We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place for a wedding”
Review of Khayangan Estate

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Khayangan Estate
Ranked #21 of 66 Specialty Lodging in Pecatu
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Getting there requires one to travel along a bumpy road but once you enter the gates you cannot help but be amazed at this ocean-side paradise! Villas and infinity pools among lush green grass was the perfect setting for a wedding!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sammerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (30)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 30 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2012

one the best place to tie the knot in the romantic, sunset outdoor setting. was contemplating a few other venues such as conrad etc, but in the end Khayangan feels just perfect. and it is. Highly recomended for a wedding, a romantic hideaway, or even an escape along with close families and friends.

downside is: it is a bit far from anywhere, so prepare you snacks or light bite in case of late night hungry-tummy attack

travelled on october 2010

Room Tip: the master room (honeymoon suite) is the best one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jiminc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We chose Khayangan Estate for our wedding venue and, as a result, rented the entire property for three nights.

The property itself is out of this world; sprawling, manicured lawns and gardens fringed with palm trees and dotted with rustic cabanas, day beds and pools all set back from a dramatic cliff front overlooking the ocean. All six villas (four standalone, two adjoined) were decorated for royalty, with incredible, authentic Javanese and Balinese woodwork throughout and nothing more to be desired. We stayed in the master suite, which was luxury at its best.

The staff are lovely and friendly people as most Balinese are. However, a general lack of leadership meant that the service was fragmented, disorganised and wrought with miscommunication.

For example, we had pre-arranged a rehearsal dinner for 25 guests on our first night in the property and were forced to hand hold the staff to perform even the simple task of taking and fulfilling drink orders. Food was not brought out all at once but was staggered over ~1.5 hours, which led some of our guests hungry while others ate. We had a similar experience when we invited our wedding party to brunch the morning after the wedding; constant management and direction was required to ensure coffee pots were refilled, food was replenished as platters emptied, cutlery was provided...all standard tasks that should have been completed automatically. Even a simple breakfast for the 12 adults and 2 children staying at the villa required too much oversight.

This simply should not happen for a property at this price point. A simple query: "may I please arrange a dinner for 25 guests at 530 p.m." should suffice and everything after that should be taken care of. Frankly, the service was such a let down for a property of this caliber that it was an embarrassment to my wife and me.

Fortunately, we made a decision to outsource our wedding planning to Chimene Harper of Harper & Co (very highly recommended) so all service and preparations on the big day were impeccable. Chimene helped us to plan and execute a breathtaking wedding experience.

Room Tip: All of the villas are amazing if you can put up with the service
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank benissomewhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Can I give this place 10 stars please?!!

We celebrated a wedding here.... we stayed for 3 nights and were treated like royalty. The gardens are amazing - the rooms (we stayed in the Sultan Suite) was phenomenal!!! Way beyond anything we'd expected!! The woodwork just blew us away - as well as the attention to detail. Fantastic view and a perfect location for a wedding.

My only grumble was the breakfast service - the waitrons are great (friendly, speak good English) - but they lack direction as there does not appear to be any management around. Thank goodness there were only 12 of us, as I don't think they/kitchen staff could cope with more. The kitchen could only seem to manage about 4 people's food at a time - on our last day they knew we were coming to eat at 8am (as people were getting ready to catch flights), but by 9am they were still serving breakfast!! You'd think that they'd have the fruit platters ready to bring out. Coffee cups on the table already. Then you were not sure if you were going to even get food as others got theirs way before you did... and everyone ordered an American breakfast so it wasn't like there were 20 varieties! Anyway - other than the constant breakfast hickup it was an AWESOME venue... and we can highly recommend this estate for weddings (and any other event!).

I've given 3 stars to the breakfast service - the butler service is phenomenal!

Room Tip: All the suites are very unique in their own way... the Sultan Suite had his and hers hand basins, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Muriels_Hout_Bay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Everything was top notch. Were treated like king and queen for two nights. Check out the sunset at the gazebo. We got speechless for 2 hrs. The view is fantabulous. This estate has only 6 villas, 3 villas make up to 1 estate, making it 2 estates altogether. And best part of that is, if u get to book 1 estate on dates where the other estate is not booked, its like as if u own the entire place. Price much cheaper than hotels of similar class and we get much luxurious facilities and much more privacy. Very strongly recommended :)

Room Tip: For visitors with small kids book the estate with adjoining room. Thats the estate with the better v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OliviaSurabaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

We celebrated our wedding day at Khayangan Estate in June, 2011, WOW where do I start....it was just amazing!!!! Each of our guests still talk about Khayangan today and how spectacular the property is. One our guests described it as "like being in a movie". I can honestly say, that the moment I walked through the beautiful reading/sitting room onto the property grounds, where the views just mesmerised us, then into the main bedroom I was that overwhelmed I cried, it was completely unbelievable.

The views are sensational, the rooms were stunning and the service impeccable. Myself, my husband and our guests couldn't fault the property. Our wedding day and our three night stay was perfect, we didn't want to leave!!!

As mentioned in the previous reviews from other guests, everything was pure quality...

Whilst the property is amazing, the owners, the service staff and of course the manager brought our perfect wedding day and our three night stay together.... Incredible!!!!

A place you will never forget!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gabby072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

This place is so amazing. We stayed here for 3 nights for my brother's wedding and we really enjoyed it.

The location is a bit out of the way and hidden. From the outside it didn't look impressive at all, but once you went through the gate and enter the estate, you will be greeted with an amazing view of the infinity pool and the ocean.

This place consist of 6 villas, 3 for the groom side and 3 for the bride side (you can only rent the place as a whole, cannot rent just 1 villa, have to be all 6) and a family room for each side. And you have to rent for minimum 4 nights or hold an event and stay for 3 nights.

The rooms are beautiful. Each room has a sitting area on the front with lounge chairs as well. The room has a bit of rustic feeling with the huge wood door decor and very cozy indeed. They have indoor tub and outdoor shower. Each room is very roomy and the bed is big and comfy.

For the bride and groom room, on the back of their room they actually have beautiful waterlily pond and cozy daybed to chill out and relax. Very romantic.

Each family room has roomy sitting and dining area and they also have books and magazine available for you to browse. On the front of the family room you can take a dip on the infinity pool. I did notice on the family room, that there's some spots on the curtains. Which not a big deal for our family, but considering this should be an elegant and high end estate, you kind of expecting cleaner room.

The service is pretty good. At any time you can ask someone to bring you whatever you need and when you don't need them, they pretty much stay out of the way.

For wedding location, this place is truly amazing. Every guest gushing about the beautiful view as the estate is sitting high on a cliff. And since we have evening reception, guests get to enjoy a breathtaking sunset view. The view is unforgettable.

The day to day food is just okay. Over priced and nothing too special. The pool needs to be clean more often. Granted this is not a place that continuously have guests, but they should prepare the place better for when they do have guests.

Overall, we love the place. We had an amazing time and enjoyed our time at Khayangan Estate. If you planning a private wedding, definitely should consider this place.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank indogirl75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pecatu
0.6 mi away
The edge
The edge
#1 of 11 in Pecatu
161 reviews
0.9 mi away
Alila Villas Uluwatu
Alila Villas Uluwatu
#1 of 9 in Uluwatu
1,044 reviews
2.4 mi away
Banyan Tree Ungasan, Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Suarga Padang Padang
Suarga Padang Padang
#3 of 9 in Uluwatu
307 reviews
2.4 mi away
Anantara Uluwatu Bali Resort
0.5 mi away
Bulgari Resort Bali
Bulgari Resort Bali
#2 of 9 in Uluwatu
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khayangan Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khayangan Estate

Address: Jln. Goa Lempeh, Pecatu, Pecatu 80364, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Pecatu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 66 Specialty Lodging in Pecatu
Hotel Class:4 star — Khayangan Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the Sanskrit word for "Seventh Heaven," Khayangan Estate is quite simply as its name suggests, a private villa estate that is stunning heavenly and the very best of the Bali luxury villas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Khayangan Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Khayangan Estate Hotel Uluwatu
Khayangan Estate Bali/Pecatu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing