We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Argentina Feb 2012”
Review of Solar del Tropico

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Solar del Tropico
Ranked #1 of 1 Huacalera B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
France
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Argentina Feb 2012”
Reviewed March 6, 2012

Excellent recommendation from our hotel in Salta to stay here! Friendly hosts and great food. Beautiful garden. Road a bit rough (better with 4x4) but good signs.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    23
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
56
87
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Solar del Tropico is sublime. First, the location is incredibly peaceful. I have never seen the Milky Way in such clarity. The surrounding mountains inspire awe. The accommodations are spotless, comfortable and beautifully decorated artistically in a way that fits the desert setting. It was all done by artist Remy. They were quick to fire up the wood-burning stoves whenever we were in the common area and, of course, our room. The food was excellent. Breakfasts were basic Argentine (breads, homemade jams and coffee/tea/cocoa). Stay for dinner. Remy's cooking is wonderful... and such a nice break from steak and empanadas. We ate there all three nights, and were glad we did.

The hotel has four rooms, as it happened, we were the only ones there. We have two kids (8 and 5) and they were welcomed graciously. Remi and Analia were very helpful, giving us a "special potion" for our trip to the high altitudes of the Salinas Grandes.

We speak some Spanish, this was helpful. Also, a car is a necessity (4X4 is not).

Of note: there is no wifi, though you can connect with Analia's USB cellular modem. Expect slow email connectivity at best. This is a blessing in disguise, given the location.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brentdg2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heinsberg, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed June 19, 2011

Solar del Tropico is a small hotel managed by the owners which prepare a wonderfull dinner in the evenig with organic vegetables from the own finca. The rooms with private bathroom are located around a small patio with view of the surrounding mountains. There is also a well designed room for relaxing, breakfast and dinner. Everything is clean and comfortable. In case of cold nights the rooms are heated by wood stoves. The drive from the main road leads through a normaly dry river and is well marked by signs. We can advise the hotel to everybody who wants to visit the Quebrada Humahuaca.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chico83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2011

I spent 5 days at the Solar del Tropico with a friend in the end of May.
We were delighted by this stay at every level.

The place is magic and aspires to the peace (moreover, it’s eco-friendly).
The owners are a couple of artists : he is a painter and she is a photographer. The welcome was warm and personalized.

The cooking of Remy is delicious, moreover all the meals were taken together with Analia and Remy, and we passed of excellent moments together to talk ; and we learned a lot about this magnificent region.

Excellent stopping-off point to visit Jujuy, Humahuaca and its quebrada, Tilcara, Salina Grande, Purmamarca, Iruya, Yavi, Uquia, as well as the Bolivian border.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2011

We came here to stay for a couple of days, but changed our mind and left after two nights. The reason was poor/unfriendly service and we didn't feel welcome at all. The place is very well located (nice views, but dirty garden full of dog pooh) and the rooms are nice (with cosy wood oven). However, the owners were really unfriendly and we didn't feel at all the Argentine hospitality that we experienced in many other places. Food was ok, but we had to go to the kitchen to ask for everything. We were the only guests at that time, but they didn't seem to care at all about their guest.
And don't come here if you don't speak french...

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wa2_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solardeltropico, Propriétaire at Solar del Tropico, responded to this review, August 3, 2011
We do not understand this client. We worked as always we do, trying to achieve our goals offering a good service: comfortable rooms, steam, cleaning, silence to rest, good food. We were as always sociable but the barrier of the language (we do not speak German) made impossible for us to share with him, but yes we did with his wife that can speak French.
Let‘s answer each point of the critic:
First of all these clients weren’t alone. We had other clients at the same time that left us happy and satisfied.
These clients stayed two nights. The first night we sited with all the guests to have dinner altogether, that is exceptional because we cannot do it every time. That night we spoke French, as language spoken by the majority of the clients, we couldn’t choose a different one. We could have spoken in Spanish, our English is really basic and we do not speak German.
The following night we left them to have their privacy having dinner alone as we normally do.
The clients arrived to stay just two nights because they had to bring back the car they rented in Salta.
That client complains because he had to stand up to ask us something in the kitchen (that is just 3 meters far from the table); El Solar del Tropico is not a 5 stars hotel where a waiter is supposed to be always stand near the customers during dinner or breakfast .
El Solar del Tropico is a farm house in a field of 3 hectares ; it is an open space, in a rural area and if the client found a dog pooh, he could have informed us, we would have cleaned immediately.
We are sorry for all the negative staffs he could found in the Solar del Tropico and we do not understand that he judges us directly as persons.
That critic surprised us because the wife thanked us for the service and congratulated Remy for his food before leaving.
We do not dude our vocation and our happiness to share with a lot of people our Little Paradise of art, nature and quietness.
We are passionate people and we don’t dude changing our profession once that we get tired to host guests in our house.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 21, 2010

This is a very clean and friendly house to stay and relax. I will come back but than for holidays and calm down

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank han-solo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2010

For a number of reasons we were not amused by our stay here.
First our arrival. The owner 'forgot' to mention that the road had been smashed away by the river (Rio Grande) a month earlier. We could only go there via a track which was actually only suited for a 4x4. Finding the place was a crime. Remy should have warned us for this since we only drove a light hired vehicle. Second the owner totally misinformed us about acute mountainsickness (AMS), since the hostel is located at 2700 meter they should be better aware of this potential danger and have more knowlegde about it. Fortunately we took our own resposibility and left for lower grounds before things got worse (fever and short of breath during rest ARE life-threatening symptoms) . Since they also perform horseback-trails to even higher grounds you would certainly expect a guide to be familiar with these symptoms.
In my opinion Remy failed as a good hotelier here.

The rooms itsself are clean, and the Beds are good. However there is no WIFI unless the owner lends you his own internet-dongle which is a bit of a hassle of course.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank knuppieknup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solardeltropico, Propietario at Solar del Tropico, responded to this review, August 21, 2010
In Argentina not all the streets have pavement, before and after these people we had tourists arriving to Solar del Tropico by the same way without conveniences (rocky road of 1 km long aprox). They had rented cars or of their own, none of these were 4X4.
Some people suffer mountainsickness (AMS) others don’t because it’s a physiological issue. We are aware of the symptoms he had: headache, stomachache, but these are not life-threatening. If we considered he was having serious symptoms (nose bleeding, strong palpitations, arrhythmia that generally occur at 4000m of height) we would have drove him immediately to the hospital ourselves.
His adapting problem to altitude doesn’t imply that Rémy was a bad guide or hotelier.
In our opinion this person overreacted and we are sorry for him that fear didn’t allow him enjoy Quebrada de Humahuaca!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huacalera
9.4 mi away
Las Marias Hotel Boutique
9.2 mi away
Las Terrazas Hotel Boutique
9.5 mi away
Posada Con Los Angeles
Posada Con Los Angeles
#7 of 15 in Tilcara
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
El Reposo del Diablo
El Reposo del Diablo
#5 of 15 in Tilcara
249 reviews
8.2 mi away
Cerro Chico
Cerro Chico
#2 of 15 in Tilcara
357 reviews
9.6 mi away
Patio Alto
Patio Alto
#3 of 15 in Tilcara
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solar del Tropico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solar del Tropico

Property: Solar del Tropico
Address: Villa las Rosas | Huacalera frente al monumento al tropico, Huacalera, Tilcara 4624, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Northern Argentina > Province of Jujuy > Tilcara > Huacalera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Huacalera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Solar del TropicoAn Artistic Country House We are located near the village of Huacalera, opposite to the monument of the Tropic of Capricorn. Our proposal is to offer you tranquillity in a beautiful artistic place full of nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Solar del Tropico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing