We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Playa Potrero
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Ogden
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
“A perfect vacation”
Reviewed May 17, 2010

We were very pleased with our accommodations and thrilled with the level of professionalism and friendliness of the entire staff. We made good use of the beach, pool grounds, pool bar and restaurant and every experience was a great one. They paid attention to our every needs and wants. and we never felt rushed or intruded upon. The food at the hotel restaurant was great and the atmosphere wonderful.
The grounds are well kept with tons of foliage and sitings of iguanas and monkeys.

We discovered the Witches Rock Canopy tour on our own and it was a fun experience. the staff was friendly and paid a high degree to safety.

We rented a car which was a great way to explore on our own including heading to Tamarindo & renting surf boards and boogie boards for a more active day in the water.

The Bahia Del Sol staff booked our sunset cruise and it was an absolute perfect last day for us and I would HIGHLY recommend the crew of the Mantaray for a high class experience. They treated us like royalty, they have an amazing snorkle guide who showed us tons of sea creatures. The food & Drinks were terrific and the crew was top notch.
We look forward to a return visit!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mparsonsut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    474
    210
    48
    16
    17
See reviews for
257
342
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
hamburg
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2010

the hotel is literally located on the beach with perfect views, excellent beach very suitable for small kids (shallow, so adults have to walk a bit before they can start the swimming exercise) and the hotel rooms (=suites) are spacious and well equipped. Restaurant under current chef has picked up and offers quite a high quality. I have stayed there many times and was never disappointed (nor was my mother who is "picky" and easily finds something to kvetch about.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cand0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2010

Bahia Del Sol was spectacular ... from our research it seemed to be a great place and our local wedding planner (Marjua) visited it in advance and sent us pictures as well as helping us work with Roxanna the Hotels event planner. Everyone at Hotel Bahia del Sol was incredibly helpful and went out of their way to make sure we had the wedding of our dreams ... and we did not even book our rooms at Bahia del Sol ... we were staying down the Road on Playa Flaming. This is a truly beautiful wedding location!!! We had 16 people and it almost felt like we had the entire resort to ourselves and they were at full capacity. The beach was secluded, the water was warm, the sunsets gorgeous, the grounds are immaculate, the staff is friendly & helpful, and the food was very good. Please do not hesitate to contact us if you have any questions or we can direct you to pictures we have :o)

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OutdoorsCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2010

The Bahia Del Sol was the perfect wedding location!!! We had about 40 guest and it felt like we had the entire resort to ourselves. The beach was secluded, the water was warm, and cleaner than we expected. Sylvia, our wedding planner from Costa Rica Paradise Wedding, was AMAZING!!! She took care of everything and really made our wedding vision a reality. We highly recommend her if you're looking for a wedding planner in Costa Rica.

The food at our wedding was impeccable and mouth watering. We also ate at the hotel restaurant and it did not disappoint. The surrounding hotels were delicious too. We loved going to the Shack for breakfast. Great food, fresh fruit juices, price, and service. A must try is the pizza and seafood pasta at the El Castillo.

The service at the hotel was great. We did encounter a problem with missing money. The hotel took care of it right away and reimbursed the money which really surprised us. Please keep in mind the hotel isn't located in a touristy area, but Tamarindo is only a 20 min. drive. Always book your excursion through the hotel or wedding planner. We had to learn the hard way. I know it's cheaper to book through some guys on the beach, but most aren't properly licensed. A must do is the adventure pack with the zip-lining and white water tubing.

The best part of the hotel for some of our guest was the free wi-fi in all our rooms! Overall, we loved the resort and we def. come back :)

  • Stayed January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilive2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California
1 review
Reviewed February 19, 2010

My husband and I had never been to Costa Rica and decided to get married there. We wanted a resort that was secluded, on the beach and small enough for us to reserve almost the entire resort for our guest. We had about 70 guest and we reserved almost the entire resort. All while maintaining the cultural of Costa Rica and not having a resort that was Americanized. We were a little nervous to see what the resort and staff would be like. WOW! The resort is absolutely gorgeous and the staff is amazing. We've traveled many places in the world but nothing will compare to Costa Rica and the staff at Bahia Del Sol. The staff was extremely friendly, helpful and fun to hang out with. Maik, Vanessa and Roxanna were awesome! We have nothing but good things to say about them and the resort! The rooms are very clean and the air conditioners work very well. We loved the swim up bar and the bar service. The food is to die for at the resort restaurant. If you don’t want a sit down meal, you could order at the bar and eat there or in the pool at the swim up bar. But all of this could not have happened without our wedding coordinator, Sylvia with Costa Rica Paradise Wedding. Sylvia was heaven sent. She was very easy to work with, knew exactly how to get us what we wanted for a fair price. She worked great with the staff at Bahia Del Sol. We felt that Sylvia and Roxanna were out to give us the wedding of a life time and they made it more perfect than we could have wanted. We have no complaints about Costa Rica Wedding Paradise and Bahia Del Sol. We do have a few recommendations as far as places to eat and things to do. Sylvia recommended Camron Delrado for our rehearsal dinner and it worked out perfect. It is beach front sitting and the food was amazing. There are a few different little restaurants along the main road of which Bahia Del Sol is on. One of our favorites was Castillo's. They had great food and were very good to us. Our favorite excursion was the canopy tours! We did the half day tour and that was plenty of time to zip line for a reasonable amount of money. We could go on and on about our experience, but don’t want to make our review too long. Please do not hesitate to contact us with any questions or concerns. We will be happy to share more information, tips and pictures with you. Email: roseamgthrns8@hotmail.com

  • Stayed January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roseamgthrns8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed February 2, 2010

Our daughter and son-in-law got married at the Bahia Del Sol - and we loved it! The location on the beach was perfect, the rooms were clean, the food was excellent, and the staff was helpful and friendly. Roxana, our "Wedding Coordinator", could not have been more helpful or professional. We would go back for another vacation any time!!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judescot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 24, 2010

We love this place! My (now) husband & I had planned our wedding almost a year in advance for a November 27, 2009 date. And it was perfect! I am a type-A perfectionist and was nervous to plan a 40-guest (9 being kids) wedding, where most the guests would be staying the whole a week, without actually seeing the place first. We were not let down! It was awesome! We used a wedding-planning company (Tropical Occasions) & our planner (Brynn) did a fabulous job. Roxana (the Bahia on-site coordinator) was also amazing! She was friendly, helpful, & a hard-worker!! She was fantastic! The whole staff was. The beach is safe & secluded. Initially, we were nervous the dark-sands beach wouldn't be as aesthetically pleasing, but it was the last thing we noticed. The grounds were maintained to perfection & the hotel staff worked hard to ensure it stayed that way. We stayed in the King Sun Suite- it rocked! It is the only room with a beach-view & a nice porch overlooking the lawn/beach. The pool was clean & beautiful. The food is incredible, but on the pricier side. Some may see it as a downfall, others a benefit, but there is not much around the resort. There are only a few place to get food close by, but more options in the towns of Potrero (a 20-30 min walk on the beach) or Flamingo (a 30 min+ beach walk in the opposite direction). Coming home at night on the beach is not recommended & it gets really dark. In general, all our guests felt completely safe at Bahia. Regarding restaurants, El Castillo (across the street is low-key with good food & a small bakery), Mar y Sol (in Flamingo is fantastic), and Camarons Durado (a good 10 min drive up the way is a great beach-front restaurant). I'd recommend having a car or shuttle (for larger groups) as there in not much to do close by (other than relax). Surfing is at least 30 min+ up the way at either Playa Flamingo or Tamarindo. The ocean in front of the hotel is safe & good for kids as there are small wave. There are tons of activities to do but they are all a drive away. The resort can arrange any of them for you & they also have a shuttle service but the cost can add up. Regarding our activities at the resort, we had a beach BBQ with volleyball the night before, on the wedding day we had an amazing sunset ceremony, fantastic (I mean fantastic) food, a reggae band, dancing, & the next morning a breakfast brunch. Everything was perfect!!! If you're into relaxing without the hustle & bustle of a town, with great food, wonderful staff, and beautiful grounds, this is your place!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EKRColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Potrero
15.4 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,544 reviews
11.1 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#12 of 22 in Tamarindo
2,452 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sugar Beach Hotel
Sugar Beach Hotel
#2 of 5 in Playa Potrero
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa
Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa
#1 of 7 in Playa Flamingo
2,063 reviews
14.8 mi away
JW Marriott Guanacaste Resort & Spa
4.0 mi away
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel

Property: Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel
Address: North Of the Flamingo Junction 2 km, Playa Potrero 50101, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Potrero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Playa Potrero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bahia del Sol is located in Potrero Beach, a beautiful beach of warm tranquil waters on the Pacific Coast of Guanacaste. The Hotel offers the guests the quality of a 4 Star Beach Hotel with all the comforts, including Pool, Jacuzzi, and a Spa, framed in an impressive setting that includes tropical artistic gardens with centennial trees, a Tropical Garden with Native & Exotic plants , and an extensive beach front. The location is perfect for soaking in breathtaking views of the tranquil Potrero Bay, romantic long walks on the golden sands, basking in the rich sun and watching the spectacular sunsets of the Pacific Coast.
With miles of uncrowded beaches, stunning coves and undiscovered inlets, Costa Rica's natural environment speaks to your soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Hotel And Suites
Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Hotel Playa Potrero
Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel Costa Rica/Playa Potrero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing