We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (907)
Filter reviews
907 results
Traveler rating
568
251
52
17
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
568
251
52
17
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswim up barcosta ricahappy hourdark sandstandard roomgrounds are beautifultravel agentbreakfast was includedsmall resortwet barbedroom suitelounge chairsspent nightsthe entire staffnight lifegreat restaurantlow key
Filter
Updating list...
626 - 631 of 907 reviews
Reviewed December 26, 2011

This is the second time we have gone to this hotel. I love it. It is off the beaten path but very enjoyable. I intend to go again soon.

Room Tip: Both of the rooms we have had were fine.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mickey_gomez_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2011

This is a lovely little resort. It 3km down a dirt road from Playa Flamingo. We stayed in a 2 bedrm., 2 bath unit; basically a small apt. The rooms are clean & tastefully furnished. The pool area is small, but so is the resort, so not an issure. It is right on Playa Potrero. This is a great walking/swimming beach. Sand is hard packed & fairly level. Ocean is calm & warm. You can walk for a half hour in either direction & barely see anyone. The room comes with breakfast, which is made to order and a small buffet of fruits, cereals, breads. The service at reception & in the resturant is very good. There is an adequate number of lounges at the pool, but they could use a few more, as well as cushions, & palapas. There is a whirlpool, but it isn't heated, which is something they should add. The grounds are lovely with lots of wildlife. There are a few stray beach dogs that wander in from time to time, but they are so sweet & friendly that I didn't mind them. There is a little grocery store around the corner that you can walk to & buy snacks, soda, beer, etc. There isn't really any resturants that we would consider eating dinner at nearby. But, there are wonderful resturants in Playa Flamingo, & most will come pick you up if you call them. Taxis run about 8$ US each way to Playa Flamingo. All in all, we enjoyed our stay here & would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Gotham1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vichug, Public Relations Manager at Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2011

Dear Gotham1, thank you for choose our property for your vacations, also we really appreciate that you took some time to write this review, we appreciate your suggestions and we are going to analyze, all our Staff really appreciate your comments.
Hope to see you again
Best Regards From all Staff at Bahia Del Sol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2011

My wife wanted to go someplace at the beach here in Costa Rica for my birthday. We looked at the Lonely Planet and Trip Advisor and decided to try the Bahia Del Sol. What a treat! First of all, we had a two bedroom suite with kitchen, living room, two bathrooms. It was a pleasant experience from the first moment we arrived. We were greeted at the front desk by very friendly people, the check-in took just a minute, and we were escorted to our room. Then another worker brought a welcome drink to our room that was delicious.
We then had lunch at the restaurant, which was good, and later went swimming in the ocean and the swimming pool and accessed the swim up bar. We were not there long enough to try the massages and the other services offered. I highly recommend this place. One of the best we have stayed in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ramsfancr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vichug, Public Relations Manager at Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2011

Dear Ramsfancr, we feel honored that you chose our property for this special celebration, also we really appreciate that you took some time to write this review, all our Staff really appreciate your comments and thank you for recommending us.
Hope to see you again
Best Regards From all Staff at Bahia Del Sol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2011

We are only here for one night, celebrating my husbands birthday and back to Nuevo Arenal where we live and was raining yesterday.Arenal is in the mountains so rainy season starts later and lasts longer so nice to be a the beach. Beautiful beach, hotel right on the beach with grass area too. We have a two bedroom huge suite, decorated so colorful and cute. Two nice bathrooms. Nice restaurant, swim up bar,has everything. Ocean calm enough to go in and the best part are the beautiful gardens and the staff. They are so welcoming here, showed up to our room right after check in with a drink and all of them so sweet and friendly. Highly recommend this place. We will for sure come back.

Room Tip: We found this the night before with one room left on Expedia so very good deal. We were very lucky.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tonibalcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vichug, Public Relations Manager at Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2011

Dear Tonibalcr, thank you for choosing for this special celebration, also we really appreciate that you took some time to write this review, all our Staff really appreciate your comments and thank you for recommending us.
Hope to see you again
Best Regards From all Staff at Bahia Del Sol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2011

We stayed here for 5 nights. One of the best resorts out of 10 we visited in Costa Rica.

Really loved the food from their restaurant. Also their massage service is excellent.
Also kids enjoyed the pool and the ocean very much.

Only minor disappointment was that we were not able to explain we were not going to pay $250 for laundry service, but we found another hotel, 5 minutes away, who did our laundry for $9,- Strange level of service from Maria, the manager…

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MichielMazel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vichug, Public Relations Manager at Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2011

Dear Michiel, is good you heard that you think we are one of the best hotels you visited during your vacation in Costa Rica, also we really appreciate that you took some time to write this review, all our Staff really appreciate your comments and thank you for recommending us.
And related to the laundry issue you post, we would check if we can work on putting a cheaper service.
Hope to see you again
Best Regards From all Staff at Bahia Del Sol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews