We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last Frontier before South Sudan”
Review of The White Castle

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arua
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The White Castle
Ranked #1 of 10 Arua B&B and Inns
Kampala, Uganda
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Last Frontier before South Sudan”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

For those who have been in South Sudan and stayed in endless prefab and container hotels at double the price this place is an oasis when returning to Uganda. It is a nice place to stay but clearly not within star ranges as normal hotel goes thus for the average tourist it would be roughing it out :-) For people in the humanitarian work ranks it would be considered a nice place. The staff is friendly and for food the indian kitchen is the way to go. Eating by the pool at night is a relaxing atmosphere. The rooms are ok with TV and fan but some of the houses can get a bit noisy when the neighbour or cleaners walk in the corridor. I guess the surroundings are so quiet you will notice such. It is a bit isolated from town thus once a driver drops you at the place, you are effectively stuck. But if needing a stopover in Arua then this is the place to be. Since there are not many rooms booking in advance is highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank expatswe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gen1white, General Manager at The White Castle, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Customer,
Thanks for staying in our hotel last September. It was good of us to know that you enjoyed our service during your stay from our friendlier team and also the Indian cuisine we promise to keep.
We also feel sorry for the noise you experienced from the Neighbours plus our cleaners i guess it was beyond 10am for the case of the cleaners. On your next visit do not hesitate to utilize our courtesy hotel van at a reasonable cost in case you have to do town running.
We look forward to host you more often.
Nelson Kasooba
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    15
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
2
2
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kampala, Kampala, Uganda
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

This is an excellent place to stay. Its in the upper end, the time I was there it was silent, in a serene environment with a swimming pool and looks beautiful. The staff are hospitable, typical of Ugandans and for the first timer in Arua, I recomend this to you.
The only problem though for people without cars, its a bit off the town, its before you reach town, so you need to plan your day well for early town erands

Room Tip: All are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Rooms are set in attractively designed and well-kept gardens. Peaceful and quiet. TV, shower and hot water worked and the room was comfortable. The staff are very friendly and attentive. You have a drink around the pool, which is a pleasant setting. Food was good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elisabeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
447 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights as a group of 15 people visiting Links in the Arua and surrouning districts, and it was a wonderful place to stay in Arua. The rooms are comfortable and set in beautiful gardens. The restaurant and bar by the swimming pool provide good food and refreshments, and the staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. I warmly commend this place to anyone who is planning to spend time in Arua. It is very reasonably priced and offers a 'home from home'

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndrewA64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 299 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Our group of 16 was staying in the Aura area. All of our meals were eaten at the place we were staying; however, one night we decided to "go into town" and have a meal. Our host said there is really only one place that could accommodate our group size and that he felt safe for us to eat.

We arrived at the White Castle and was surprised to find this beautiful place in an otherwise very run-down and rough city. The gardens are beautiful and they actually have a pool. Aura is is not a tourist town/city in any manner; however, this was a very nice place.

Our meal was very simple: beans, rice, tortillas, cabbage, and a drink. Our price per person was $6.50 which was most economical. Extra drinks were $1.25 per Coke bottle.

This was a pleasant surprise and a well hidden secret. If in the area... stop for a meal.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank im4duke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2011

We stayed 3 nights at the White Castle Hotel in Arua in July 2011. We loved the accommodation and the beautiful gardens. The environment is serene and quite good. The staff are very friendly. A little improvement needs to be made on the business centre, we could hardly connect to the internet. We sent for externak internet modems, which worked just fine. The breakfast variety was very limited, but the staff were excellent! In my opinion the reception area down plays the quality of the hotel! It is small, and didn't seem very organised.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bibian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2011

Not many people visit Arua by accident situated as it is in a corner of Uganda beside Southern Sudan and DCR, but I did. Through a chance meeting I drove there from Kampala with the President of the Uganda National Chamber of Commerce and her crew. It takes about 7 hours - the road is good - but you'd probably want someone with you....we had a military escort...just in case.

Arua is emerging / has just emerged from a war; the area bears the scars of the struggle against the the LRA and it has a very, very wild west feel. So you can imagine my surprise at spending the night at this wonderful place - The White Castle.

It is what it is. There was no a/c (didn't need it - it was cool) and the en-suite room is pretty basic. But it is clean, comfortable with working shower, a fridge, mosquito net and very well screened windows.

The food was good - wide variety - the bar fine and a v pleasant pool.

Folk, if you're reading this and heading into that part of the world I don't think you've got a lot of choice. But if you do, well, The White Castle passes for The Ritz in Arua.

The staff are very helpful, friendly and polite - perhaps not what you might have encountered in the West - but you're not in the West. And it is ridiculously could value for money.

The tree frogs here 'sing' in chorus; they are fist-size but manage to sound like a motorbike convention...

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Brumtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arua hotels
0.0 mi away
Desert Breeze Hotel
Desert Breeze Hotel
#2 of 10 in Arua
10 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rocks and Roots
Rocks and Roots
#1 of 10 in Arua
2 reviews
0.0 mi away
Golden Courts Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hilltop Hotel
Hilltop Hotel
#2 of 10 in Arua
1 reviews
0.0 mi away
Heritage Park Hotel
Heritage Park Hotel
#4 of 10 in Arua
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Castle

Property: The White Castle
Address: Euwata, Arua-Nebbi Road, Arua, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Northern Region > Arua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Arua
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White castle hotel is relatively ideal for Travelers and Business class. Our guests should expect a high level of hospitality and value for their money. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing