We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time visitor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Padang Padang Surf Camp
Ranked #5 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Pecatu
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“First time visitor”
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Set in a meticulously manicured garden, set back from the main road, this property offers a visibly beautiful exterior. I visited with my husband and stayed in an un air conditioned bungalow. These are very clean but basic bungalows. Air condition is not a necessity, the room is reasonably cool and has a fan. The communal arrangement of the bungalows and dining and pool area was really comfortable and accessible, with ample sun lounges and hammocks for all guests.
Being a first time visitor and beginner in the realms of surfing, I found the surf instructors excellent in their approach and teaching abilities. I felt safe and accounted for on every surf session. I can highly recommend Koyok as a more than capable instructor who's personality and warmth was a pleasure every day.
I did however feel a little lost and uninformed at the camp. It was mostly a case of follow the leader with the other guests, and find your own way. After a day the management issues you a verbal do's and don'ts list, military style and enter 'school camp' arrangement.
Scheduled and portioned eating isn't my idea of holiday freedom, but the food was okay and water accessibility great.
The feeling of 'not sure' was a burden on my part, and being berated by a child for using a cushion in the wrong area was a little demeaning and uncomfortable.
Room tip, if you value a sleep in on occasion as most of the morning sessions are before 6am, don't book a downstairs bungalow. The adjoining stairs to the above rooms are exceptionally noisy! Also there are no refrigerator in your room, and the management do not offer a room key. There is however house security, and a safe in your room.
Massage can be ordered in house and yoga classes organized by booking.
All in all, a little too structured and 'school camp' like for my free spirit, and a little too many rules for ultimate relaxation.
Reading previous reviews I would expect management to disagree with everything I write. :))

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are the best choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Indoadventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Padang Padang Surf Camp, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
We don't have any bungalows but this is the only point of disagreement we have with this review which is fair and objective. We are delighted the reviewer found the surf instruction to be excellent but are a bit confused how she could be uninformed and a little lost, while at the same time found it too structured with a school camp do's and dont's. Most people enjoy the structured surf program and communal socialising which makes the camp atmosphere - we appreciate this is not going to appeal to everyone but there is a separate dining area behind the kitchen she could have used if she didn’t want to eat with the other guests.
The reviewer had quite a strong possibility and being told off by a four year old child was clearly very difficult for her to handle. The next time a young child rebukes her for her behaviour let’s hope she is better prepared with an appropriate answer, but if she is at a loss for words we can only suggest she attempts to laughs it off.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    40
    4
    8
    6
See reviews for
8
49
107
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

They should call this a surf "resort" not "camp" - with free wi-fi, a relaxing pool, plenty of food (healthy,too), great surf guides, good selection of boards, a caring staff, and a friendly crowd of surfers - what else do you want on a surf trip! It's also great place to learn to surf or improve on your surfing. You can also book trips to see Uluwatu temple and Kechak dance (highly recommended) or go to local towns to explore - the staff will help you make this a memorable vacation whatever you feel like doing. Ina and Tina are wonderful! The surf guides make sure you're having fun, too, and give you specific tips on how to improve.

There was a big swell when I was here in May 2012, so I only surfed Padang Padang beach. I really liked the beach, which had a channel that helped reduce the paddling. It also had very long rides for a longboard (one of the inner breaks was waist high, outside of head high). Tip: bring surf booties for tropical water...the reef can cut up your feet.

I travelled solo, so a bonus, I met wonderful surfers from around the world, and had great conversations. I plan on returning here, and this time bringing some of my surfer friends from my girl's surf club in California.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HBAdvGrl09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

If you are looking for a place where you can surf (or learn) and at the same time relax in a quiet environment between those surf sessions definitely these is the place for you!
The staff was very friendly and Ina (one of the managers) was absolutely top notch as a host! Thank you so much Ina.

I stayed for 2 weeks and I felt it was not enough, I will go back for sure!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Miguel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Booked a week here to kill time before meeting a friend in South America. Not a massive fan of travelling alone so thought this would be a good way to meet people, keep busy and learn a new skill.
Two friends had been here previously and both had had a great time and highly recommended it.
Had an amazing time at Padang Padang. So many positives:
1) I'd wanted to avoid the hoards in places like Kuta and the camp is in a perfect location - secluded but close to Padang Padang beach and nearby restaurants
2) The rooms were large, ensuite, some fan, some a/c. Cleaned daily, sheets changed every 3 days. Swimming pool is awesome as is the chill out hammock area
3) The staff are first class - Ina was so welcoming and interested in our wellbeing (even after I moved out of the camp due to lack of space). She made sure we paid the right prices for taxis etc and recommended places to eat. The instructors - Tino, Koyok, Wayoun, Eddie, Made and all the others were great fun, obviously enjoyed their job and went out of their way to make sure we got good waves as well as coaching along the way.
4) It's a great place for solo travellers as well as couples. Eating breakfast and lunch in camp together, plus doing surfing together was great for getting to know people. Most people would make plans to go out as a group for dinner. We also did day trips together when not surfing.
5) The food was of a very high quality. Early breakfast snack of bread and bananas (if surfing before 7am) Breakfast with freshly squeezed juice after the 1st session, then Lunch was filling and absolutely what we needed for 4 hours of surfing a day.

Although fairly expensive for Bali, I think that they manage to provide value for money in the equipment they provide and the facilities that the camp has (as long as you stay at the camp - I had to move out after 9 days as they were fully booked and the price for lessons goes up from 275,000 to 400,000 IDR per day)

I started as a beginner and am already thinking about booking my next surf holiday. Padang Padang is top of my list even though there are many surf camps closer to home in europe! The fact that pretty much everyone was thinking about booking a return visit speaks volumes about the experience you get here.

Best spontaneous decision I ever made.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DocMarkL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012 via mobile

Padang padang surf camp have really put together a great product - from being picked up at the airport by the friendly driver the experience really is top notch. The friendliness of all the staff and cleanliness and attention to detail in the accommodation top a long list of good points. Not surprising then to find that around half of the guests at any one time are repeat guests - i think that says a lot.

The word camp does a bit of disservice to the quality of the accommodation which is more like boutique resort - the rooms are very clean, well equipped and tastefully set out and there are some lovely shady communal areas to relax with hammocks etc. Free wifi also handy.

I would particularly recommend this camp for those tavelling by themselves ( as the social aspect is really good ), those on a first visit to bali or beginner surfers ( they will make sure you get good waves ).

I had a great stay and will certainly be back.

Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 19, 2012

I just returned from a week at the Padang Padang Surf Camp and had an excellent time. The management and staff are extremely friendly and went out of their way to see that the guests had an excellent time. While the prices include everything except dinner there were many extras that were provided (e.g. rides to various attractions, use of equipment) which leaves you with the feeling that customer satisfaction is the primary goal. Having been to other parts of Indonesia I did find the Bali area in general more pricey but the amount and quality of the amenities provided by the Camp made up for the extra $$$ spent. The Camp also seems to attract a very good International range and quality of guest thus the social aspect rated high as well. Five stars from this customer!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taylordiving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

I go to Bali around 8 times a year and have stayed at a number of surf camps over the years. This one is guaranteed the best of the best. The camp is super chilled, you'll start to relax the minute you get there. Rooms are basic but good, food delicious and the guides actually do give you lessons when you're out in the waves if you want that of course.pics taken of us every day too :) We had a really amazing time and booked 3 more breaks there this year :)

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lakeroyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pecatu
0.5 mi away
Suarga Padang Padang
Suarga Padang Padang
#3 of 8 in Uluwatu
252 reviews
1.1 mi away
De Sapphire Cliff Villa
0.4 mi away
Anantara Uluwatu Bali Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
PinkCoco Bali
PinkCoco Bali
#1 of 40 in Pecatu
369 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rock 'n Reef Uluwatu
Rock 'n Reef Uluwatu
#8 of 62 in Pecatu
103 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bombora Surf Camp
Bombora Surf Camp
#23 of 62 in Pecatu
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Padang Padang Surf Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Padang Padang Surf Camp

Property: Padang Padang Surf Camp
Address: Padang Padang, Jl Labuan Sait, Pecatu, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Pecatu
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Pecatu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Padang Padang Surf Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Padang Padang Surf Camp offers quality accommodation near some of the best surfing breaks in the world. Surf guiding for advanced surfers and surf lessons for beginners. We cater for all levels of surfers and offer full services including airport transfers, meals, accommodation, surf lessons, board rental. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Padang Padang Surf Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Padang Padang Surf Camp Hotel Pecatu
Padang Surf Camp Pecatu
Padang Padang Surf Camp Bali/Pecatu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing