We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best,most quaint, friendly, quiet, hidden Gem EVER. We have travelled all over the world, all LOVED it. We'll be back.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Playa Potrero
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Edmonton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best,most quaint, friendly, quiet, hidden Gem EVER. We have travelled all over the world, all LOVED it. We'll be back.”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Suites are beautiful, Standard rooms are very clean, cool and basic, but you don't need to ever be in your room, the pool, and chairs were always big enough even during high season. The hotel was fully booked while we were here over the holidays, but we NEVER had to mention our room number after the first day for charges, here, "everybody knows your name" Beach is SAFE AND UNBELIEVABLY PRIVATE AND QUIET. Thank you Bahia Del Sol for showing us the AMAZINGLY GREAT qualities of CostaRica. Thank You Jose, Luis, and everyone else for making this Christmas one of our best EVER (from our kids too)

Room Tip: Suites are beautiful, Standard rooms are clean, cool and basic, but you don't need to ever be in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunSunSunHere-I-Come
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBonilla, Manager at Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear SunSunSunHere-I-Come,

We will be waiting for your return. Thank you very much for expending Christmas with us and taking the time to share your experience. We are dedicated towards customer service our clients are not room numbers but people with different needs and we are here to serve them all with a lot of care and soul. Playa Potrero is truly the best, amazing beauty, privacy and of course safe. It was a pleasure to have you with us, let s us know when you are coming back, you know we love to pamper ;) We appreciate very much your recent visit, thrilled to read about your positive experience with us, it was really our pleasure to serve you and your family. Best regards from all the staff!!

At your service,

Victoria Bonilla
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    474
    210
    48
    16
    17
See reviews for
257
342
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Heredia, Costa Rica
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Spending time with family is all about having a great time, having enough room to spend time together and trusting you're in a nice place where everyone makes you feel at home. We found all of those at this medium sized hotel in the nice Playa Potrero. We were able to get a 2 bedroom suite, and it was a great choice, as the time we spent in the room was quite comfortable. The beach is just one minute away from the room, as well as the pool and the restaurant. We had dinnger at the restaurant, and even thought the service was a little slow, the food was amazing (actually the best food we ate during our trip). The last night we stayed they even had an outdoors activity, with a DJ and a bonfire at the beach, with marshmallows for the kids, and low priced snacks. It was the best way for us to close an amazing stay. Highlights: Service and the sense of security and cleanliness in that place. The only area for improvement: the serving speed at the restaurant. Overall, a great experience.

Room Tip: You should definetely ask the front desk if they are giving you the best room they have for the pric...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gjtrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBonilla, Manager at Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear gjtrips,

The two bedroom suite is the best for families, you can really share and as you mentioned have a great time together with the attention that you deserve. In a small beautiful hotel like our precious Bahia del Sol you will become part of our family quick, we are eager to serve and please our guests. We are proud of our restaurant Nasu and honored you rate us as the best food during your trip. Probably you where in our Viernes de Bahia, our theme nights that we host for our guests and locals. Glad to know we could close you stay with a high note, excited that your overall experience was great. Always trying to improve we take your feedback regarding the serving at the restaurant. Thank you for your comment and kind regards to you and your family!

Be well,

Victoria Bonilla
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

For couples seeking a quiet retreat, this place is wonderful. The rooms are well kept, and the grounds are extremely well cared for. We came at the end of the rainy season, so everything was lush and green.
The complimentary breakfast was the best we'd seen in any of our travels, and the restaurant setting was lovely. Sipping coffee while watching and listening to the waves - paradise!
A few steps from the restaurant, and we had comfortable deck chairs - with no crazy dash to find chairs, as there were plenty, and nobody seemed to be hogging spots. (I really despise people who put their towels on chairs and never show up) It was good to have the chairs in the sun area, as the space around the rooms is heavily vegitated, and not as condusive to sunning. The beach was a lengthy stretch, and we could walk at least a half hour in either direction with only a few other people around.
We were able to book tours easily, and walked to two neighbouring villages. Restful and relaxing. Best of all, the staff were so friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Marilyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBonilla, Manager at Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Marilyn L,

Thank you so much for writing this review! This is a perfect place for couples, very romantic and private. Our rooms have always a connection with the nature; our big and green garden helps our guests to really feel the truth Costa Rican experience. Nasu Restaurant is a great spot for any meal, is very relaxing to have you food while enjoying the beautiful ocean and of course a big smile from our staff, eager to attend your needs. Playa Potrero is safe and beautiful, great for walking and just enjoy the breathtaking nature beauty around us, you can walk to Playa Penca or Playa Flamingo. It is very rewarding knowing that you enjoyed our deck chairs; we have plenty of spots so that all of our clients can enjoy the sun and the beach and is never meant to be crowded. Oasis tour desk has so many good options depending on your need, good to know we could help you with some adventure and also with a relaxing and restful experience. On behalf of all the family here in Bahia del Sol, THANK YOU. Come back anytime! 

Sincerely yours,
Victoria Bonilla
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Secaucus
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

I stayed here in November for a week to be close to the places I came to fish. I've never actually stayed in Potrero before, and to be honest, I've never even really seen any "hotels" in my travels on previous trips. But I searched the internet for lodging and narrowed it down to the Bahia del Sol. It was on the beach and the pictures looked nice enough. I know that is not the best way to shop for lodging but I was willing to take my chances just to be close to the fishing.

When I arrived, I was greeted at the front desk with a complimentary drink and a very pleasant staff. The grounds looked beautiful with lush vegetation and a secure parking area. I was given a quick tour on my way to my room and the place was already a very pleasant surprise. It far exceeded what I was hoping for based on previous travel around the country. There was an open restaurant adjacent to a very nice bar with a beautiful swim-up pool. Great happy hour 1/2 price specials and good food. Oh, and a full breakfast comes with the room. The grounds were huge with many styles of seating from lounge chairs to uprights with a table in the middle in case you care to eat in the sun. I never really cared about being on the beach while I was searching for places to stay, but after arriving, I was very happy I ended up there. It was great to watch the waves and people while lounging under the shade of a palm tree of palm roof over your chair. There were also lounge chairs on the beach each day for relaxing or watching the sunset. It was so nice to be able to just walk out of your room and lay down in a comfortable chair on the large lawn area and look at the water or take a nap. You should be able to see all of these things in the pictures on the website. The grounds were actually as nicely maintained as they looked in the pictures. If you see something you like, you will probably be happy in person too.

My room was the "inexpensive" choice at the hotel but still came with 2 beds, a refrigerator, TV, in-room safe, sitting area with a small sofa and table. Very clean and bright, with lush jungle outside the door. And every evening when I returned to my room there was a dish with two fresh cookies on it. I felt like Santa Claus!! I couldn't be happier with my choice of lodging.

Room Tip: I can't see how any room could be bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBonilla, Manager at Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Good thing you decided to take your chances with us, Playa Potrero is not a very popular beach but that is part of the magic because is private and somehow secluded, even being close to Flamingo and other centric locations. A great welcome always says a good tone for our guests stay, a smile in our staff is a must and of course a cold and refreshing drink as well as a fresh scented towel on hot days. As you could appreciate while staying with us our beautiful lush green gardens stands out with all kind of little animals such as lizards, birds, butterfly and even monkeys from time to time. We take safety seriously that is why we have a big parking area with security 24/7. Nasu Restaurant open for breakfast (included on the rate), lunch and dinner offers a big variety of great tropical cuisine; just next to the restaurant a well maintain pool with a swim bar. Happy hour is perfect to catch the sunset, from 5:30 p.m. until 7 p.m. A great feature of our hotel is to be just in front of the ocean, to have a meal while enjoying the relaxing sound of the ocean is priceless!

All doe we are a small boutique hotel this place is never meant to be crowded, that is why we have different ambiances, Palapa Lounge is always available with different chairs and music and just in from of the beach, the highlight is for sure the sunset, all most like a ritual where our guests take the time to appreciate the nature and the immensity of the ocean and sky, happy hour convenient at this time from 5:30 p.m. until 7 p.m. half price in all of our drinks. Our turnover service includes always a fresh baked cookie, good to know you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience!!!

Warm regards from Playa Potrero.
Victoria Bonilla
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 9, 2013

This was our second visit to the hotel. We were there in early 2012 and then came back for our wedding. The staff is amazing; they are incredibly nice and accommodating. The hotel is in a great location, right on the beach with a great view. The food was wonderful. The ocean was warmer than the pool, but with the humidity in November, it was awesome to go in the ocean, then the pool, than the "cool tub" - a jetted hot tub with cool water rather than hot. They went out of their way to make our stay amazing. Thank you!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeSS2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBonilla, Manager at Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear JoeSS2013,

Thank you so much not only for your recent visit but your preference!! Every weeding is super special for us, we know that is a once in a life time event so we really take it seriously and provide the best of the best. Truly feel that our specialty are this kinds of events, year after year we have a lot of weeding and our clients are super happy not only with our spectacular setting, but also with our event coordinator and of course our amazing staff that always shine to extend the best in our hearts for you..Our precious guest.

We cannot thank you enough for making us be part of this magical moment in your life, some of our clients that come for weddings keep on coming for anniversaries and eventually with their own family, hope you can keep in touch and keep on coming back.
Warm regards from everybody here in Bahia del Sol!

Sincerely yours,
Victoria Bonilla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heredia, Costa Rica
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

This is a very nice place. People attending is very kind and nice. If you need a place to escape from this running world and enjoy a relaxed beach with amazing sunsets, this is a place you must visit.
Comfortable and clean rooms, delicious restaurant. Not too crowded makes this hotel a nice place to stay.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank diegogonzalezbriones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBonilla, Manager at Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear diegogonzalezbriones,

This is a very nice place!!! Thank you so much for taking the time to write this comment and share your experience with us. Bahia del Sol is definitely the place to disconnect you from this hectic world and find some peace and tranquility. Protrero beach is very private and our hotel all doe small you never feel crowded, that s part of the magic.

Every day the sunset is amazing, for many of our guests is almost like a ritual because of the immense and natural beauty…and just in front of the hotel, with great service, food and drinks. We feel very happy that you enjoyed your room and of course Nasu Restaurant that provides breakfast, lunch and dinner. We appreciate your recent visit, come back anytime to your home away from home in Guanacaste, Costa Rica.

Pura vida,
Victoria Bonilla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 6, 2013

We initially booked a Standard room on Travelocity, but when we arrived our reservation was not in the computer, the friendly front desk staff happily accommodated us by upgrading us to a Suite. We were greeted with a delicious welcome drink by the kind restaurant/bar staff. Staff made us feel like friends "amigos". We took advantage of the tour bookings and had lots of new life experiences during these tours; surfing, hot springs, waterfalls, nature, snorkelling, wildlife. The front desk staff was also helpful in booking reputable tour companies and transportation. Front desk staff and event coordinator assisted my then boyfriend to organize a snorkel tour, private oceanside dinner and romantic room decor. The sunset catamaran tour in the Playa Potrero Bay was the perfect setting for a Costa Rican engagement. :)

Room Tip: Any room! The front desk staff and event coordinators even offered the Honeymoon suite for a small u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBonilla, Manager at Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear Happy C,

It was a pleasure to serve you and your fiancé to provide this free upgrade to our spacious and comfortable suite. We know that Bahia del Sol has a privileged spot but the truth is that our staff is what makes the difference for our clients; we are very dedicated towards customer service, glad to know you enjoyed the warmness and service from our Bahia del Sol Family.

Oasis tour desk has so many good options for our guests; those experiences are truly unique and make the trip in Costa Rica a lifetime experience. Our main attraction is the wild nature; our providers are the best of the best, to ensure the best quality to our valuable clients. We where super happy to make your engagement something extremely special, the way it should be, we all remember the both of you and we wish you from the bottom of our hearts life of happiness and love!!

Thank you for the comment and also for your recent stay, we feel thrilled to be part of the beginning on your new romantic journey.
Warm regards,

Victoria Bonilla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Potrero
15.4 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,544 reviews
11.1 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#12 of 22 in Tamarindo
2,451 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sugar Beach Hotel
Sugar Beach Hotel
#2 of 5 in Playa Potrero
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa
Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa
#1 of 7 in Playa Flamingo
2,063 reviews
14.8 mi away
JW Marriott Guanacaste Resort & Spa
4.0 mi away
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel

Property: Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel
Address: North Of the Flamingo Junction 2 km, Playa Potrero 50101, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Potrero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Playa Potrero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bahia del Sol is located in Potrero Beach, a beautiful beach of warm tranquil waters on the Pacific Coast of Guanacaste. The Hotel offers the guests the quality of a 4 Star Beach Hotel with all the comforts, including Pool, Jacuzzi, and a Spa, framed in an impressive setting that includes tropical artistic gardens with centennial trees, a Tropical Garden with Native & Exotic plants , and an extensive beach front. The location is perfect for soaking in breathtaking views of the tranquil Potrero Bay, romantic long walks on the golden sands, basking in the rich sun and watching the spectacular sunsets of the Pacific Coast.
With miles of uncrowded beaches, stunning coves and undiscovered inlets, Costa Rica's natural environment speaks to your soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Hotel And Suites
Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Hotel Playa Potrero
Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel Costa Rica/Playa Potrero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing