We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dishonorable and discriminatory”

New Kuta Golf Course
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: New Kuta Golf The Great Links Challenge!About The Golf Course Carved out of harsh limestone and set on top of brilliant white cliffs that overlook an endless blue horizon of the Indian Ocean, this championship golf course ranks among Asia’s best and most challenging. A magnificent Club House boasts a restaurant, bar, spa and function rooms, with panoramic views of the lush rolling fairways and sea. Overlooking the 9th and 18th greens of the golf course, The Atrium is a large sea of open space and shape, which flows from the Link Restaurant through the Club House and is a popular venue for pre- and post-event functions. There is even a lookout tower beside the Club House where members can climb up to watch the magical sunsets so typical of Bali. The elegant par-5 18th finishes (as does the 9th) just a few yards from the shaded patio serving New Kuta’s magnificent clubhouse, where the formidable Links Restaurant & Bar (and the club’s dedicated spa) make it an ideal place to relax after the round.New Kuta Golf also sets itself apart with a commitment to game improvement. The Golf Academy Bali (GCB) was opened here in January 2013 under the direction of British PGA professional Neil Douglas. With its covered, grass driving range, expansive short-game area, and 9000-square-foot putting green, New Kuta’s facilities are state of the art. Douglas’ fully credentialed GCB staff is equipped to provide individual and group instruction, along with video swing analysis, custom club fitting and equipment checks.About The DesignerGolfplan- Fream, Dale & Ramsey, has been providing golf-course planning and design services worldwide since 1972. Golfplan was founded by Ronald Fream, who began his career in golf architecture in 1966 with Robert Trent Jones, Inc, which emphasized ornament horticulture. Service has been provided in 60 countries on six continents, under almost every imaginable climate and ecological situation. Golfplan has participated in joint projects with top professionals such as Peter Thomson, Johnny Miller, Mark O’Meara and Colin Montgomerie. Golfplan has designed many top courses and golf resorts worldwide, from Finland to Bali, Disneyland Paris to Brunei. Thanks to them that New Kuta Golf began its operations in May 2007. It is wonderfully design and the original contours of the land are still preserved. The Signature Hole The Signature hole of this links course is located at hole 15. It is perched above a limestone cliff, overlooking stunning Dreamland, Balangan Beach – Bali’s famous surf beaches, and Indian Ocean, as steep and as high as 70 meters from the ocean. From this signature hole, the Indian Ocean Sea unfolds before our eyes, and by its beauty, there are many couples having their nuptials here. Other than that, the beautifully designed of this par 3 is also very challenging even for an experienced golfers because strong winds can move the ball on the green. But the challenge is what actually makes them curious and want to play again at New Kuta Golf.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

We were charged foreign rate, twice as high as local, but the worst was paying $48 for a supposed premium set of clubs. What I got was seve Ballesteros, 11 clubs only, used golf balls, and charged for water and an orange drink provided in cooler. Manager refused to giVe me partial refund. Do not go here

1  Thank Linnette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (155)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

103 - 107 of 155 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2014

Relatively easy to book a Tee-time for the course direct with the course. Registration is relatively painless, although clubs, and shoes are in different location.
It had rained very heavily during the night and immediately prior to us playing, and therefore the course was very waterlogged which prevented any run of the ball and lengthened the course quite considerably, that saying it was very enjoyable. I wouldn't say there are any signature holes, there are a few along the cliff / sea which are pretty although hardly challenging.
There is considerable construction activity adjacent to the course, but, doesn't interfere with play. The caddies were knowledgable and assisted at each hole.
Nice course, not too difficult but it's pricey compared to Nirawara golf course.

Thank Scotsdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

The course is in great condition considering it is the wet season my only advice book through the golf course direct, not worth saving $20 booking through a guide and ending up with a crap set of clubs. The caddys know the course very well. Well worth playing

Thank Luke A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Was interested to play this new addition to the Bali Golf scene, having played Nirwana and the (now closed) Bali Golf & Country Club a few times on previous visits.
New Kuta Golf was a big disappointment after these two and given the potential for the location. No more than 2 or 3 memorable holes. What a wasted opportunity. As of when we played, some 2+ years after opening, it still felt like a building site.
Clubhouse is decidedly underwhelming with no views of the course. Changing facilities average.
Thankfully we got relatively good value (USD88) by choosing a twighlight rate which starts at 1500hrs. We got off just before and managed a full 18 holes. Caddies were good and greens consistent.
However I'd certainly have no inclination to return to play again. Nirwana and Bali Handara Kosaido (in the hills) are worth the trek/hassle/cost but New Kuta Golf is most definitely not.

2  Thank 1Tough_customer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newkutagolf, Marketing Communications at New Kuta Golf Course, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for sharing your experience. Please bear in mind that the construction site are beyond our golf course. As a new destination, added with our Link course style course - the only one in Bali, it cannot be helped if there are many building esp. hotel mushrooming around our course. The 1st 9 hole however is still free from the construction. What we can do is just to apologize if you cannot get the best of the experience when you are playing here. The construction will not be a permanent and soon or later it will add another value to our golf course.

Best regards,
Anggi Lisandy
Marketing Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Never played overseas before, we were lucky and booked through our Hotel (bali Garden) and get a good price i think it was $600,000 IDR each then $100,000 IDR for club hire,
then when we got there it was $75,000 IDR for shoe hire and we had to buy balls,
and at the end we gave the Caddy $200,000 IDR, because there we really good and new the coarse very well.
we had a great time, but each persons experience is different.

if you enjoy golf and don't mind spending about $1 million IDR its a good day out

Thank LukenAsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Kuta Golf Course also viewed

 

Been to New Kuta Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing