yummy. The portion is big and we order too much for two people. Very cozy environment

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank maddyk1116
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bossa Nova Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Bossa Nova Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.