We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful and relaxing stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Playa Potrero
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
1 review
“Wonderful and relaxing stay.”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Our first visit to Costa Rica was spent with a 1 week stay at Bahia del Sol. It was wonderful, the beach is quiet and private. The resort is lovely and the staff were all incredibly friendly and helpful. Jimmy at the bar is also great. We booked a few tours but spent the majority of our time relaxing poolside.

The resort is a bit off the beaten trail, so without your own transportation it is fairly secluded. We took a long walk around the area and found some neat local spots. There's a little convenience store a two minute walk away, you can get water, snacks, drinks etc. for your room.

The wifi didn't work in our room, but the common area near the front desk has places to sit and the wifi works well there. Also works in the restaurant/bar area. We were even able to watch NHL playoffs on the ipad :D

We made great friends with some of the local dogs, they weren't buggy, just friendly. Our last night at the resort was shared with a corporate retreat and fireworks were set off right at the resort. It was beautiful, right out of a movie, and a perfect end to a wonderful vacation.

Room Tip: The rooms in the main area (not the ones in the walk-ups) are great, feels like a little apartment w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Alyssa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    478
    213
    48
    16
    17
See reviews for
261
343
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Cucamonga, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

It was nice to have them greet you by name and always with a smile. Maik was great to work with for activities and any other need. Jose was a great server and super friendly. The bartenders made great drinks even when you just asked for a sweet drink and no specific details. I would definitely go back.

It's a great location for a wedding as well as the pictures during sunset come out amazing!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Michelle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlands, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

The pool and grounds are very attractive but the room was extremely gross! There was mildew on the ceiling in the bathroom (no fan only small high window), mildew and dust all over the lamps and shades. There was dust all over the bed frame and dust/dirt all over the corners of room, sockets etc. and even a spider web in the bathroom. I’m used to a little musty smells in older damp areas but this place was extremely musty along with pee smells in the bathroom. The shower was a JOKE and I felt like I was camping (ie camp showers with coin slot’s) as I feared walking on the floor so kept flip flops on I tried to shower with the water pressure sometimes working and then it would stop but the temperature was then off. Maybe they had solar water but there is NO excuse for the nasty mildew and dust everywhere. We explored Costa Rica and stayed in 6 different hotels from resort local hotels, a Holiday Inn, a Marriott and a Hampton Inn but this was the worst of all.

Room Tip: I wouldn't recommend any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TurtlePookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VBonilla, Manager at Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear TurtlePookie,

We thank you very much for taking the time and letting us know your experience with us. It was with great concern that we read your comments about the displeasure you experienced towards your room and bathroom cleanness during the time that you spend with us.

The service you received was certainly less than exemplary and rest assured that corrective measures have been taken to rectify the issues at hand. The housekeeping Department Heads have received copy of your comments and are personally involved in implementing root cause solutions. I have searched for a report from you during your stay but I could t find it, wish that you have expressed yourself while you were staying with us, we are always more than glad to assist our clients before, during and after their stay.

For our next high season we are having new showers and beds, always trying to improve the quality of the products that we offer to our clients. As you probably know we do work with sustainable program of tourism but this doesn't mean that the comfort of our clients stays should be affected. This only means that we are aware of the repercussion of our business in the nature and we want to preserve this gorgeous and natural environment for the entire world and our future generations.

Glad to know that you enjoyed our beautiful pool just in front of the Pacific Ocean and green garden that provides shelter for all kinds of wild animals. Bahia del Sol is a small boutique hotel that searches to offer relaxing experiences to all the people that visit us. Our staff is always eager to serve and we hope that you felt the warm of a true Costa Rican experience. Sincerely appreciate your comment; our north is the voice of our clients.

Warm regards,

Victoria Bonilla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2013

My husband and I spent a week here on our first get away without the kids. The grounds alone were gorgeous. We loved eating breakfast every morning in an open dining area facing the ocean. The best part was the staff. You left feeling as though you had known them for a long time. Marvin, a long time local, knew everything about the area and every evening was happy hour at the bar with Lorenzo. The front desk staff arranged anything you needed for excursions. The rooms were pretty basic but adequate. I would return here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Barbee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piedmont, California
1 review
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed at this beautiful hotel for a week and enjoyed every minute of it. The grounds are immaculately maintained and directly adjacent to a quiet beach. The best part of our stay was interacting with the staff who were attentive, personable, and very interactive with the guests.
The setting is very conducive to a quiet vacation but very close to major tourist centers. I highly recommend a stay here.

Lyman Shaffer

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lyman S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

My sister and I came here for a relaxing getaway and that's exactly what we got. The pool bar and hot tubs were perfect. The grassy lawn with ample chairs was great for lounging. The beach - only steps away from the property - was secluded and lovely. Service was mostly friendly, but at times the staff was stiff and cold to the point of being rude. To be fair, I encountered similar behavior all over Costa Rica, so it could just be me. My only regrets about this hotel were 1) very few young people were staying there (mostly 50+ couples), and 2) the restaurant was very overpriced and there weren't a lot of other options nearby. Even so, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Laurie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 31, 2013

My wife and I needed a nice, relaxing holiday and Bahia del Sol provided that and much more! The service was excellent the location was perfect for quite walks along the beach. The staff were extremely friendly and helped us plan our day trips to explore the area. My wife enjoyed the massage treatment.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank SlaterSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Potrero
11.1 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#12 of 22 in Tamarindo
2,478 reviews
15.4 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,575 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sugar Beach Hotel
Sugar Beach Hotel
#2 of 5 in Playa Potrero
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa
Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa
#1 of 7 in Playa Flamingo
2,083 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal
14.8 mi away
JW Marriott Guanacaste Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel

Property: Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel
Address: North Of the Flamingo Junction 2 km, Playa Potrero 50101, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Potrero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Playa Potrero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bahia del Sol is located in Potrero Beach, a beautiful beach of warm tranquil waters on the Pacific Coast of Guanacaste. The Hotel offers the guests the quality of a 4 Star Beach Hotel with all the comforts, including Pool, Jacuzzi, and a Spa, framed in an impressive setting that includes tropical artistic gardens with centennial trees, a Tropical Garden with Native & Exotic plants , and an extensive beach front. The location is perfect for soaking in breathtaking views of the tranquil Potrero Bay, romantic long walks on the golden sands, basking in the rich sun and watching the spectacular sunsets of the Pacific Coast.
With miles of uncrowded beaches, stunning coves and undiscovered inlets, Costa Rica's natural environment speaks to your soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Hotel And Suites
Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Hotel Playa Potrero
Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel Costa Rica/Playa Potrero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing