We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bahia del Sol Beach Front Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bahia del Sol Beach Front Hotel & Suites
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Playa Potrero
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We just returned from a 2 night stay at the Bahia and I can't say enough good things about it. Located on peaceful Playa Portrero we couldn't have asked for a more relaxing location to end our Costa Rican adventure. The staff was fantastic, the food was delicious (our room included breakfast also) and the grounds were beautiful. It has a wonderful pool with a swim up bar (thank you Leo and Jimmy!) If you want a lot of nightife, a beach full of people and lots of shops, then this isn't the place. There are plenty of restaurants with good food and nightlife within walking distance (el coconut, the shack, maxwells).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    181
    39
    15
    16
See reviews for
225
294
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I wish I could spend forever at Bahia del Sol! But we only spent 4 nights. The rooms are luxurious, the food is soooo wonderful, and the service was great. The housekeeping kept our rooms spotless and comfortable, well the bartender (Orlando) made sure we had great drinks!! Marvin, in charge of the food service, ensured delicious meals. We had a wonderful Christmas Eve dinner and were grateful of all the staff for working that night. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wes G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding,CA
Level Contributor
125 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here 3 nights. Found the grounds pretty, food in restaurant very good. The bartender (Leo) was great the first night, he was able to keep up with orders in a way that subsequent bartenders needed to emulate. The manager-sorry I forgot his name- was also very helpful.
The beach is brown sand, not white. I knew that when we booked.
Yes, I did see a couple of dead bugs behind the bed but hey, it's the tropics. Better than the live cockroach I saw in a high end property in Arenal! I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goldiep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Potrero, Costa Rica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Recently returned from a two week stay at the Bahia del Sol, which proved to be a lovely hotel. If you want somewhere quiet with an unspoilt beach (not white sand), staff (including maintenance) who are pleasant and efficient, beautiful gardens and an inviting pool, this is the place. Its location is quiet, the restaurant is good with a couple of alternative places to eat within walking distance and more a taxi ride away in Flamingo. We stayed in a spacious two roomed suite (308) on the first floor which also had an outside area with sofas and sun beds. The general feel of Bahia del Sol is laid back and restful, a perfect place to re-charge and relax.
Minor constructive comment: would have preferred a more subdued colour scheme both around the hotel and in the suite - but maybe this is typical Costa Rican.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suedonimia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo, Uruguay
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

A very nice experience. Fantastic rooms, nice grounds and a very good ubication by the beach. The food was good and the service was helpful. Potrero is very peaceful and here you can relax listening the sound of the sea. Recommended for those who like quietness in a great place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GabrielaT09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in January. The food (breakfast which was included and dinner for purchase) were good, the staff (especially Jimmy) was fantastic. We ate dinner here one night. The other nights we went to the Coconut club next door and Playa Flamingo. The grounds were well kept and very pretty. The location with the beach and pool was great. Easy drive to Tamarindo and Playa del Coco. The room was great/average for what we wanted for the price- huge bed, the ac worked, the bathroom was a little dated. There were some ants in the room. All in all we thought the hotels location and staff were probably the best part.

Room Tip: Our room was quiet, we were in the far back corner of the resort but any room probably would have wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

This hotel is a gem. It is a perfect place for someone who doesn't want the huge American resorts. It is a quaint hotel with spectacular rooms ( clean, huge and comfortable) right on a uncrowded beach. The staff was incredible. By day two they all knew our name and always greeted us by name. I found the service to be prompt and outstanding. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We had the tow bedroom suite, which was gigantic. There really isn't a bad room in the resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Potrero
15.3 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 14 in Gulf of Papagayo
4.5 of 5 stars 1,058 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Sugar Beach
Hotel Sugar Beach
#2 of 5 in Playa Potrero
4.5 of 5 stars 314 reviews
12.1 mi away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#8 of 21 in Tamarindo
4.0 of 5 stars 2,093 reviews
1.5 mi away
Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa
Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa
#1 of 7 in Playa Flamingo
4.0 of 5 stars 1,748 reviews
14.8 mi away
JW Marriott Guanacaste Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahia del Sol Beach Front Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia del Sol Beach Front Hotel & Suites

Property: Bahia del Sol Beach Front Hotel & Suites
Address: Al Noroeste de la Entrada de Flamingo 2km, Playa Potrero 50101, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Potrero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Playa Potrero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bahia del Sol Beach Front Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bahia del Sol is located in Potrero Beach, a beautiful beach of warm tranquil waters on the Pacific Coast of Guanacaste. The Hotel offers the guests the quality of a 4 Star Beach Hotel with all the comforts, including Pool, Jacuzzi, and a Spa, framed in an impressive setting that includes tropical artistic gardens with centennial trees, a Tropical Garden with Native & Exotic plants , and an extensive beach front. The location is perfect for soaking in breathtaking views of the tranquil Potrero Bay, romantic long walks on the golden sands, basking in the rich sun and watching the spectacular sunsets of the Pacific Coast.
With miles of uncrowded beaches, stunning coves and undiscovered inlets, Costa Rica's natural environment speaks to your soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Bahia del Sol Beach Front Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Hotel Playa Potrero
Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Hotel And Suites
Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Hotel & Suites Costa Rica/Playa Potrero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing