We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Price for Suite at Bali”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Grande Bali

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Grande Bali
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Pecatu
Certificate of Excellence
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good Price for Suite at Bali”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We've stayed at the 1 bedroom suite. It's very spacious & nice. Like the kitchen & stove so much, since we were travelling with 2 kids (one of them is infant) so we're still have to prepare + cook the organic stuff for her. The price is very very good for 5 stars suite at Bali. The hotel offers free shuttle to Dreamland beach by request (but when we requested the operator said, "Ok, we'll inform you before the shuttle go" but turned out they never let us know. So we think the minus things are only 2: very few facilities at hotel and poor operator / receptionist.

Room Tip: Price wise: Choose the suite instead of standard room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irene W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didier G, General Manager at Le Grande Bali, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Irene W,

I am please to read your review about Le Grande Bali in Trip Advisor.

I am happy that you have enjoyed the comfort and space of our one bedroom suite. I want to thank you for your constructive feedback about the service you received. Rest assured your comments are considered by the Management Team for improvement.

I sincerely hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back to our hotel in the future and thank you again for your review.

Kind regards

Didier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    110
    62
    14
    16
See reviews for
80
118
22
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maribyrnong, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Le Grande was a lovely hotel but it was just a little out of the way. I had a deluxe room which was massive! The room was beautifully clean and very spacious. I got there early and the room wasn't ready yet. While they got me into the room very quickly I notice a few of the little things were missing. (laundry bags, price lists etc) Nothing major but a bit of hassle to organise

Staff were lovely although some of them really struggled with English. Bar staff were fabulous - they make a mean Pina Colada B-) Finding tourist information did prove to be a bit of a challenge as some staff seemed to be confused about what services were available, prices etc. Nevertheless they tried hard to please and nothing seemed to be to much trouble. I recommend going for a massage here, they were awesome. Especially when followed by a couple of Pina Colada's by the pool

Getting around from here did seem to be a bit more difficult than in other parts of Bali. I recommend booking a car & driver to take you to the sights. Although do your research and be sure of where you want to go. However if you just want to chill out for a few days, play a bit of golf and get away from it all Le Grande is a great place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
125 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

The hotel overall is nice. It has pretty lobby, nice swimming pool and overall spacious rooms. Its key weakness lies in its location. It is quite far from everything else, and also deep inside a seldom used golf resort. From the main gate of the resort, you need almost 8 minutes by car to reach the gate of the hotel. Of course, quietness could be a plus, except in this case, it creates a few problems. Many guests staying at the hotel seem to be part of tour group, which can be noisy at times; the bar is usually empty, which makes having a drink by the bar into a very "solitary" and strange experience; guests usually need at least 1 hour to reach Kuta, 40 minutes to Uluwatu or even 2 hours to Ubud. With limited time for vacationing and traveling to experience such a wonderful island like Bali, I don't think staying here will be a convenient choice. The hotels in any of the beach town are plenty and not that cost prohibitive.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madeleineshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

3 stars some rooms, 4 star at best. We were amongst about 15-20 other rooms booked for a wedding. Almost everyone felt it was their worst experience. Well travelled persons will know for sure this is no 5 star. They took 30min to check us in and it wasnt even busy. On seeing our room, first thing - a lizard in our room (not acceptable - it's considered a pest in the same league as cockroaches in asia)! No fridge (there was a void where it was supposed to be); our toilet couldnt flush properly (low pressure); the sink slow to drain; the stupid bathroom had glass facing the room with privacy curtains that couldnt close properly - it'd be ok if it were tastefully done like in a real 5 star hotel but this is cheap humour. Towels werent available and arrived later but was grotty and worn; the shower had no holder (so you put your soap/gels on the floor!). When we complained about the fridge, we were asked "did you order a fridge?" err... do we need to order our bed and tv too? It is listed on their website that a fridge is included anyway *roll eyes*. We were a family and was given twin beds.While another couple had a presidential suite with king bed. This presidential suite is 4 star by world standards. Their shower floods - water slow to drain. And had a lizard in their kitchen and lots of lizard droppings in the bathroom.
Room #3: the guests ordered a 3rd bed; however no sheets ever arrived for that bed, so they had to share. They complained they couldnt sleep coz the aircon was making so much noise just outside their room. They werent impressed with the "romantic" curtains in the bathroom either that also couldnt close nicely like ours.
Unfortunately, the hen's night had been booked at this hotel too. It was poorly managed by the hotel. They didnt have the champagne they prebooked 5 weeks prior amongst many things that went wrong.
Oh... the families who stayed here all agree that it's super unsafe for kids. The railings were so wide apart , a kid can put their head thru it. Another railing outside our group's guest room was about to break apart and is absolutely wide enough for a child to fall thru easily.

Poor management, poor maintenance overall. It will suit those who are on 3 star budgets if you're willing to put up with broken, missing things and poor plumbing. there is nothing outside this place - no shops, no restaurants nearby, so if you got to be here, dont extend past your event, you'd just be bored and there is hardly any taxi who knows how to get here (one of our guests' cabbies got lost for 2 hr on a 30 min journey). There is only golf, so golfers who just want to golf might find it affordable.
NOT suitable for those with young kids, those who expect a 5 star like Westin Hotel standard; those who are from developed countries where 5 star means 5 star (eg. Australia, UK, USA, NZ, Ireland, France, Singapore, Hong Kong, etc...). AVOID this hotel IF YOU ARE AFRAID OF LIZARDS!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a presidential suite if you can. We did ask to change room to a king room becoz of kids but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nev_au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didier G, General Manager at Le Grande Bali, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Dear Nev_au,
Greetings from Le Grande, Pecatu.

I would like to start by thanking you for taking the time to comment on your stay in Le Grande. It is only through invaluable feedback such as yours that we can maintain and improve upon our standards of quality and service.

I would like to sincerely apologize for the aspects of your stay encountered by your group that were disappointing.
I have been appointed General Manager of Le Grande and the hotel is now under new international hotel chain management by the management company responsible for the national and Trip Advisor award-winning properties of U Chiang Mai and U Inchantree Kanchanaburi in Thailand. Le Grande will be re-branded as U Agathis Pecatu Bali later in 2012.

Since taking over the resort the comments received from our guests have been overwhelmingly positive as we are dedicated to providing the same levels of quality, luxury and service experienced by the guests in our other U hotels therefore I was extremely concerned about your experience at Le Grande and would like to personally address the issues you raised.

The slow check-in. Unfortunately there was an error on our part with your group details. I have instigated measures to ensure that this does not occur in the future.

We have employed the services of a professional pest control company who have undertaken a full hotel eradication of the lizard problem.

We were at full occupancy when your group stayed and I regret that there were insufficient fridges to accommodate all the guests. These are now on order. We have also ordered new bathroom curtains, shower holders and luxury toweling for all our rooms. All of the above will be arriving in the very near future.

We are currently running a full care program in the resort utilizing the Housekeeping and Engineering departments to deal with the poor drainage, water pressure and air conditioning issues.

The safety of our guests and their families is of paramount importance and the matters you raised regarding the railings are at the very top of our maintenance list.

I must further offer my heartfelt apologies for the oversight with your group’s champagne and the lack of bed linen for the extra bed. Again I have introduced strict measures to avoid any disappointment in the future.

It is my own personal aim and that of our group to place Le Grande at the very top of the luxury resorts in Indonesia. Along with the aforementioned resorts we will be opening the 5-star U Sunsuri Phuket in the next few months and our latest property, the brand new 5-star Eastin Grand Sathorn in Bangkok, has already established itself among the top hotels in the city with extremely positive reviews on Trip Advisor. Our group’s mission is to offer superlative levels of comfort, quality and service in all our properties.

In closing I would like to say it was a genuine pleasure to serve you and your group as our guests and it would be an honor if you would visit us in the very near future to see the improvements we have made in all areas to offer our guests a true 5-star experience.

Best regards,

Didier Gourmaud
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
89 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We stayed one week at this beautiful resort in July. We travelled with a 11 month old baby and a 2,5 year old.

Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Rooms were spacious, modern and very clean. We had the best housekeeping that we have ever experienced. The restaurant (breakfast, lunch and dinner) and room service was very good. The hotel has a comfortable and relaxing atmosphere.

The facilities, pools and spa were very nice and clean. We found the location of the hotel good. As we had a rental car the whole stay we could easily get around. The closest beach (Dreamland beach) was only 3 minutes away.

We tried the surf at Uluwatu, Jimbaran, Dreamland, Kuta, Airports and Pedang Pedang. If you are not in the water paddling for waves, a day at the beach can be rather stressful. You have to bargain for a parking, for a sun chair, and you will be approached a numerous times and asked if you want to purchase fruits, drinks, sarongs, crafts etc. We found it nice to come back to the hotel in the afternoon and RELAX in peace and quiet, and enjoy good food that did not cause stomach pain.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 10H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeGrande8481388, Manager at Le Grande Bali, responded to this review, September 16, 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for giving us a perfect rating and for recommending our hotel to other travelers. We are sure our entire hotel staff enjoyed catering to your needs as much as you enjoyed your stay.

Best Regards
Le Grande Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
111 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012 via mobile

The pictures on the web site definitely looks better than in real life. This is a large property which is spacious and looks great, only from the outside.

The room is spacious but really disappoint in terms of quality. The room felt dusty and the towels looked unwashed. There was even a dead cockroach in my bathtub one day.

I knew the hotel is far away from Seminayk when I booked it. But with the worsening traffic condition in Bali, it took almost two hours to get into Seminayk.

I'd think twice if you are considering compromising convenience with price. It's actually not very value for money given the poor quality.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolGoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renton, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2012

When you think of Bali, you think of beaches, beautiful sunsets and swimming in the ocean. The hotel is over a KM from the beach, 30 minute cab ride away from any town or site-seeing and the only other restaurant close the hotel is at the golf course. The other reviewers are correct - if all you are looking to do is sit by the pool and play golf, this is the place for you! If you are interested in enjoying Bali, then it's just too remote.

The first 3 days of our stay, I believe we saw just 3 other guests there. Very eery!

Our room was large, clean and bright. The shower leaked badly enough that the floors were warped and creaked (they were pergo). The restaurant had only a few dinner and lunch choices.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. Most spoke English.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barry o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pecatu
0.9 mi away
Lexington Klapa Resort
Lexington Klapa Resort
#5 of 10 in Pecatu
53 reviews
2.8 mi away
The edge
The edge
#1 of 10 in Pecatu
127 reviews
0.7 mi away
New Kuta Hotel
New Kuta Hotel
#8 of 10 in Pecatu
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Suarga Padang Padang
Suarga Padang Padang
#4 of 7 in Uluwatu
209 reviews
1.3 mi away
S Resorts Hidden Valley Bali
1.1 mi away
Sal Secret Spot
Sal Secret Spot
#6 of 7 in Uluwatu
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Grande Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Grande Bali

Property: Le Grande Bali
Address: Block 5 - Pecatu Indah Resort | Jalan Raya Uluwatu, Pecatu 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Nusa Dua Peninsula > Pecatu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Pecatu
#2 Spa Hotel in Pecatu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Pecatu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Le Grande Bali 4.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Grande - Bali, nestled in the heart of the New Kuta Golf Course, within the Pecatu Indah Resort complex is a retreat offering a full spectrum of services that provide everything from tranquility to rejuvenation. This remarkable hotel redefines efficient service with a gracious attitude that ensures a truly unforgettable experience.Pecatu located at the south western coast of Bali is known for the famous Uluwatu temple & the Dreamland beach. Located 15.5 km from Ngurah Rai International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Orbitz, ACCOR, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Grande Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Grande Hotel Pecatu
Le Grande Bali Pecatu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing