We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing view and place, but too pricey!”
Review of Mick's Place

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pecatu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mick's Place
Ranked #4 of 66 Specialty Lodging in Pecatu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 5, 2011

We stayed in the Honeymoon Bungalow for 8 days and the place is incredible.

The place is well overpriced though, especially considering the service is not that good and the included breakfast is way too small, so you end up with an extra bill at the end of your stay.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KimHansenLisbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (178)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

160 - 166 of 178 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2011

On our first trip to Bali we choose Micks place due to the fact that there no kids under 12 and we were on a kid free long weekend. We stayed in the Treehouse which apart from the Honeymoon bungalow is the best hut to choose. The Treehouse is towards the rear of the property, but offers complete privacy with amazing ocean views. We were offered a board and snorkels to borrow. Food(which is wonderful) is offered at a communial low table with floor cushions as chairs, or you can have dinner brought to your hut. We hired a scooter from the wonderful and helpful staff for 50,000rp per day and had so much fun exploring the south, and managed a to visit Kuta on a scooter. We recommend Mick's place to anyone looking for a relaxing break, wicked location & amazing staff...make sure your check out the spa!!!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janeyjane_oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2010

Top place. One of the best infinity pools I've ever been in: spectacular views over Bingin looking towards Impossibles and Dreamland to the left and right. Sunset with a Gin n Tonic! Pay for the pick up from the airport; we arrived pretty later at night and you wouldn't want to do that drive at night, especially if its your first time to Bali/Micks Place. Breakfast is included and consists of tea/coffee, fruit salad, and eggs of your choice. The omlettes were great, something tasty about Balinese eggs! The food overall is good, nothing particularly special, but fine if your not too adventurous of an evening. Mick was always around, was really friendly and helpful. He helped me get my board repaired by some local guys pretty cheaply, and Jimmy did a great job! Mick has a couple of snorkels, and a mini mal you can use if your without board. You can hire scooters from the local workers for 50,000rph. Definitely a good idea for casual exploring, and petrol is only 5.000rph a litre and 2 litres is usually enough for a day. We were really well looked after, all of the staff were attentive and friendly. Thai place on the main road is pretty good for the Thai green curry in a coconut! Highlight was the fish BBQ on the beach at Bingin, where you could choose your fish, prawns, squid etc and pay by weight. Comes with rice and some veggies, with a couple of large Bintangs for 130.000rph. Brilliant first night meal was hard to beat in the two weeks we were there.
My fiance had a massage at MP that she said was very nice, and quite strong. She had the massage and scrub, and reckoned the massage was better than the scrub.
Downsides: nothing major. You really don't need hot water. it is baking hot all the time there, it would seem.
Because Micks Place is on a private road, you have to use the local taxi, which is at a slightly more expensive rate. No biggie though.
We were in the Sunset Villa, and the bathroom/toilet was pretty open plan. It had American Western bar type swing doors, and you can hear most things that happened in there, so if its your first tie going away with someone, it's something to be aware of!
Definitely stay here if your in two minds. It's worth it!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hammockman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2010

As regular travellers to Bali we have ,between us, stayed in over 11 hotels of varying standrds in 4 -5 star ratings. This beautiful place was by far the most wonderful we have ever stayed in. The hotel is set in the most amazing position , cliff edge with sweeping views or Dreamland, Bingin and Impossbles surf breaks. It is set directly above Bingin Beach. From most of te rooms and pool there is nothing but a scattering of warung roofs peelng waves and glassy water to stare at all day. The staff are respectful and polite and make special effort to greet us immediately by name and remembering our names at every meeting. They keep the grounds beauttiful and clean and are always smiling. Ketut plays the staring role as she cheerfully asks about the day of the visitors. The rooms are purposefully designed to be true island bungalows...but bungalows with style . They have no hot water just a beautiful tepid shower that comes out of a bamboo shower head. They rea environmentally orientated and Wwe needed nothing more than this it was perfect temperature ( and this is coming from one that does not like being uncomfortable ...particularly cold !) The rooms are lit each night by candle light and the blinds are put down . The beds are completely enclosed in mosquito nets and they are king size and comfortable. All that can be heard at night is the beach below. Night is peaceful one reason for this is the lack of pool bar which was of great advantage as it doesn't attract the bogany boozing , shouting tourists that are found so many of Bali's hotels.We all loved a beer though and had afternoon beers around the pool. Beers are available as are beautful freshly made to order juices ...perfect to add some nice cheap duty free vodka too !! Breaky is cooked to order and served over looking the cliffs and the beach as is dinner. The food is bought daily as guests are asked if they would like dinner each night and the purchases are made at the market. Hygiene standards are extremley high and they are fabulous cooks. The food was outstanding. and so cheap 30,000 for a large lunch. Sascha one of the owners is an asset to the business. She takes care to assist all guests with anything they require, treats her workers with respect and runs an amazing place. We can't wait to return.....sad we had to leave. Loved every minute of it .

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MirandaPerthWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2010

We stayed for a few nights in August in the Ocean Bungalow. A quick summary.. great views, cool design, poor service, no privacy from location/setup of bungalows or from the staff. Overpriced for the amenities and service. Had little sleep each night as the mattress was basic foam that had a large indent from overuse. Terrible for our backs. We are only in our 30's! Would be better if they used some of their profits to invest in decent mattresses. You better like the guests that are staying at the place while you are there bc you will be more or less be on holidays with them... communal dinning (1 outdoor table), small pool and little else. They do not offer yoga like they say and the yoga down the road is a 5-10min ride by scooter. Everything is a scooter ride away. Note, there's only 1 bedside lamp to attempt to read by, and a pathetic rusty standing fan. It is not a boutique resort like it claims.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank elky1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2010

We have visited Bali for the past 6 summers and Micks was by far the best accommodations we have experienced. The view rivals any in the world and the accommodations are unique, clean and comfortable. The surf was easy to access and convenient for viewing from the pool and sundeck. Mick and his staff were friendly and accommodating. We look forward to next years stay and highly recommend Micks to anyone visiting the Bukit Peninsula.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank griffemery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2010

Mick's place is amazing and i wouldn't recommend a trip to Bali without staying here or at another cliff top location in the Bingin area. Most people stay in the Kuta area and miss staying in the real beauty of Bali like this area. It is more like the true old Bali style and life. More beautiful and peaceful, cleaner beaches etc. There are no shops but you can get massages and they are plenty of nice restaurants around especially near the Ulawatu area. We went for sunset drinks at the Bvlgari one night where they pass around free amazing food. However if you do want to grab some more action it is only 30-40 mins away back to the hub. Mick's is quite basic. Cold water and no a/c but they do have fans and in the heat of Bali i didn't mind the cold showers. However they do have an amazing honeymoon suite that is worth every penny if you have the extra dollars and this does come with all the modern cons. Some activities i would recommend while in Bali would be the crazy flying fish at Nusa Dua watersports. Check it out on youtube. This is probably the funniest ride ever. You can swim with the dolphins at Serangan island and a trip to one of the Zoo's is cool as you have plenty of hand on contact with baby or young animals. My favourite was playing with a 3 months old Baby elephant and a 1 and 1/2 year old lioness. I also stayed at Como Shambala in Ubud and this place was even ore amazing than Mick's which i thought would be impossible.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank motherfahey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pecatu
0.8 mi away
Suarga Padang Padang
Suarga Padang Padang
#3 of 9 in Uluwatu
307 reviews
0.5 mi away
Klapa Resort
Klapa Resort
#6 of 11 in Pecatu
74 reviews
1.6 mi away
De Sapphire Cliff Villa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Anantara Uluwatu Bali Resort
0.2 mi away
Sal Secret Spot
Sal Secret Spot
#7 of 9 in Uluwatu
212 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rock 'n Reef Uluwatu
Rock 'n Reef Uluwatu
#9 of 66 in Pecatu
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mick's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mick's Place

Address: Bingin Beach, Labuan Sait, Pecatu, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Pecatu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 66 Specialty Lodging in Pecatu
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Mick`s Place Hotel Pecatu
Mick's Place Bali/Pecatu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing