We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A dribble of water to take a shower” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Mamo Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mamo Hotel
Ranked #27 of 42 Pecatu B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A dribble of water to take a shower”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I stayed at the Mamo Hotel for a week in September 2013. After a long trip to get to Uluwatu, I was extremely disappointed that my deluxe/superior room (not worth the upgrade) had barely any running water. We had only a dribble of water to take a shower. We informed the manager who suggested that we change to a neighboring room. The neighboring room's shower worked a little better but we found a puddle of water next to the bed suggesting that the roof leaked into this room. We then just used this room to shower until it became occupied.

Management then fixed the slow dribble of water in our original room to a medium dribble of water. During the rest of our stay I ended up showering by swimming in the pool and using the pool shower. I did find another hotel with a pool nearby but they were full. I tried to find other accommodations in the area but the hotel's wifi hardly worked so I did not move hotels due to this.

The room and private balcony did not face the ocean as advertised. Also, the restaurant was swarmed with flies because it is located next to a cattle field. I tried to ignore the flies that landed on our food while being cooked and transported to our table. You could see them swarming the kitchen through the window.

The other travelers who reviewed this hotel must have stayed on a lower floor and stayed at the hotel for a short time. I would not recommend staying at this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the lower floor. Choose a basic room do not upgrade to the superior/deluxe room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    34
    25
    15
    12
See reviews for
7
47
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yekaterinburg, Russia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Stayed here in September, spacious rooms, very friendly staff, small swimming pool
Breakfast is good, more or less the same you u have on bali
Nice location to explore uluwatu, you can go to different beaches every day
Check out single fin bar, it's very close
Party on Sunday night

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keylman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there for one night to go to the Sunday party at Single Fin. Great location, 2 min walk. The rooms are nice. Bathroom was ridiculous because the incline on the floor is wrong, so the whole room gets flooded when you shower. And I mean flooded, to the point where the water almost poured out into our room. Breakfast is the driest I've has, the glass of juice you get is so small it's literally just a sip... Speedy Internet connection, great pool, only three sun beds. Staff speaks poor English.

For the purpose I came there it was still perfect, in spite of some major flaws. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Solveig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

The mamo has a new restaurant just across the road this is where you go for breakfast ,the breakfast has improved since last year,and we found it plentiful.the staff at reception are a credit to the mamo,friendly and helpfull as always,walking distance to the uluwatu surf...yep their was a smelly drain in the bathroom but we had a few toilet balls on the drain lid that fixed it,think there was a bit of trouble with the water mains as this was being worked on down at padang padang.one night was disturbed by a mardi gras few doors down 2am, a bit inconsiderate guys!! a lovely clean friendly hotel thanks Mamo

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johlin-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I stayed at the Mamo hotel for two weeks in Uluwatu. Very clean hotel, good price, the room options are great value. Both rooms I stayed in had great views and were very spacious. The included breakfast with many options and the hotel has a great location, just minutes away from the Uluwatu break and restaurants and bars. The staff were friendly and helpful and spoke English well. Would definitely stay at Mamo again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marcelojellyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

The number one positive of this hotel is the great location, just a short walk from the main break and great singlefin bar. The hotel itself is very basic. It's fine for just crashing at night in a clean serviced room. There is a problem with the sewerage, which stank out the whole bathroom, & u had to keep the door closed at all times or it escaped into the room. Staff are friendly enough. Breakfast is ok, fills a hole! It's pretty overpriced for what u get especially when u compare to hotels in Kuta/Tuban, but then I think most of Ulus is like that, coz the wave is just sick. I prob wouldn't stay again, I might take a gamble on somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pombecoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Nice clean room with a fridge and tv, new water bottle provided every morning. The staff were friendly and helpful and spoke English well. I was surprised with a great breakfast after reading the other reviews but the menu with choices is offered until 11pm, lots of food with every choice and good. The uluwatu beach is a five minute walk and the ideal surfer spot with an amazing rooftop bar called Single Fin - affordable with an amazing view. Apparently Subdays are a big night for the bar and Wednesdays are not as big but still have live music. Padang Padang beach is a quick drive away and is the perfect beach spot. I was very satisfied with our stay!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jmcnulty406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pecatu hotels
0.1 mi away
Puri Uluwatu Villas
Puri Uluwatu Villas
#34 of 62 in Pecatu
4.0 of 5 stars 92 reviews
0.2 mi away
Uluwatu Cottages
Uluwatu Cottages
#9 of 62 in Pecatu
4.0 of 5 stars 116 reviews
0.3 mi away
Top Hill Villas Uluwatu
Top Hill Villas Uluwatu
#33 of 62 in Pecatu
5.0 of 5 stars 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Blue Point Bay Villas & Spa
0.1 mi away
Villa Blue Rose
Villa Blue Rose
#45 of 62 in Pecatu
4.0 of 5 stars 1 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Brothers Villa
The Brothers Villa
#21 of 42 in Pecatu
3.5 of 5 stars 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mamo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mamo Hotel

Property: Mamo Hotel
Address: Jalan Labuhan Sait, Pantai Suluban Uluwatu, Pecatu 80364, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Pecatu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Pecatu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mamo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Mamo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mamo Hotel Bali/Pecatu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing