We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (907)
Filter reviews
907 results
Traveler rating
568
251
52
17
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
568
251
52
17
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswim up barcosta ricahappy hourdark sandstandard roomgrounds are beautifultravel agentbreakfast was includedsmall resortwet barbedroom suitelounge chairsspent nightsthe entire staffnight lifegreat restaurantlow key
Filter
Updating list...
408 - 413 of 907 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Staff is wonderful. Very pleased with accommodations. Loved the enclosed patio with outdoor jacuzzi and shower. Romantic strolls on the beach and restful siestas. There's a little touch of luxury here and enjoyed the outdoor dinning every night. Small but inviting pool was truly refreshing. There isn't much in town but this small hotel is worth getting away to if you want to beat the crowds at other Costa Rica beaches. Of course, you have views of fabulous sunsets.

Room Tip: Lush gardens around pool area rooms give great sense of privacy.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaroleNK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hbs B, Manager at Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2014

Dear CaroleNK,

We are delighted for the praises towards our staff, we really have a great family that works together to provide high quality to our guests. Glad you were very pleased with accommodations. From the description you had or our deluxe suite or our king sun suite that has the enclosed patio where you can relax take the sun or Look at the stars with full privacy, tub and outside shower. Bahia is a very romantic hotel, we put attention to details and we have plenty of space to chill relax and enjoy the natural and open environment.

The mood changes during the evening and gets elegant and NASU offers fine dining for our guests and visitors. During the day time, the swimming pool, wet bar and beach just in front makes it a relaxed and laid-back atmosphere. Potrero is a private safe town, perfect to get away for crowds as mentioned. Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience!!

Warm regards,

Victoria Bonilla
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

From the first Hello after 5 hours drive, cool drinks cold towels the only thing missing was a hug(-:
Small hotel with a big heart!!!!! Rooms are clean and comfortable, loved the hamook in front of each, and the short walk to the beach, hardly no people which makes it so nice and quiet.
Go down the beach for launch or dinner at something ....Beach restaurant, Carmin is wonderful,
Their new location Tiki(don't bother)
$30.00 cab ride by William (ask the front gate) to Tamarindo beach, many little shops great restaurants, and surfers lots going on there, William will come back to get you.
Come back and be happy you stay at the "gem", coffee in the morning is wonderful on the beach
At 7am, breakfast has great options you order from a manu all good, (more than what I have at home) all and all great set up and not much$$$$ with a golden heart!

Room Tip: You could not go wrong, ours were 107, 109 which were on the ground level, get out of bed grab coffee 60 steps you are in the water!
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank dldiamante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hbs B, Manager at Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Dear dldiamante,

First impression is super important, joyful we made the right one with you, part of the check in is to be greeted with a big smile, cool drink and fresh towel with aromatherapy. Yes, we have a huge heart; we are a big family that takes customer service to heart. Glad your room was clean and comfortable, they way you deserve it; the hammocks are always very well received here. Potrero beach is quiet, peaceful and safe, ideal to do walks swims and of course enjoys the sunset. We offer taxis to Tamarindo, very trust worthy taxis that will do the round trip for you with pleasure. Breakfast at NASU Restaurant is great, just in front of the beach and is included on your rate. Cannot thank you enough for your comment, we really try our best and put soul on what we do…. Is all worth it when we have clients such as yourself.

Warm regards,

Victoria Bonilla
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Our family of 4 had a fantastic three night stay. This is an ideal place to relax by the pool and beach. Beautiful grounds and attentive staff. Our 2 bedroom suite was spacious and comfortable. The included breakfast was excellent, and we enjoyed dinner at the restaurant as well. There are a few dining options within easy walking distance as well. Flamingo, Brasilito, and Tamarindo are close by for more dining and shopping choices. Getting to the hotel is pretty easy, and they just recently paved the road right all the way to the hotel.

Room Tip: If getting a suite, the 2nd floor rooms are preferable for their private patios.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hbs B, Manager at Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Dear Eric H,

So happy to read that you and your family had a fantastic stay with us! We agree completely, this is the ideal place to relax by the pool, beach or garden area. Grounds are green, luxuriant and our staff is always trying their best for our guests. The two bedroom suite are perfect for families, you have a big living area with sofas and a flat screen TV, dining area with big table, breakfast counter a full equipped kitchen, two separate bedrooms with bathrooms and AC´s.

NASU Restaurant is proud to deliver breakfast (included on the rate), lunch and dinner, excited that your breakfast was excellent and that you had the opportunity to have dinner with us as well. Potrero is still a bit secluded but in 5 minutes you are in Flamingo ( you can even go walking), 15 minutes in Tamarindo for more options of everything, front desk has great pointers of restaurants, beaches and plenty more. It is pretty easy to get to our hotel, we have signs all over the high way and the paved road makes a huge difference. Thank you very much for your comment, we appreciate your visit and review a lot.

Be well,

Victoria Bonilla
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

Thank you, Bahia Del Sol! Our family of 5 had a memorable and happy stay at your resort. Our three little boys can't wait to come back and order 7-up at the swim up bar. Each and every employee had a smile and took the best care of us. The beach is absolutely stunning! Pura Vida!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crystalbrown1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hbs B, Manager at Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Dear Crystalbrown1,

Thank YOU for your recent visit and for sharing your experience. Bahia del Sol is also perfect for families very pleased that you and your family glad a memorable and happy stay with us. We remember pretty well your boys; those cuties were very popular during your stay. Staff is always ready to serve with a smile, pura vida style  Potrero Beach is a safe bay to swim in and also provides just in front of the hotel breath taking sunsets.

Best regards,

Victoria Bonilla
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

What a lovely place this is. A quiet, off the beaten track, small hotel which offered everything we wanted. An oasis of peace and quiet right on the virtually deserted beach. It was a lovely few days relaxation at the end of a tour of this beautiful country. We loved every minute of it all and this hotel was perfect. The room was comfortable and yes there were a few ants around the shower area, but what do you expect when you are open to the elements. We enjoyed being able to leave the patio doors open and just have the screens shut at night. The food was good, nice choice and all freshly cooked. The pool was lovely and we enjoyed being able to stay in the pool until quite late and enjoy a cocktail under the stars. All the staff were friendly and helpful. The sunset from the beach was just beautiful. Plenty of sunbeds in the gardens so it was always possible to find a spot for sun or shade as you wanted. We were sorry to leave.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hbs B, Manager at Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Dear Susan T,

We do have a hidden gem; we are actually the only hotel in the coast of Playa Potrero. This is a quiet, small boutique hotel, you describes us to perfection by saying we are “An oasis of peace and quiet right on the virtually deserted beach”. Bahia del Sol is the perfect place to relax and disconnect from the world. Thank you so much for your kind words, super happy that you loved every minute of it and we feel honored that you founded our hotel as perfect. This was definitely the right choice for you, glad you encountered your room comfortable, we appreciate your understanding the fact that we are in a place open and full of nature, so ants sometimes can be around, we can take care of them in a safe way. We have a very safe hotel with security 24/7 and also the area is tranquil, great thing you felt relaxed. Cheerful food at NASU Restaurant was good and fresh.

Our pool and the wet bar are one of the favorite spots for our guests, especially during happy hour form 5:30 p.m. until 7 p.m. the night time is amazing how many stars you can see, since there is not much around us you can really see in a non cloudy evening all the stars. The highlight of the day is the sunset, every day gorgeous. This is all nothing without a great staff, attentive, friendly and genuine. We were sorry to see you guys leave!! You can always come back to your home away from home 

Pura vida,

Victoria Bonilla
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews