We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful oceanside hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Playa Potrero
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Gill, Massachusetts
1 review
“Beautiful oceanside hotel”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

We spent 4 days at Bahia del Sol for a family wedding. The staff was fantastic. Everyone went out of their way for us. The grounds are lovely and beautifully maintained. Rooms were nice - but a bit "tired". All in all a great spot and a great value. I'd recommend staying here and hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAM1209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hbs B, Manager at Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear JAM1209,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience. Weddings are truly important for us, we know you come a long way to have a special event such a as a weeding and we truly put our souls to provide only the best to all of our guests. Overjoyed that you found our staff fantastic; thank you for noticing that we went out of our way to satisfy your needs. We also hope that you can come back in the future; we will be waiting open arms.

Yours sincerely,

Victoria Bonilla
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    470
    208
    48
    16
    17
See reviews for
254
340
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 6, 2014

My friend and I spent a week traveling through the beautiful country of Costa Rica. We ended up in Playa Potrero and stumbled upon Bahia del Sol. It was the best part of my trip. The rooms are outstanding and the views amazing. The garden and pool area are beautiful. I could of spent my entire week here. The best part of this place are the people that work there. The service was impeciable. I can't say enough about this place. I highly recommend you get there as fast as you can and prepare to relax and enjoy the beauty that Bahia Del Sol has to offer!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Taylor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hbs B, Manager at Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Taylor S

Good thing you stumbled upon our beautiful boutique hotel, Playa Potrero is a hidden gem. Excited that this was the best part of your trip! We are privileged to be in front of the sea, to have a lush garden but most important to have such a great and solid team work. We are dedicated to our clients and committed to provide the best to our guests. Thank you so much for your recommendation, this is your home away from home in Guanacaste.

Pura vida,

Victoria Bonilla
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

The amazing views in every direction are enough to break you out of the everyday cycle. The gardens are stunning and the open layout is refreshing. The staff is friendly and helpful. The amount of lounge chairs for guests is plentiful. Art is colorful and simple but eye catching. The rooms are nice for Costa Rica. The tile is older and the American luxury is not present but you are not left without. The complementary breakfasts are plentiful. Starting with juice and coffee, then toast with butter and Hybiscus jam and banana bread onto a selection of items included with the price of the room. Our groups favorite, Traditional Costa Rican breakfast with rice, beans, eggs and cheese. The Huevos rancheros or traditional american breakfast were popular too. The swim up bar manned by Eduardo who knows you by name and is ever so accommodating was a joy. I must say the food was not amazing but several people swore that the Tuna Tartar was to die for. The resort offers Costa Rican fair and some worldly cuisine to meet the needs of it's guests. There are plenty of American dishes if you want to stay conservative. However, the prices are also American. Costa Rica offers a great dish of food for about $6 and the American dishes are 2 to 3 times that. If possible, go to the nearby restaurants for local cheaper fair. Would definitely recommend it if someone is not on a budget. In the area, the rooms were much higher here but then again, you are paying for the beach which is about 50 steps from several of there rooms. Listening to the powerful waves crash on the shore at night will erase most people's worries away in a hot (and I do mean hot!) flash.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mebyename
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hbs B, Manager at Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Mebyename,

Thank you very much for your comment. This is definitely the place to break the cycle, routine and just relaxes with the nature. Our garden is one of the best features, the heart of this hotel, full of green and life. Thrilled to the praises towards our staff, it is always a great pleasure to assist and help our guests. NASU Restaurant offers the included breakfast on the rate, very happy you enjoyed that. Eduardo our bartender is a joy couldn't agree more! Always eager to serve specially in happy hour ;)

The tuna tartar id a must in our Restaurant, fresh with a touch of mango and avocado. Our first choice for food is our Restaurant, being said that as you are mentioning you can find other choices as well, just be aware that they have all the sanitary permissions. Other attractive feature is to be just in front of the ocean as you are mentioning. We appreciate very much your visit; hope to have you back in a near future.

Warm regards,

Victoria Bonilla
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

A good place to wind down after your trip around costa rica.
We were a little disappointed in the beach which had a lot of rubbish and dog faeces in evidence. Not surprising considering the number of stray dogs running wild up and down the beach. The sea was a little too rough to venture in whilst we were there in December.
Our room was lovely - no trouble upgrading to a suite with two bedrooms when they tried to give my friend and I one bedroom with a large double bed. We're friends but not that friendly.
The pool area was lovely. The food in the restaurant was OK but not great. Service was good though. We enjoyed cocktails at the friendly bar.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolparkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hbs B, Manager at Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear carolparkin,

Great that you where able to have a relaxing stay with us and thank you for sharing your experience. Normally the sea is pretty calm but when we are having fool moon the tide gets a bit rough. Glad you appreciate the up grade to a two bedroom suite; our pool is definitely lovely, happy you thought our service is good. You cannot miss a cocktail while you are staying with us, specially by sunset time!

Be well,

Victoria Bonilla
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 27, 2014

The landscape of this hotel is beautiful. The garden is so close to the beach that the sound of waves is relaxing. Service is superb. Rooms are fine. Food was very good. Cocktails at the bar were really wonderful enjoying the atmosphere and nice climate

Room Tip: Larger rooms are in the second floor. Good size and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Daddy54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hbs B, Manager at Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Daddy54,

Thank you so much for your comment. We do have a beautiful landscape; the best assets of this hotel are the proximity to the ocean, the luxuriant garden and our staff. We take very seriously our mission with our guests and focused to provide the best possible service to our guests. A cocktail is a must during your stay at Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel, especially around happy hour (5:30 until 7:00 p.m.) half prices in most of our cocktails. Blissful you enjoyed the atmosphere and the summer climate. Come back anytime!

Sincerely yours,

Victoria Bonilla
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

We stayed at the Bahia del Sol for 4 nights. It is a beautiful hotel with a great staff. The rooms are good with great AC. We wished the available seating in the room and on the balcony were more comfortable, but all in all, it was good. It is definitely a low key place, so go here if you're looking for relaxation.

The only thing we were surprised and disappointed with was the lack of a proper hot tub. They have an area that is above the pool, but the water is not heated. Having stayed earlier at the Volcano Lodge in the Arenal area and having a GREAT HOT TUB, it was noticeable that Bahia del Sol did not have one.

The food was awesome, the staff was very good. In particular, Oscar and Eduardo made our stay awesome!

Room Tip: we had a suite and it was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonya D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hbs B, Manager at Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Tonya D,

Thank you for sharing your experience. We feel overjoyed that you found our hotel beautiful and with a great staff. We appreciate very much your comment that can only makes us improve to provide better experiences for all of our guests. Great thing that you qualify NASU Restaurant as awesome, Oscar and Eduardo are truly great at what they do, the praises will be delivered to all the staff but in particular these two, we work with a lot of passion, glad you appreciate our efforts.

Pura vida,

Victoria Bonilla
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas City, Texas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

This is a smaller resort on the beach in Playa Potrero. It's right on the beach, and has a beautiful view. The staff is excellent. They provided great service setting up a tour, recommending places to eat, and were very engaging at the bar and in the restaurant. The grounds and the pool area are top notch. The rooms are clean and comfortable, though they could use a little updating. That isn't a complaint, just an observation. We have enjoyed our stay. We would recommend this to travelers who like a more layer back resort.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hbs B, Manager at Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Pam A,

Bahia del Sol is a small charming boutique hotel dedicated towards customer service and details. To be right on the beach is definitely a pro, our staff always eager to serve with a smile  Oasis tour desk concierge has plenty of great choices for tours, dinning and any request that you might have. Grounds are green and lush and surround the whole property, the center of the hotel is our pool and the area to chill and relax by the pool, just in front of the Beach as well.

We are joyful that you enjoyed your stay with us; we take all observations in consideration to provide only the best for our clients. Thank you very much for your recommendation and resent visit.

Best regards,

Victoria Bonilla
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Potrero
15.4 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 14 in Gulf of Papagayo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sugar Beach Hotel
Sugar Beach Hotel
#2 of 5 in Playa Potrero
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
12.9 mi away
El Mangroove, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa
Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa
#1 of 7 in Playa Flamingo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,003 reviews
14.8 mi away
JW Marriott Guanacaste Resort & Spa
4.0 mi away
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel

Property: Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel
Address: North Of the Flamingo Junction 2 km, Playa Potrero 50101, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Potrero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Playa Potrero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bahia del Sol is located in Potrero Beach, a beautiful beach of warm tranquil waters on the Pacific Coast of Guanacaste. The Hotel offers the guests the quality of a 4 Star Beach Hotel with all the comforts, including Pool, Jacuzzi, and a Spa, framed in an impressive setting that includes tropical artistic gardens with centennial trees, a Tropical Garden with Native & Exotic plants , and an extensive beach front. The location is perfect for soaking in breathtaking views of the tranquil Potrero Bay, romantic long walks on the golden sands, basking in the rich sun and watching the spectacular sunsets of the Pacific Coast.
With miles of uncrowded beaches, stunning coves and undiscovered inlets, Costa Rica's natural environment speaks to your soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Hotel And Suites
Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Hotel Playa Potrero
Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel Costa Rica/Playa Potrero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing