We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect wave at Ulu”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Suluban Beach

Suluban Beach
Ranked #4 of 24 things to do in Pecatu
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect wave at Ulu”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Non-pro surfers CAN surf at ulu! If you can consistently catch a wave and go left, you'll have amazing rides here. I describe myself as low intermediate and I was fine. Just go at mid-high tide, on a smaller day (less than head high) and surf the leftmost breaks. You don't need boots as it's quite deep even at mid-rising tide. Go with a surf school or local your first time to learn how to paddle back in and what part of the lineup is appropriate for your level. Ulu can be very dangerous due to steep cliffs surrounding the only entry/exit beach and the currents pushing you away from this beach. The breaks further out and low tide are definitely for more advanced surfers! The best part is that there are a bunch of shops that will sell great photos of you surfing (make sure to negotiate a good price per photo).

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank dilemmalyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    88
    15
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Awesome place”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Suluban Beach was my favourite stop in Uluwatu. I was there for a wedding and had a spare day and decided to walk to Suluban from my villa and it was the best decision. The surf was breathtaking and the amount of surfers was brilliant! It really made me feel like i was in Indonesia instead of pseudo-Australia, which was a relief after spending time in Seminyak. The scenery was incredible and a totally chilled out beach-vibe! Would love to go again!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KristyMi89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
144 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Surfers paradise”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Great surfing and people watching! You're going to Lovett her but no beack, if you want a beach go to Padang Padang.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank danasbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Paradise !”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

A secluded beach hidden under the rocks. Far from the crowded of Kuta, Suluban is a good alternative for quiet and less crowded beach in Bali. Be careful when using the stairs its slippery at some steps. There are some small shops and restaurant with great view there. If you surf then this is a right place, but heard that the wave is only for pros :)

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Edwin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We are not surfers , But this was awesome!. The trek down to the beach was great . The Restaurant ( I can't remember the name) but it has a great view of the waves and the surfers. The food was good too. A must do. Not for the elderly , as there are a lot steps and add the heat to that.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Rick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Suluban Beach also viewed

Pecatu, Nusa Dua Peninsula
Pecatu, Nusa Dua Peninsula
 
Ungasan, Nusa Dua Peninsula
 

Been to Suluban Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing