We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Playa Potrero
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 15, 2007

It was an ok hotel. Nothing exciting. It was in close proximity to the beach which is an ok beach. A one liter of diet coke was $3. The room furnishings appear outdated. The swimming pool is very large. The front desk staff were mostly very helpful. Some staff members do not speak English but most speak at least some English. There are no shops or restaurants in walking distance however the hotel has a restaurant. The "free" breakfast is the same every day which is fruit, eggs, toast, rice/beans, and juice. There is air conditioning, a frig, and a TV in the room. Laundry service available.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank onconrse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (814)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

645 - 651 of 814 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2007

My family (wife and two small children) just returned from a three night stay here.

First my conclusion: All things considered, I'd pass on this hotel. The hotel is fairly nice looking, but when you couple the lousy beach and remote location with staff that outright lie to you, you can do better for cheaper in the Nicoya Peninsula.

Now the details:
Location and surroundings: The hotel is situated at the end of a fairly long drive, which finishes with about 2.5 km over a dirt road, which is not the worst I've seen in Costa Rica, but pretty bad. The beach, Playa Portero, is nothing special. It's actually a better bay than a beach, with a lot of yachts anchored in the southern part of the bay. The beach is black (ie: full of iron), which makes it hotter than white sand beaches, and more akin to mud than to sand. There are no waves of any significance, just a little two foot break that collapses immediately - this was actually okay for us as we have two small children that don't like big waves. Put bluntly: the beach is more of a mud flat than a beach. There is a restaurant across the dirt street from the hotel - not much else is around though. If you have a car, it's a 2.5 km trip on the dirt road to get to anything else. About 5-6 km total to get to the local town of Brasilito (I think it's called) where there are some bars and restaurants.

The hotel: The hotel is nice. The room we stayed in (a suite - they bumped us to a better room after our original reservation for a deluxe standard couldn't be met due to a maintenance issue) was clean and fairly well decorated. It had a nice ambiance. It looks like none of the rooms has a clear view of the ocean. That's reserved for the restaurant and pool. The pool was nice - clean and not overly treated with chemicals (as we've experienced in other hotels in Costa Rica) The jacuzzi wasn't heated. Sadly, our room also had no hot water. The water in our room would be hot for about 20 seconds and then go to luke-warm. We told the front desk, which quickly dispatched a repairman to fix our water heater. We returned later in the afternoon, but still didn't have hot water. A different front desk employee then told us that none of the rooms in the hotel have hot water tanks that last longer than the 20-30 seconds. This seemed very unlikely, given that a repairman had just spent a couple hours trying to fix our system - which wasn't a hot water tank but rather an on-demand system. So... either this hotel doesn't have hot water in its rooms (which was our experience during our three days there), or the front desk staff lie to guests (which I also believe was our experience).

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank CRXpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2007

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights in mid March 2007. The hotel itself is small, clean and not overly impressive. The room we stayed in was large and well air conditioned. The room had a small kitchen and a deck with a large seating area. The bathroom left something to be desired. Also, watch out for the monkey that lives in the trees around the hotel. We saw him a couple of times, once on our balcony.

The hotel's beach is average, but is deserted and almost empty (we even saw a group of cows hanging out on the beach). The best beach we visited was "Playa Conchal" or the "shell beach."

If you come to this part of Costa Rica, don't expect much infrastructure. The roads are largely unpaved and the Liberia airport is not even fully enclosed. However, if you are looking for an adventure, this is the place for you! Zip lines are a must. I'd also recommend that you rent a small 4x4 if you are brave and you are willing to have some adventures on the unpaved Costa Rica roads. Once we had to ford a small creek!

Overall, the northern Pacific coast of Costa Rica was nice, largely unspoiled, and reasonably affordable.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank JBond214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2006

We got a great price on this hotel, and I was a little worried about how it would be. It turned out to be very nice. It was right on the beach and felt very exotic. The pool and hot tub were great. The staff was very friendly. The room was clean and adequate. The restaurant was good, although it did not offer a lot of variety.

The hotel is on a bad road, and there is not much nearby. We booked tours, and a few of the drivers had trouble finding it. It was also hard to walk around outside of the hotel at night because of the lack of light.

Overall, it was a good value and a nice stay.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank friscocat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2006

We didn't stay at this hotel, but did have dinner - the worst of our stay in Costa Rica. The waiter said up front that the management had changed so many of the menu items were not available. After finding our fourth wine choice was out of stock, one of our guests went to pick out what was still available. Tasted like kerosene. The service was mediocre and the food was worse. Il Castillo across the street is a much better choice.

Stayed: November 2006
1  Thank SuperSpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2006

We stayed a week at the hotel. First thought when we arrived was: " This is remote" , but as soon as we got to know the area it was very nice. The manager of Bahia del Sol Johnny was very attentive. He went out of his way to make our stay as pleasant as possible. He also gave us advice on what the excursions were about. In appr. 30 minutes you walk to Flamingo Beach. The first village of meaning in regard of shops is Tamarindo ( 30 minutes drive). We went to Santa Rosa Parque National which was very nice , great guide named Larry. We booked this one through the hotel. We also went horse riding on the beach ( also booked at the hotel). Very considered when it came to our 7 year old.
The restaurant at Bahia is a bit expensive but very good.
If you want more budget try Pleamar or Marco Polo.
Rooms at Bahia are colorfull and well equiped and confinient at the pool.
Bahia del Sol is a good choice and a good location if you want to experience the authentic Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank dutchgirl06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2006

This was my second stay. I came in February with a friend - and I arrived again in August with my family. All of us enjoyed our stay (both times).

There are some things that might be more up to an experienced travellers liking - on the other hand that goes for all of Costa Rica. But that is some of the charm here - nothing is quite "finished". If you are looking for streamline touristic life - go somewhere else - don't even bother to visit CR. If you think "pura vida" suits you just fine (like it being almost an hour to the nearest gas station) then you must come! There are tons of things to do, one of them being to scratch your mosquito bites.

The main thing however is to see the positive things here - the beach almost untouched, except for some cows passing occasionally. The proximity to wild life. The good swim in the ocean - and maybe you can catch a fish. And the extreme variety of activities altogether in the area.

Altogether - staying at Bahia del Sol will give you a great opportunity to get into real "Pura Vida" mood. The staff is friendly (but forgetful), the rooms are more than adequate and the Ticos will in general fullfil your wishes if you are polite and patient.

We are still living in the area (not at the hotel now) - and when my husband got his keys locked inside the car a friendly Tico offered to call for help. He just had to finish his coffee first :-) If you're not up to this kind of flegma - forget about coming here.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Ildri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Potrero
2 mi away
Sugar Beach Hotel
Sugar Beach Hotel
#2 of 5 in Playa Potrero
421 reviews
3.9 mi away
Reserva Conchal Beach Resort, Golf & Spa
11.1 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#11 of 24 in Tamarindo
2,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
15.4 mi away
Andaz Costa Rica Resort At Peninsula Papagayo
Andaz Costa Rica Resort At Penin...
#1 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,716 reviews
4 mi away
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal - An All-Inclusive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel

Address: North Of the Flamingo Junction 2 km, Playa Potrero 50101, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Potrero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Playa Potrero
Price Range: $155 - $418 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bahia del Sol is located in Potrero Beach, a beautiful beach of warm tranquil waters on the Pacific Coast of Guanacaste. The Hotel offers the guests the quality of a 4 Star Beach Hotel with all the comforts, including Pool, Jacuzzi, and a Spa, framed in an impressive setting that includes tropical artistic gardens with centennial trees, a Tropical Garden with Native & Exotic plants , and an extensive beach front. The location is perfect for soaking in breathtaking views of the tranquil Potrero Bay, romantic long walks on the golden sands, basking in the rich sun and watching the spectacular sunsets of the Pacific Coast. With miles of uncrowded beaches, stunning coves and undiscovered inlets, Costa Rica's natural environment speaks to your soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Hotel And Suites
Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Hotel Playa Potrero
Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel Costa Rica/Playa Potrero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing