We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, isolated and top quality service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Playa Potrero
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Saint-Basile-le-Grand, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great place, isolated and top quality service”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

It was quite a surprise to find such a high standard hotel in such a secluded location than playa potrero.

Staff was efficient and cordial, wouldn't say friendly, but efficient and their was always someone to help from early till late.

Rooms are really nice, small but well furnished, good bathroom and an additionnal hot tub/shower outside, well appreciated. Hammock in front of the room, and since all the standard rooms are on the first floor, you kind of have no intimacy, but as the hotel is so small, you can still relax and feel at home.

Pool was refreshing and cleaned regularly. Breakfast was good, huge portions and lovely fresh fruit juice. However, the menu for lunch/dinner is expensive, don't count on eating there 2/day for one week, unless you have a good budget!!!!

The beach was great, clean, large....and empty!!!! Grey sand, so you don't see through the water, no Cuba standards::))), but the water was warm and calm. Tides are quite strong though, not dangerous but be aware.

We drove to playa flamingo, saw the tourists, the cars, the usual chaos of a beach waterfront, and we rushed back to playa potrero!!!!! Let's hope this place will stay as it is for a long time!!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lebeauceronintrépide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vichug, Public Relations Manager at Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Dear Lebeauceronintrépide, is good to know that you like the fact that we are kind of isolated, and this make our place perfect resting and relaxing, also there are a lot of thing to do in a relatively short distance, like Flamingo 5 minutes & Tamarind 25 minutes away.
About the comment you said that the staff wasn’t friendly, we are going to have a talk with them, because us you can see in most of the review, people always said they are extremely attentive.
Hope to see you again.
Best Regards From all Staff at Bahia Del Sol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    468
    208
    48
    16
    17
See reviews for
254
338
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2012

My friend and I had the pleasure of staying 5 nights at Bahia del Sol in January during the dry season. We had a wonderful stay. The hotel is absolutely beautiful and in a great location on Playa Potrero. You are literally steps away from the ocean. The views are spectacular, we especially enjoyed watching the sunset. Try not to get turned off by reviews saying the location is "out of the way" because staying at Playa Potrero made us feel like we were getting the real local Costa Rican experience. There's plenty of Americanized hotels in Tamarindo and the more touristy areas... but what's the point of going to Costa Rica if you're going to stay somewhere you can stay at back home? The food at the hotel was AMAZING... try the Paella, beef nachos, and ceviche. Everything was reasonably priced and the swim up bar was soooooooo much fun. We especially enjoyed the "welcome drinks" and then continued to down many more during our stay. We even picked-up coconuts "pipas" on the beach and the bartender was nice enough to cut them open for us while we sat at the pool bar. The staff is absolutely wonderful. I have never stayed at a hotel that had such a friendly and accommodating staff. Maik & Maureen were especially helpful and made our trip even more wonderful then it already was. I highly recommend booking some tours through the hotel. Don't be one of those couples that go to Costa Rica just to lay by the pool and on the beach... we did the Arenal tour and the Monteverde tour... I HIGHLY recommend Monteverde!!! It was the adventure of a lifetime!! There are tons of activities and tours you can book through the hotel and they are very accommodating in arranging the transportation and booking for you:) And if you are craving some nightlife, there are local bars and Tamarindo is only a 30 min cab ride away. All in all we very much enjoyed our stay at Bahia. I would definitely stay here again... this hotel is truly a gem and we are so lucky to have had such a wonderful experience in Costa Rica :)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vichug, Public Relations Manager at Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Dear Amanda C, thank you so much so written this great review.
We definitely hope to see you again.
Best Regards From all Staff at Bahia Del Sol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2012

My boyfriend and I spent three nights at the Bahia Del Sol. We were so very impressed with everything including the food, the service, the pool, the beach and especially the Junior Suites. The rooms are over sized with loft ceilings, very spacious and colorful. There's even a kitchen and dining room.
This location is in walking distance to many other beaches and restaurants that are delicious, inexpensive, and most importantly safe. Costa Rica was an amazing vacation.... We will return to this Hotel in the future and recommend it to everyone we know!! Thank you so much :)

Room Tip: Junior Suites are the way to go. Very inexpensive for the space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meaghann O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vichug, Public Relations Manager at Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Dear Meghann O, is good to heard that you had such a good time.
We hope to see you again.
Best Regards From all Staff at Bahia Del Sol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2012

The hotel has a lot to like about it. The location is out the way, grounds are lovely and well maintained and the view from the loungers is nothing short of sublime. We relaxed quickly and well and slept early. The beach is only OK, but Punta Pensa - 5 minutes by car - is a fantastic white sand beach.

To the people whining about people putting towels out on sunloungers - that was me, going for a run at 5am and leaving my towels out :=)

The hotel was let down and doesn't get 5 stars for two major reasons. First, despite confirming internet in the room by email prior to arrival, there was no internet in the room and they were unable to do anything about it. We had to do some work during this trip so this was more than an inconvenience.

Second, the food at the restaurant was nothing short of awful. We ate there on the first night and it was literally inedible. Also ate some snacks there one day and they even managed to mess up nachos. How?! Breakfast was included and not too bad, but the service at breakfast was terrible - had to get up and get my own coffee most of the time.

On the bright side, this meant that we went to explore the nearby towns and found great local food. But if the hotel had good food, we would have eaten there a bunch of times. My advice to them - get a decent chef and rework the menu, you have a captive audience.

And my advice to guests - get a car. You'll need it to get into town and the transfer is $160 return using the hotel anyhow. Invest this in a rental car instead. And then go to a day drip to the volcanos. You won't regret it!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jma24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vichug, Public Relations Manager at Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Dear jma24, is good to know that you like the property, also we appreciate your feedback, and we have to say that in that case of the internet connection at this time we are making some changes to fix the problem, and about the food, we want to tell you that we are all ready hiring a new chef.

We hope that after this changes eventually you can come back again sometime.
Best Regards From all Staff at Bahia Del Sol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
71 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2012

Located on a beautiful beach in a quiet situation and the staff are extremely helpful.Apart from the stray dogs roaming the beach and the property as mentioned by other guests the real downside is that the peaceful site is ruined by terrible music all day and all night long.It's more suited to a disco.Not what you want when having your breakfast.

Ask you customers if they want this noise pollution.i'm willing to bet the vast majority would prefer listening to the waves washing up on the beach.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michel013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vichug, Public Relations Manager at Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Dear Michel013, thank for the first part of you comment telling is a nice place, also we appreciate your feedback, at this time we are taking some actions to try fixing this dogs problem and also we are going to check the music repertoire, even do usually we play music that goes with the hotel atmosphere.
We hope to see you again.
Best Regards From all Staff at Bahia Del Sol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2012

Don't let the drive down the dirt road to get there scare you off! This is a wonderful gem hidden in the town of Potrero. With only 30 rooms, the property has a small and personal feel to it. Service is the best we received throughout our stay in Costa Rica. So friendly and helpful. We stayed in the suite facing the ocean and loved it. It had a relatively secluded porch area equipped with a hammock, couch and high-top table. The room also featured a private jacuzzi and outdoor shower, which was fine, but we didn't even use them. The beach was primitive in that there were barely any people on it. Lots of dogs, with a few beautiful condos sitting next to local "homes" and vacant space. The grounds of this boutique hotel are beautiful with lots of lush greenery. The pool was great....the lounge chairs comfortable...and the food was very good. There is also a small casita located in the middle of the grounds used for massages and spa services. We had a massage and it was outstanding. The howler monkeys passed through several times during our stay and could be heard throughout the day giving it a true Costa Rica feel. Charming! Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BBasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vichug, Public Relations Manager at Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Dear BBasil, thank you very much for your nice.
We hope to see you again
Best Regards From all Staff at Bahia Del Sol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2012

We stayed here 3 nights, we were upgraded to a king suite upon check in.
Hector was very nice and also helpful with setting up other reservations.

We found the grounds to be very clean and well kept. We were given a welcome drink and escorted to our rooms. Nice size, and Clean.

The only major problem with our room was we backed up to a side street. We had a large pack of wild dogs that barked from Midnight until sun up.
The hotel was booked full so there was no options to move. I am a light sleeper and only got a few hours of sleep every night. due to noise.
The beds all seem to be Full or Twin and somewhat hard.
beds are a little on the hard side, but I understand its costly to upgrade.
AC was nice and cold.
Food was good not great, and rather pricey.


The beach is very private for being public, clean black sand and warm waters.
We found all the staff to be very friendly and talkative.
There is also great security in the parking area.

Room Tip: Get a room as close to the water as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wrw-78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vichug, Public Relations Manager at Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2012
Dear wrw-78, thank you for review, and for letting us know this couple thing, we are going to see if we can do something about the dogs, about the mattresses we are trying to see if eventually we can change them.
We Hope to see you again.
Best Regards From all Staff at Bahia Del Sol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Potrero
15.4 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 14 in Gulf of Papagayo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sugar Beach Hotel
Sugar Beach Hotel
#2 of 5 in Playa Potrero
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
12.9 mi away
El Mangroove, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa
Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa
#1 of 7 in Playa Flamingo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,994 reviews
14.8 mi away
JW Marriott Guanacaste Resort & Spa
4.0 mi away
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel

Property: Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel
Address: North Of the Flamingo Junction 2 km, Playa Potrero 50101, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Potrero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Playa Potrero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bahia del Sol is located in Potrero Beach, a beautiful beach of warm tranquil waters on the Pacific Coast of Guanacaste. The Hotel offers the guests the quality of a 4 Star Beach Hotel with all the comforts, including Pool, Jacuzzi, and a Spa, framed in an impressive setting that includes tropical artistic gardens with centennial trees, a Tropical Garden with Native & Exotic plants , and an extensive beach front. The location is perfect for soaking in breathtaking views of the tranquil Potrero Bay, romantic long walks on the golden sands, basking in the rich sun and watching the spectacular sunsets of the Pacific Coast.
With miles of uncrowded beaches, stunning coves and undiscovered inlets, Costa Rica's natural environment speaks to your soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Hotel And Suites
Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Hotel Playa Potrero
Bahia Del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel Costa Rica/Playa Potrero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing