We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed it much!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Uluwatu Temple

Uluwatu Temple
Book In Advance
More Info
$41.01*
and up
Kecak Uluwatu Show with Round-Trip Transfer
Ranked #1 of 24 things to do in Pecatu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Uluwatu Temple (Pura Luhur Uluwatu) is one of six key temples believed to be Bali's spiritual pillars, is renowned for its magnificent location, perched on top of a steep cliff approximately 70 metres above sea level. This temple also shares the splendid sunset backdrops as that of Tanah Lot Temple, another important sea temple located in the island's western shores.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
102 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Enjoyed it much!”
Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

After paying 30,000IDR or about 1.7$ entrance fee and after collecting my purple scarf, I'm off to the view!

I really enjoyed the place. Lots of tourist but it was fun. You just have to find your space where you are more comfy. Disappointing though because we were not able to view the sunset. It was all covered with clouds. But it was alright.

To add up: Just be careful with the monkeys because they told me that they will grab your glasses or little gadgets and later you end up paying someone to retrieve your stuff, lolz..

All and all, 'twas a good way to end the day after touring..

Helpful?
Thank MLORNA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,893 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,077
    2,632
    860
    219
    105
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Batu Pahat, Malaysia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

This is one of the several most beautiful temples in Bali.
The temple itself is average, but its location on the edge of a cliff overlooking the Indian Ocean makes the view particularly spectacular.
Worth a visit!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank shingcheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
39 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful Sunset!!!”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

I loved Uluwatu Temple!!! I was a bit afraid to go there because of the monkeys after reading some reviews, but when we were there they were so full that they didn't even want to eat the bananas the we were giving to them. The theatre was very nice and while we were waiting for the theater to start we enjoyed the most beautiful sunset ever!!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Liddy33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
166 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Story-telling in the sunset”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

The temple setting was beautiful. We went a little early to spend a little time in the temple before the Kecak dance at sunset. Be careful of the monkeys around the temple. The furry guys are quite bold
The seats at the Kecak dance are first come first served. It's like Roman theater where the audience sits around the performers. The re-telling of the Ramayana was quite fascinating and the riotous nature of Hanuman was a pleasant change from the quieter one back home :)
Be a little careful of the fire during the last few scenes where the monkey character is shown to set the city on fire. There were embers being kicked around.
Overall it was a lovely evening. Try to remain seated till the end of the session to avoid disturbing the other people and the performers

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank kaalika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Level Contributor
81 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Come at sunset and see a dance show”
Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

We arrived around 5pm, paid 20k to park our bike and 20k each for entry. The helpful temple staff provide purple sarongs to wear, so no need to worry about covering up. A short walk through the grounds where you can spot monkeys who are looking to be fed, don't feed them and keep your belongings safe as they will help themselves to your camera and glasses!

You can walk along the cliff on each side of the temple to take some great photos. You'll see some amazing rolling waves, no wonder it's a surfers paradise. To the left of the temple you can sit and watch a fire dance and in my opinion this is the best point to see the sunset as you can get a great picture of the temple as a silhouette as the sun sets.

Hopefully that has been helpful :)

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jame5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Uluwatu Temple also viewed

 
Nusa Dua, Nusa Dua Peninsula
 

Been to Uluwatu Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing