We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hospitality and terrific room”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Dover
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
West Dover Harbour View Cottages & Guestrooms
Ranked #2 of 3 West Dover B&B and Inns
Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent hospitality and terrific room”
Reviewed July 9, 2009

We arrived unannounced and were welcomed with open arms! Jay was extremely helpful and hospitable, taking the time to even bring us a cooler with ice!
We had missed the regular breakfast service but they were more than glad to accomodate us with coffee and fresh made bread and jam!
A most wonderful stay and would certainly visit there again if only just for a coffee to visit with the terrific staff!!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank canadianbluestreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    1
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, NH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 1, 2009

This place is a little gem within minutes of Peggy's Cove. Our room was exquisite and the service was impeccable. The attention to detail was exceptional, and the friendly chats with the staff were memorable. I can't say enough about this charming little place. Book early because this is a very small place.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mblanchette1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lrobe074
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 8, 2009

My boyfriend and I just came back from our wonderful trip to Halifax. We stayed at Harbor View for one night in the one bedroom suite. What a beautiful B&B! The room was cleaned to the highest standards, and every piece of furniture was brand new. We had the best night's sleep and were very sad to leave the next day. It took only 5 minutes to get to Peggy's Cove, and the view from the room itself was beautiful. Jay was extremely helpful and full of information about where to go, what to do and where to eat. Since the rates were so great compared to other B&Bs in the area, I was shocked at how gorgeous our room was. We'll be coming back next year for sure!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lrobe074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2008

My husband and I stayed at Harbour View Cottages & Guestrooms in West Doover, Nova Scotia which is minutes from Peggy's Cove. We stayed in their beautiful, clean nicley decorated deluxe guestroom for 4 nights and wish we could of stayed longer. The rates are very resonable and includes a continental breakfast of homemade breads, scones & tea biscuts. Scrambled eggs, Fresh fruit, cereal and yogerts. Fresh brewed coffee or tea. This is offered to those who stay in one of the guestrooms. There are also cottages with firepits, picnic tables and the coloufull adarandack chairs. The housekeeper was kind enough to show me one of the cottages which is beautiful, modern and clean! We were made to feel very welcome. The freindliest people you would ever want to meet. We LOVED our stay at Harbour View! If we get the chance to go back to Nova Scotia we will definately stay at Harbour View.
The Lawrences from St Catharines, Ontario

Helpful?
2 Thank LiseOntario_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, MI
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2008

We just returned from a visit to PEI and Halifax. We stayed four nights at the West Dover Harbour View Cottages near Peggy's Cove, and I can honestly say it was one of the best hotel experiences we have ever had. We have traveled extensively, but had never encountered such friendly, helpful staff. Martha in particular was ready to help us out with any needs we had, as well as visiting with us and telling us about living in the area. She was wonderful.

The cottages are under new ownership and have been completely renovated. Ours had two large bedrooms, and fully equipped bathroom and kitchen. There was no living room, but we had a large wrap around deck with adirondak chairs facing the harbour. There were also fire pits and picnic tables. The prices were reasonable, and it was very quiet. We most enjoyed the feeling of being far removed from the hectic pace of life, while actually being only about 30 minutes awar from Halifax and every possible variety of store and restaurant. I would go back in a heartbeat, and hope that is possible at some point.

Helpful?
2 Thank KMP56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 2, 2004

This is no exaggeration. Advertised as their "deluxe" renovated boathouse cottage, situated at the water's edge with the wharf being the deck off the back of the house, we were astonished when arriving to find the "deck" lopsided and floating in the water beside the house. Doors on both lower and upper level (loft) now open directly into the water. Nice only if you're into fishing from the house! Not only that, this place had a one-station cable TV, crank phone that didn't work, window that opened with the hook on a stick and a disgusting flushless jon - hardly my idea of "modern." This property is the most blatant case of misrepresentation I have ever seen, yet it's advertised all over the internet and the boathouse looks delightful. Peggy's Cove, however, is beautiful and definitely worth the visit. Halifax is only about 40 miles away and there are many other nice communities only a stone's throw away.

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamiesonWestDover, Manager at West Dover Harbour View Cottages & Guestrooms, responded to this review, January 30, 2009
This review is misleading on Harbour View Cottages. Harbour View Cottages opened in 2007 and were fully renovated. As you can see from our web site, the boathouse is not part of our accommodations.

This review relates to a trip in 2004 - prior to Harbour View Cottages opening. It relates to the previous business - Seaside Cottages and NOT Harbour View.

Thanks for your understanding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Dover
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
2,870 reviews
Coastal Inn Halifax
#23 of 28 in Halifax
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clifty Cove Motel
#1 of 1 in Indian Harbour
144 reviews
Oceanstone Resort
#1 of 2 in Indian Harbour
172 reviews
Big Lake Lodge
#1 of 1 in Big Lake
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Dover Harbour View Cottages & Guestrooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Dover Harbour View Cottages & Guestrooms

Property: West Dover Harbour View Cottages & Guestrooms
Address: 7029 Prospect Rd, West Dover, Nova Scotia B3Z 3S9, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > West Dover
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in West Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of one of Nova Scotia’s most picturesque fishing villages, Harbour View Cottages provides you with all the comforts of home while you enjoy the fabulous views. Sit back, relax, refresh your spirits and take advantage of the great beauty of our seascape. Take a stroll down to our ocean frontage, enjoy the shoreline or sit by the fire pit in the evenings. Our lodgings include: guestrooms, suites and 2 bedroom cottages. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
West Dover Harbour View Cottages & Guestrooms Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing