We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“i want to go back in mu!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mu Bali

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pecatu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mu Bali
Ranked #6 of 61 Specialty Lodging in Pecatu
Certificate of Excellence
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“i want to go back in mu!!!!!”
Reviewed March 14, 2012

it was just the perfect holydays for us great view great food and great people!!!no cars no noise
i m coming back in august for sure

Room Tip: yoga room private and a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gilbali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    61
    17
    11
    4
See reviews for
56
154
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
100 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Second time in Mu confirmed the excellent choice. Serene Balinese atmosphere, good service and unique selection of local high-end villas on a beatiful spot. Real worth for your money.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kai S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2012

My husband and I have been to Bali 6 times and we are looking forward to our next trip shortly, this being the third visit to Mu. If the hussell and bussell is what you are after, high-rise resort style accommodation, along with the fighting of crowds, shopping and dealing with young party goers, Mu is not the place for you. If you are after an increadibly relaxing, romatic, layed back, quiet place to stay, you won't be able to pass up Mu.
The atmosphere, food, staff, view and accommodation can not be faulted. The breakfast is to die for with fresh homemade bread and sweet and savoury crossiants, fresh fruit, coffee, juice and eggs any way you like. There is a mouth watering array of food to choose from with the choice of dinning on your own or joining the small group staying at the resort, you will not be dissapointed.
However, should you wish to visit the shopping district, or spa retreats, it is only a short 25 min drive to meet your needs. This can be organised for you and you have your own personal driver for a small fee of around $30 AUS.
We have recommended Mu's to family & friends for years for all ages as we know that they won't be dissapointed.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2012

We just stayed 10 days at Mu with my husband. I have only great things to say about it , everything was just perfect , the place is stunning , the service is great and all the staff is fantastic , food is fresh and yummy, the bread is home made ,bungalow amazing and the view unbelievable . The price is really reasonable for what you get. We had the best time ever.
The only bad things are that we had a few days of bad weather with strong rain and wind , and i would complain because during Chinese new year a big group of Chinese came for 2 days and took over the place and ruined the serene atmosphere in a such a peaceful and small resort .

All I have to say is Congratulations for such a unique place .

Room Tip: All the rooms are different and all have something special
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank valerie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2012

My husband and I live in Bali and we have stayed at many hotels, resorts, and private villas throughout the island, from the super luxury to the backpackers budget hotels. We recently organized a 2 weeks family holiday for my family of 20 people (four generations in total) from Australia. It was my family's first visit to Bali so I wanted the holiday to be special and I wanted them to experience the beautiful diversity of Bali from the Bukit to Seminyak to Ubud. In the Bukit we wanted to book a place with ocean view so a friend recommended MU. Checking out the website, MU looked amazingly charming so we chose MU over other resorts....eventhough MU offered us no discount for group bookings whereas other resorts did. When we arrived at MU we were hugely disappointed. Besides the gorgeous view and a nice pool it has nothing else going for it. We booked six bungalows including the three bedrooms Sirena for 2 nights for part of our group of 20 people. All the bungalows were run down and some were dirty. The Tenggiri Bungalow stank of animal urine and my niece and her husband were unable to sleep the whole time they were there. For two weeks our group travelled throughout Bali and stayed at 5 different resorts... from super luxury resort and private villas to charming budget bungalows. MU was the only disappointment in the entire trip!! We were made to feel welcome everywhere else we stayed whereas at MU we were made to feel extremely unwelcome and uncomfortable. The biggest disappointment was the female villa manager. Some of the kitchen staff were nice enough but the female villa manager at MU was grumpy, impolite and outright rude to my family. She was stuck up and racist. Maybe because she is Indonesian and we are Asian Australians. Fortunately all the other guests that were staying at MU at the time were lovely and friendly so we ended up having a nice time otherwise it would have been a holiday from hell. Around the Bukit area you can get the same if not better standard accommodation than MU fir half the price ..... or you can spend a bit more money for a much much better experience. For our group it cost the same to stay at Karma Kandara as we were offered a group discount and our experience there was exceptional!! I would never go back to MU or recommend MU to anyone visiting Bali. A huge huge disappointment!!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mookie_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2012

This is a very out of the way place. It sets high above the water. It is a 15 minute walk to Bingin Beach, down (and up!) about 100 stairs. It is a surfer's beach with several warungs along it and many inexpensive places to stay in the hillside. The property itself has pretty grounds. The rooms were fine but it should be noted that the "outside bathroom" is in a separate building and unattached to the room. When it is the middle of the night and raining this wasn't a great feature. The kitchen serves dinner but it is served family style at one long table--no choice as to the menu. If serving chicken and you are a vegetarian the cost is the same with no vegetarian option. I recommend the warnungs on the beach for any meal other than breakfast, which was vey good and plentiful. The place had a very odd vibe and the staff were not very friendly. I would not go back.

Room Tip: The hotel will arrange airport transfer but it is expensive. Also, advance payment by wire transfer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulaKansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed January 14, 2012

Stayed there for a couple of nights. Unique architecture, simple yet comfortable. Very good food. The staff was very nice and the management helpful, made us feel at home. Will definitely come back when returning to Bali.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pecatu
0.6 mi away
Suarga Padang Padang
Suarga Padang Padang
#4 of 7 in Uluwatu
210 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anantara Uluwatu Bali Resort
0.2 mi away
Sal Secret Spot
Sal Secret Spot
#6 of 7 in Uluwatu
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
De Sapphire Cliff Villa
0.0 mi away
The Inn Possible
The Inn Possible
#5 of 43 in Pecatu
98 reviews
0.6 mi away
PinkCoco Bali
PinkCoco Bali
#1 of 43 in Pecatu
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mu Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mu Bali

Property: Mu Bali
Address: Pantai Beach, Pecatu 80364, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Pecatu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 61 Specialty Lodging in Pecatu
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Mu Hotel Uluwatu
Mu Bali Pecatu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing