We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Destinia.com
StayForLong
eDreams
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (220)
Filter reviews
220 results
Traveler rating
195
20
3
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
195
20
3
1
1
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 220 reviews
Reviewed December 29, 2018

I really regret not spending more time in Taipei City Home. I stayed here only at the last night in Taiwan - right the night before Christmas. A small litlle house in the quiet alley, clean, specially warm and cozy with several simple decors for Christmas. The Host was really kind and friendly (honestly I did try 4 different hostels in Taipei and I have to say Chunky was the kindest host). I loved the atmosphere in living room best as (don't know why) it brought you the feeling like when you're at your close friend's home. Well I even spent all night at sofa on just seeing twinkling string lights, drinking a cup of Oolong tea, playing Christmas music playlist, really enjoying as a real Taiwanese in a real Taipei city home ;)

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Myatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2018

I stayed four nights here and thoroughly enjoyed myself.

The hostel is located in a small alley just across from Taipei Main Station which has many lines converging here, making travelling anywhere a breeze.

The six bed female dorm is pretty cozy, with lovely touches - individual bedside lamp, a bedside basket for personal items, secure lockers, and a large walk-in closet with clothes rack and many shelves and drawers.

Clean bathroom, hot and strong shower, and incredibly the hostel even provides personal hygiene products (sanitary pads etc)!

The downstairs area is great to hang out in. Great many channels on TV (not that I travel to watch TV), free whole day breakfast of bread, jam, milk and juice, free drinking water... the kitchen could use some tidy up, but I love the emphasis and effort put into recycling and waste disposal.

Last but not least, I loved the relaxed and warm vibe of the hostel. "Chunky" the host goes out of his way to make things run smoothly and can't be any kinder. People all seem to enjoy their time there and conversation flows easily.. I very much look forward to returning in the future.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank madmitoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2018

The best hostel I've ever been to. A walking distance to Taipei Main station, with a very accommodating and friendly owner. Chunky is hands-on in running his hostel. Takes good care of his customers and he pays attention to his customer needs. Coffee, juice, tea and bread is available all day with a variety of spread to choose from. What can you ask for? There is a fridge and laundry machine for everyone's use too. Will come back to his place when I visit Taiwan again. Highly recommended!

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2018

Would definitely stay there again. It's close to the main train station (train to airport, high speed rail, subway hub). Located on a quiet alley. Clean environment with Japanese decor. Just be careful to actually tell them when you're arriving - there's no 24-hour front desk.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2018

Its location is not along main roads but still easy to find and very safe. The host, Chunky, even went above and beyond sending detailed directions going to the hostel from Taipei Main Station (coming from the airport via bus or MRT). Bread, spreads, and snacks are available all day long. There are a lot of food stalls and a convenient store nearby too, so you"ll never be hungry. :)

The room and bed I got was very comfortable (memory foam bedding, soft pillow, and a comforter) with personal lamp, privacy curtains, personal locker, and fast Wi-Fi. The host is really accommodating, easy to contact, and super helpful.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank chi_ckenni
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews