We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rustic Relaxation with Breathtaking Views”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mick's Place

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pecatu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mick's Place
Ranked #4 of 61 Specialty Lodging in Pecatu
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rustic Relaxation with Breathtaking Views”
Reviewed June 10, 2012

My husband being a keen surfer had wanted to stay at Mick's Place for a while and this was the trip for us to relax, for him to get some great waves, and for me to grab some sun, read some good books and practice yoga. Bingin Beach is a small out of the way place with some boutique accommodation right through to budget. Mick's Place is perched on a cliff top with probably the best views to all main surfbreaks, from Impossibles, through to Bingin in front, Belangan, and down to Dreamland. The staff are friendly, and the vibe is a relaxed one. The accommodation ranges from I think about 6 bungalows, all with their individual character about them. It took a while to get used to the fact that there were not walls or door to our little bure, basically it feels like fancy camping. The bures are clean and decked out with a funky rustic feel. Cold water in the shower - yes, but the need for hot water in Bali is few and far between. The staff light citronella candles and torches of an evening, turn down your mozzie net and roll down the blinds while you drift off to sleep with the sound of the ocean. The pool area, though a small infinity pool, its not a crowded resort, so you often have the place to yourselves. The breakfast is great, served overlooking the ocean on the cliff top near the pool. The spa, if you get a chance to visit, is great, fantastic facial, pedicures and the balanese massage is to die for. Thoroughly recommend this place if relaxation and waves is what you are after. Note, if you are a light sleeper, this may not suit you as if there is a windy rainy night, you will be sure to hear it. Aside from this, I highly recommend it. Their sister property, Acacia Villa's, is a touch more modern, with tv and cable, private plunge pool and walls and aircon, but without the view. Still an amazing spot to visit and chill out at.

Room Tip: Mick's place had a honeymoon suite that had its own private plunge pool that looked amazing, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mwickel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    22
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
18
98
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Great choice for a relaxing time with your beloved. Amazing view. Quiet and intimate. The Ocean beach bungalow is great and more private than some others (with own patio overlooking ocean) and nobody walking past. Very romantic setting. We had the BBQ fish one night in the gazebo, amazing. No one around. I was a little surprised thought with the standard of the bathrooms which is quite simple (considering the price) :no hot water, shower is just water coming out of pipe, only a soap there, no other toiletries. A fridge and coffee/tea making facilities would also be a good idea. Overall, though, it is a memorable place to stay at and I would definitely go again. Loved it!

Room Tip: Apart from the honey moon bungalow. Tree house and Ocean beach bungalows are the most private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cosmicgirl36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

As a precursor we have regularly stayed at Mick's Place for many years. Yes, there are (now) cheaper places to stay in Bingin and on the Bukit. New venues have popped up here and there and offer an alternative. However, Mick's Place remains a step above. It's simple, not extravagant..and if that bother's you look elsewhere. The food is fresh and well done, the evening meals are exceptional (without peer) and you will feel like a privileged guest. The staff are friendly without being invasive. Mick's been doing this for a long time now. But it is, first and foremost, the view. Respectfully nothing else comes close.

Room Tip: Learn Bahasa, Be Polite & remember you're in Bali - not BrisVegas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FreshieFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

With breath taking views of Bingin Beach and 180 degree views of the Indian Ocean this place is paradise. The small intimate setting makes it a perfect retreat for couples who are looking for somewhere to wind down. The chef cooks the most amazing mouthwatering meals for a very small fee. The bungalows are very comfortable. This place is heaven and I will definitely be back.

Room Tip: We had the garden bungalow which is very private but book the ocean or honey moon for the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scubagirl771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Mick’s Place is one of those special places where immediately upon arrival the stresses of everyday life disappear. This moment occurred when I first soaked up the amazing views of the Indian Ocean atop Bingin Beach, where Mick’s place is perfectly perched. I’ve visited many cliff top resorts/hotels/restaurants in Bali and hands down, this is the best view I’ve come across. The staff at Mick’s (Mick and Sascha included) are lovely, we felt at home with their welcoming hospitality.

We stayed in the treehouse for a week and absolutely loved it. The elegantly rustic open plan bungalow was simple yet super comfortable. I lapped up the opportunity to catch up on sleep in the super comfy bed (and I’m fairly fussy when it comes to slumbering). Hearing the waves crashing from the bungalow’s hammock was a definite highlight.

The location is far enough away to truly relax, yet close enough to explore the Bukit and most parts of the island. Town is an inexpensive 30-40 minute taxi ride away also, should you feel that way inclined. Decent cafes/restaurants are available nearby, however we chose to eat the majority of our meals onsite because the food was delicious. My lunch favourite was the hearty salad served with kidney beans, sprouts and a generous portion of healthy treats.

We spent our days soaking up the ocean views from the infinity plunge pool, lounging and swimming at the beach (although unlike many others, the only surfing I mastered was browsing the internet on their free wifi). Maybe next time!

If you require a special location to replenish your energy levels, with genuine & friendly hospitality, stay at Mick's.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sparkie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2012

Honeymoon villa is the place to stay! Private plunge pool that over looks a perfect left hander that goes for miles! Offers every luxury including a bed big enough for 8 people, meals served in your room, a massive bath in an outdoor bathroom that shares the same view as the plunge pool, a Bose iPod dock and access to a world class surf break! What else do you need??!!! Staff really friendly, and mostly invisible and the food and service exceeds all expectations. 10 /10 for romantic ambience. Highly sort after property so book in advance.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Indoadventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2011

We went to Mick's place on recommendation from a couple of friends.
We stayed in the Honeymoon bungalow and loved it. Adored it actually. The room itself is pretty simple - a bed (big bed), a fridge, tv and dvd player and aircon. It is the only room on the resort (if 6 huts can be called a resort!) that has hot water and air con.

This is why this room is more expensive than the other huts. Oh, and the private infinity pool with the view! That was simply incredible. You just cannot tire of a 180 degree view of the sea with amazing sunsets every evening. We didn't leave the villa for the 3 days we were there because we didn't need to. Sitting in that pool, or beside it, all day everyday chilling with the best views i have ever experienced was amazing. Breakfast is included but you can also have lunch and dinner in the hotel (which they will bring to the villa). Prices for lunch and dinner are very reasonable and the food is great. The staff are super friendly too

In summary: if you want to be away from all the hustle and bustle and truly relax in peaceful surroundings with fantastic views, this is definitely the place for you.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jackiedan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pecatu
0.9 mi away
Suarga Padang Padang
Suarga Padang Padang
#4 of 7 in Uluwatu
210 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sal Secret Spot
Sal Secret Spot
#6 of 7 in Uluwatu
180 reviews
1.6 mi away
De Sapphire Cliff Villa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Anantara Uluwatu Bali Resort
1.7 mi away
Uluwatu Cottages
Uluwatu Cottages
#8 of 61 in Pecatu
143 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Inn Possible
The Inn Possible
#5 of 43 in Pecatu
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mick's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mick's Place

Property: Mick's Place
Address: Bingin Beach, Labuan Sait, Pecatu, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Pecatu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 61 Specialty Lodging in Pecatu
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Mick`s Place Hotel Pecatu
Mick's Place Bali/Pecatu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing