We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Sugar Beach Hotel(Playa Potrero)(Great Value!)
$119
$112
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Villaggio Flor de Pacifico(Playa Potrero)(Great Value!)
$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Spa
Bahia Esmeralda(Playa Potrero)
$50
$49
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Guanacaste Lodge(Playa Flamingo)(Great Value!)
$79
$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paradise Flamingo Beach(Playa Flamingo)(Great Value!)
$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa(Playa Flamingo)(Great Value!)
$229
$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Casa Chameleon Hotel at Las Catalinas(Las Catalinas)(Great Value!)
$595
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Brasilito(Brasilito)(Great Value!)
$44
$34
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Mediterraneus(Playa Potrero)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (872)
Filter reviews
872 results
Traveler rating
548
237
52
17
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
548
237
52
17
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswim up barcosta ricahappy hourtwo bedroom suitewedding coordinatordark sandstandard roomgrounds are beautifulsmall resorttravel agentwet barspent nightsbreakfast was includedlounge chairsnight lifethe entire staffgreat restaurant
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
514 - 519 of 872 reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

There were never more than ten people on this entire beach the three days we were there (during the busy season). So wonderfully laid back and private! The drinks and bar are GREAT. The breakfast was also really tasty with lots of options. Great service at the bar and at breakfast as well as at the front desk too. The food for dinner was pretty good, not amazing, and so a little overpriced for the quality. All around, a great experience.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lizkenes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

As we registered the asst mgr tells us that that evening there will be an employees holiday party so the restaurant will close early at 8:00pm. We dined elsewhere so that wasn't a problem. But what was a problem was the screaming loud DJ & music that kept going until almost 1:00am. When we complained to same asst mgr the next morning his response was "I told you that there was going to be an employee party". We explained to the asst mgr that we were guests in his hotel, paying for vacation rooms & that we shouldn't have to be kept up late at night by a party for his staff. (What a concept). As a means of apology, he upgraded our room.
While the property does have a good beach front, it is a tired looking hotel. Dead bugs, leaves float all over the pool. The breakfast buffet is unkempt & is unattended. Warm dishes are cold, bread is stale, empty butter & jam dishes. The whole thing is unappetizing.
Someone should buy this property & put it out of its misery. Definitely absentee owners.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank oneidaelane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Jumbo Shrimp Sugarcane, the most expensive item on the menu, was supposed to come with grilled vegetables, which it didn't. The shrimp were hard and rubbery. Our other meal, the blackened Dorado was bland and overcooked. When the entree came, the staff didn't clear bread dishes. We had to ask to have our table candle lit, flag someone down to ask for water when our glasses were empty, and the wine we ordered to come with our meal came late after we reminded the waitress to bring it. No one asked about or seemed concerned that we were disappointed with the meal. We are regulars in the area. While the restaurant has a nice ambiance, the food is over priced and mediocre at best. This is our third and last disappointing experience at the Bahia.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Olas Azules C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

I can not say enough about bahia del sol. i did not stay here since we rented a condo nearby. a woman on the beach told me about a yoga class at bahia del sol which i did attend and fell in love with the place. the class was held in a large open room with a thatched roof which had a beautiful breeze. our yoga mats faced the blue ocean and i was totally in heaven. colleen was an excellent teacher. we walked around the property and decided to visit the bar later that day. that's where we met leo. he made the most wonderful drinks (try his mai tais) and was so nice and informative. we went at an off time so he had time to talk with us and tell us some interesting things about costa rica and to help gerry with his spanish. he was so great we told him we'd come back for dinner the next night.

he greeted us with a smile and was happy to see us and show us to our table. we walked past the outside eating area and he led us to a table by the beach surrounded with 4 torches. the table was decorated beautifully with flowers and fancy napkins. we thought it was a mistake and thought the table must be for someone on their honeymood. he said it was for us and he wanted to surprise us. he was our waiter that night and we had the most wonderful dinner in paradise. the food and service were amazing. the four of us were very impressed. the evening COULD NOT HAVE BEEN BETTER. 3 of us got grilled mahi which was probably the best dinner i ever ate. my other friend got the grilled lobster and steak dinner. he is a trained chef and it takes a lot to impress him but he loved it. so kudos to the chef. the food was gourmet but the prices were reasonable. it was a perfect night thanks to leo and orlando, who bartended that night.

we did some sight seeing the next day and decided to stop for a drink or two. orlando was the bartender and he treated us great as well. i needed to write a review of this place. the costa ricans are such great people. we loved everyone we met but leo and orlando really helped to make our trip so special and i am very grateful to them for that. you really feel valued which is so rare in new jersey.

we walked around the grounds which are beautiful. little places here and there to sit and relax. birds. the pool looked beautiful which is situated next to the bar. didn't get a chance to check out the gift shop but it looked lovely from the window. i would love to visit again and stay at bahia del sol and of course dine there. we planned to go back for dinner for our last night but were busy during the day and didn't make it. if you are lucky enough to visit this fantastic place please tell leo and orlando that their friends from new jersey, gerry, theresa, judy and jim said hello.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NewJerseyTheresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We got married here in February and it was truly a great experience. Bahia is such a unique little place with many many things to do and excellent amenities. As soon as you get there the staff welcomes you with a nice refreshing drink. It has it's own little private rain forest and you are likely to see monkeys, lizards and other creatures here, it's one of the first things you'll notice as you walk to your room. We stayed at the newly wed suite and it was a great room. It is the only room with ocean view and it has a private outdoor shower and jacuzzi tub as well as your normal bathroom. We loved that the place was eco friendly and used lots of local crafts for decor. The staff was very nice and made every day enjoyable. There are so many good things to say about Bahia that you'll have to pardon the way I'm all over the place. We loved their version of the "Mono Loco". We loved the pool, the beach and the way staff was able to book us tours on the fly. Some of our friends tried the massage parlor and said it was excellent. The food at the restaurant was great but as with many other places in CR it took a bit for it to come out. I guess it's part of the whole pura vida mantra us NY-ers are just not use to. There are a few other places to eat withing walking distance but the best one is the The Shack just up the road. Thank you Bahia for a great day and vacation, we and our friends can't wait to come back again soon. Aaaa I still remember relaxing by the beach with the mono loco in my hand :)

Room Tip: The newly wed room is excellent but our friends also like the two rooms next to it as well as the 2 bedroom suites on the second floor.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Adi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews