We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best around Balaton” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kistucsok

Kistucsok
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $27
Cuisines: European, Eastern European, Central European, Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
76 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“One of the best around Balaton”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

This restaurant was selected as the best non-Budapest restaurant in 2011. It also has very good rating by Gault Millau, so very arrived with high expectations :)
We were not disappointed, we got what was expected. The food is mostly hungarian cuisine, with really quality ingredients. According to the owner everything is purchased from within 50kms from local farmers. They have quite a large wine selection with a kind sommelier. I can fully recommend this place

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gera T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    43
    14
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Without expectations it totally blows your foodmind”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

...however, I had very high expectations and I ended up leaving slightly (ok, just slightly) disappointed. Being the first-ranked restaurant in the countryside, I would say the hype is a bit bigger than the actual experience. The food is gorgeous, and they serve massive finger-licking portions, but the menu is not as exciting as it could be. And well, sorry to say that, but the service is a tad poor for this levele. But hey... it's still a great place to stop if you're around, and no doubt that the quality / price ratio is incredibly good. All in all I would say it's is ONE of the best restaurants in the countryside, just not the best.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ohmyfoodness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Goose!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

Our friends highly recommended this place so we went and had a delicious red cabbage cream soup and goose for the main course. Food is exceptional, service impecable.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrei L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good, but the Menu is always the same”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

Actually this restaurant has a good atmosphere with a modern, minimalist interior since the renovation. Food is good, but sometimes the standards they want to achirve are higher than their capabilities. The Menu card is the same since years, little boring they don't have a wide seletion. There are a special weekly menu selection but all in all my impression is that this interior and marketing should have more colorful Menu card.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Petra_Bence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

When the sun is shining, we love to take an excursion from Budapest to tqhis nice and cosy, but trendy and modern place. It is only one hour from the capital and definetly worth the drive, if you like new ideas in traditional hungarian meals.
Again, the food was delicious! i love it!
See you next time!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hegdorka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kistucsok also viewed

Balatonfured, Veszprem County
 
Balatonlelle, Somogy County
Balatonfured, Veszprem County
 
Veszprem, Veszprem County
Zamardi, Somogy County
 

Been to Kistucsok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing