We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love, love, love this place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Playa Potrero
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed January 20, 2013

This hotel is a gem. It is a perfect place for someone who doesn't want the huge American resorts. It is a quaint hotel with spectacular rooms ( clean, huge and comfortable) right on a uncrowded beach. The staff was incredible. By day two they all knew our name and always greeted us by name. I found the service to be prompt and outstanding. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We had the tow bedroom suite, which was gigantic. There really isn't a bad room in the resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (814)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

460 - 466 of 814 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2013

In our opinion this hotel does not deserve the high ratings that it has received. The service was not very attentive other than the bell hop who transported bags and handled basic service needs. The front desk reception was not good at following through with any reservations or special requests. The food was average at best with very limited menu. A big disappointment. The lounge chairs and seating in general were"tired". Not clean. The place mats in the restaurant were sometimes not clean. Often had to ask for silverware. Best part of this facility is the location in a very quiet bay. No fitness center. Would not stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed in Playa Portrero at Bahia del Sol and just fell in love with the hotel. It's a bit secluded so don't expect a lot of traffic, but just a short ~15 minute drive south to Tamarindo can get you to restaurants/ bars/ more populated area.

The rooms weren't magnificent but we didn't spend much time there!! We were too busy making friends with Orlando, Greddy and Leo- the most amazing Costa Rican, "Ticos" staff you'll ever meet. The swimming pool has an inset/ swim up bar and you can just practice your spanish and drink freshly prepared Pina Coladas all afternoon. They truly made our trip.

Si estas leyendo Orlando, gracias para practicando conmigo!!
Esa & Mark

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank esavandusen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

This beautiful small resort right on the beach was absolutely the best. The two room suite was in the back of the property, extremely quiet. The grounds are tropical and magic. Service was the attentive but not stifling. Food was so good we didn't bother to wonder off premises for our meals.
The massages in the spa can't be beat. If you are looking for a nice quiet time at a first class resort without all the hype, this is it.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JillpainterMoyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stumbled onto Bahia del Sol while looking for yoga classes. We found a lot more than we expected! The hotel is absolutely lovely. It sits on the beach, has beautiful well kept grounds, an inviting pool and a great restaurant/bar area. We decided to have a drink and met Orlando and Leo. These gentlemen could not have been nicer. So nice that we came back for dinner. As expected, the food was as good as the service. Though we did not stay at the hotel, we visited several more times just for a pina colada and lunch. If you get a chance stop by. If you are lucky, Orlando or Leo will be there.
By the way, the yoga class was terrific!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank james_wert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Our family stayed in 2 rooms at the hotel for 4 nights . Had a good time . The property is very nice and the beach , while not white sand , was very pretty. Great place to just relax either around the pool , at the beach or at the bar. we liked the fact there were no ohter hotels on this beach and the hotel was of a small size. Alos found it interesting that most of teh guests were not from North America. The rooms themselves while good size need to be updated. Most of all we appreciated teh friendly and helpful service of all the staff ,especially Mike the concierge who assisted us wiht tours and dinners out. don't forget to check out hte bar resturant in hte shack down the beach -- great seafood.

Room Tip: not close to the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce1845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

There were never more than ten people on this entire beach the three days we were there (during the busy season). So wonderfully laid back and private! The drinks and bar are GREAT. The breakfast was also really tasty with lots of options. Great service at the bar and at breakfast as well as at the front desk too. The food for dinner was pretty good, not amazing, and so a little overpriced for the quality. All around, a great experience.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lizkenes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Potrero
2 mi away
Sugar Beach Hotel
Sugar Beach Hotel
#2 of 5 in Playa Potrero
421 reviews
3.9 mi away
Reserva Conchal Beach Resort, Golf & Spa
11.1 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#11 of 24 in Tamarindo
2,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
15.4 mi away
Andaz Costa Rica Resort At Peninsula Papagayo
Andaz Costa Rica Resort At Penin...
#1 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,716 reviews
4 mi away
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal - An All-Inclusive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel

Address: North Of the Flamingo Junction 2 km, Playa Potrero 50101, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Potrero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Playa Potrero
Price Range: $155 - $418 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bahia del Sol is located in Potrero Beach, a beautiful beach of warm tranquil waters on the Pacific Coast of Guanacaste. The Hotel offers the guests the quality of a 4 Star Beach Hotel with all the comforts, including Pool, Jacuzzi, and a Spa, framed in an impressive setting that includes tropical artistic gardens with centennial trees, a Tropical Garden with Native & Exotic plants , and an extensive beach front. The location is perfect for soaking in breathtaking views of the tranquil Potrero Bay, romantic long walks on the golden sands, basking in the rich sun and watching the spectacular sunsets of the Pacific Coast. With miles of uncrowded beaches, stunning coves and undiscovered inlets, Costa Rica's natural environment speaks to your soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Hotel And Suites
Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Hotel Playa Potrero
Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel Costa Rica/Playa Potrero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing