We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (220)
Filter reviews
220 results
Traveler rating
195
20
3
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
195
20
3
1
1
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 220 reviews
Reviewed January 30, 2019

No place offer breakfast all day!
No place offer a washing machine and even laundry powder free!
The anager is so nice and interesting, His helper too.

Don’t miss this home place you cannot be disappointed.

Room tip: My room had a real dressing, a long mirror. A place outside to dry laundry.
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank WildMaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2019

I stayed for over a month in this hostel! It's within walking distance (with luggage) of Taipei Main station, and an easy walk to Ningxia night market. There are lots of food options in the area, and the hostel provides an equipped kitchen, free laundry machines, breakfast (including peanut butter!!!), portable laptop stands so that you can work in bed, and personal mirrors. People are so nice and friendly here - it really feels like a home. Highly recommend!!

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Stephanie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2018

I really regret not spending more time in Taipei City Home. I stayed here only at the last night in Taiwan - right the night before Christmas. A small litlle house in the quiet alley, clean, specially warm and cozy with several simple decors for Christmas. The Host was really kind and friendly (honestly I did try 4 different hostels in Taipei and I have to say Chunky was the kindest host). I loved the atmosphere in living room best as (don't know why) it brought you the feeling like when you're at your close friend's home. Well I even spent all night at sofa on just seeing twinkling string lights, drinking a cup of Oolong tea, playing Christmas music playlist, really enjoying as a real Taiwanese in a real Taipei city home ;)

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Myatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2018

I stayed four nights here and thoroughly enjoyed myself.

The hostel is located in a small alley just across from Taipei Main Station which has many lines converging here, making travelling anywhere a breeze.

The six bed female dorm is pretty cozy, with lovely touches - individual bedside lamp, a bedside basket for personal items, secure lockers, and a large walk-in closet with clothes rack and many shelves and drawers.

Clean bathroom, hot and strong shower, and incredibly the hostel even provides personal hygiene products (sanitary pads etc)!

The downstairs area is great to hang out in. Great many channels on TV (not that I travel to watch TV), free whole day breakfast of bread, jam, milk and juice, free drinking water... the kitchen could use some tidy up, but I love the emphasis and effort put into recycling and waste disposal.

Last but not least, I loved the relaxed and warm vibe of the hostel. "Chunky" the host goes out of his way to make things run smoothly and can't be any kinder. People all seem to enjoy their time there and conversation flows easily.. I very much look forward to returning in the future.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank madmitoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2018

The best hostel I've ever been to. A walking distance to Taipei Main station, with a very accommodating and friendly owner. Chunky is hands-on in running his hostel. Takes good care of his customers and he pays attention to his customer needs. Coffee, juice, tea and bread is available all day with a variety of spread to choose from. What can you ask for? There is a fridge and laundry machine for everyone's use too. Will come back to his place when I visit Taiwan again. Highly recommended!

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews