We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home from Home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of West Dover Harbour View Cottages & Guestrooms

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Dover
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
West Dover Harbour View Cottages & Guestrooms
Ranked #2 of 3 West Dover B&B and Inns
somerset
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2012

All the previous good points are true. Keep away from Peggy's Cove with the two storey bendy buses carving up the road sides and filling the tourist centres! This gem is round the corner from Peggy's Cove. It has only a quiet road between it and the sea. the views are delightful and you can watch the lobster boats return with their catches from your room window. Breakfast, continental, had a huge choice, and the atmosphere was made even more welcoming by the two ladies who served it. They had a lot of local knowledge.

Room Tip: All rooms face the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BanburyCakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    1
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2011

The West Dover Harbour View was definitely a lovely place. The renovated property provided a lovely place to spend a night and it's so close to Peggy's Cove. The rooms are clean, simple, and quiet. We loved the staff - the owner was lovely and Audrey and Beulah were so nice at breakfast! The selection of homemade bread was a great way to start the day! We were so glad we chose a guestroom here - we enjoyed the quiet surroundings and our two visits to Peggy's Cove (slip over at sunset if you can). This is a hidden gem in a small fishing community. If you want quiet and simple place to stay, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ColoHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2010

We had a wonderful stay at this beautiful B&B and would definitely recommend it. We stayed in the deluxe room which was very cosy, clean and comfortable. Gorgeous view, nice patio with little tables and chairs where we ate breakfast which was very basic but good. They ran out of fruits two days in a row but had someone bring some over. Very quiet even if next to the road. Perfect for visiting Peggy's Cove (5 minutes by car) and 30 minutes from Halifax. A little gem!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BonsVoyages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2009

Suite was very clean, kitchen well equipped, the owners were very helpful and well coming. Our suite was located close to the road, but this proved to be no issue (not much traffic, still quiet at night).

If travelling with children, make sure you stay in one of the cabins, which are not located closely to the street.

Only cons: Low-ish water pressure in the shower (reallly the only thing we can come up with).

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clemens23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2009

We arrived unannounced and were welcomed with open arms! Jay was extremely helpful and hospitable, taking the time to even bring us a cooler with ice!
We had missed the regular breakfast service but they were more than glad to accomodate us with coffee and fresh made bread and jam!
A most wonderful stay and would certainly visit there again if only just for a coffee to visit with the terrific staff!!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank canadianbluestreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, NH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2009

This place is a little gem within minutes of Peggy's Cove. Our room was exquisite and the service was impeccable. The attention to detail was exceptional, and the friendly chats with the staff were memorable. I can't say enough about this charming little place. Book early because this is a very small place.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mblanchette1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lrobe074
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2009

My boyfriend and I just came back from our wonderful trip to Halifax. We stayed at Harbor View for one night in the one bedroom suite. What a beautiful B&B! The room was cleaned to the highest standards, and every piece of furniture was brand new. We had the best night's sleep and were very sad to leave the next day. It took only 5 minutes to get to Peggy's Cove, and the view from the room itself was beautiful. Jay was extremely helpful and full of information about where to go, what to do and where to eat. Since the rates were so great compared to other B&Bs in the area, I was shocked at how gorgeous our room was. We'll be coming back next year for sure!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lrobe074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Dover
14.2 mi away
Comfort Hotel Bayer's Lake
3.1 mi away
Clifty Cove Motel
Clifty Cove Motel
#1 of 1 in Indian Harbour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
3.4 mi away
Oceanstone Resort
Oceanstone Resort
#1 of 2 in Indian Harbour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Anchorage House & Cottages
0.5 mi away
Code's Ocean Side Inn B&B
Code's Ocean Side Inn B&B
#3 of 3 in West Dover
3.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
1.8 mi away
Big Lake Motel
Big Lake Motel
#1 of 1 in Big Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Dover Harbour View Cottages & Guestrooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Dover Harbour View Cottages & Guestrooms

Property: West Dover Harbour View Cottages & Guestrooms
Address: 7029 Prospect Rd, West Dover, Nova Scotia B3Z 3S9, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > West Dover
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in West Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of one of Nova Scotia’s most picturesque fishing villages, Harbour View Cottages provides you with all the comforts of home while you enjoy the fabulous views. Sit back, relax, refresh your spirits and take advantage of the great beauty of our seascape. Take a stroll down to our ocean frontage, enjoy the shoreline or sit by the fire pit in the evenings. Our lodgings include: guestrooms, suites and 2 bedroom cottages. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
West Dover Harbour View Cottages & Guestrooms Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing