We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Picturesque View from Cliff Top”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Uluwatu Temple

Uluwatu Temple
Book In Advance
More Info
$41.01*
and up
Kecak Uluwatu Show with Round-Trip Transfer
Ranked #1 of 24 things to do in Pecatu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Uluwatu Temple (Pura Luhur Uluwatu) is one of six key temples believed to be Bali's spiritual pillars, is renowned for its magnificent location, perched on top of a steep cliff approximately 70 metres above sea level. This temple also shares the splendid sunset backdrops as that of Tanah Lot Temple, another important sea temple located in the island's western shores.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Picturesque View from Cliff Top”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

We didn't actually go to the temple - having already been 'Templed-out' at 'better' temples.
I did enjoy watching the monkeys on the path to the temple and got some neat photos.
We walked along the cliff top and viewed the temple from various 'lookouts' along the well formed track.
The temple itself was a long way in the distance but the views of the sheer cliffs, the green foliage lining the cliffs and the very blue ocean below with its breaking white waves was a sight I would not have missed for anything.
It would have been spectacular in the evening sunset.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank JocelynMaryFaith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,898 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,079
    2,634
    861
    219
    105
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“everybody who should go with ware glass or hat!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

there have a boy/people who trained a monkey to rob your glass or hat! than you need to pay them for your personal item. The sight compare with other sunset sight is not beautiful also you need to pay idr$10000 to entry the park.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank lalobear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great view, be careful of monkeys”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

The Uluwatu temple was in a great scenic setting. We visited this temple for sunset and it was quite crowded with a lot of tourists. When you buy the entrance ticket, you will receive a sarong (men as well as women), which cover the legs. If the legs are covered you will only receive a belt. They also tried to sell bananas ( to feed the monkeys inside). I would strongly recommend NOT to do that. Before we entered we were warned by hotel and driver not to take any food there and assecoires (especially sunglasses, hats etc) because when the monkeys see that they often steal that. Luckily we did not experience that, what might be related to the fact that we followed the advices. The temple itself was beautiful and the view on the rocks and the sea were amazing. We also attended the fire dance there during sunset. It was in my opinion a little bit too long (almost 60 minutes), but I found it a really interesting experience. This dance was not everybody's thing since many people left after 20 minutes. Uluwatu is really a temple worth to see, if your accommodation is located in the south of Bali.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank StefanieG410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Only worth for the Kecak-Dance”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

Uluwatu is a temple located right on the cliffs of the Bukit-Peninsula, thats about it. The cliffs are fairly impressive, the temple is not. All the monkeys can´t be considered wild anymore as they pretty much live from what the tourists feed them and all the stuff they steal. A trip is only worth it if you want to see the Kecak Dance, otherwise you won´t spend more than an hour there.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jannis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Temple set in amazing cliff location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

As far as the temple is concerned this visit is all about location rather than buildings, the area has been tastfully developed. When you arrive and pay you are given a sari, waste down only, as a mark of respect to the holy location - but nice for photos too. You'll be offered bananas for peanuts (sorry) just to feed the monkeys and warned not to have anything loose - they really will pick a bottle from a rucksack pocket and steal sunglasses off your head; if you spot a stick take it with you but don't worry they are not vicious or dangerous, infact very entertaining. The walk along the clifftop between the two temples is amazing, wonderful ocean views and crashing waves. The main temple cannot be accessed, it is on a rocky outcrop with huge waves crashing behind it - so photogenic. This is a 'must see' attraction if you like ocean scenery. Walking is on even well kept paths, very accessible even if you have walking problems, pushchairs and wheelchairs can be used.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank BJohnC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Uluwatu Temple also viewed

 
Nusa Dua, Nusa Dua Peninsula
 

Been to Uluwatu Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing