We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok Hotel but pathetic restaurant - comes with live scorpion in room!”
Review of Sugar Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sugar Beach Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Playa Potrero
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed January 16, 2010

The hotel is located in a nice area and the beach is nice but the experience at the restaurant was very bad. They ran out of rice and bread on one night and still seated us for dinner and told us after we had ordered. The service was really bad as well. There was a live scorpion in our room!

Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
2  Thank rishibhargava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (412)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

298 - 304 of 412 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2010

Sugar Beach Hotel is a beautiful place that provides a wonderfully relaxed environment for the whole family. We spent 10 days there over Christmas: a family group of 13 ranging in age from 4 to 80 -- and everyone enjoyed the beach, the pool, the restaurant, the excursions, and the wildlife. Howler monkeys up in the trees, iguanas by the pool, warm surf, very good typical Costa Rican food and excellent tropical cocktails were highlights. Our keen birdwatcher found almost 80 species of birds around the hotel. Every request was dealt with promptly and politely, the rooms were lovely, the air-conditioners worked. Our trips to Buena Vista and Palo Verde were terrific too.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dr_Abby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2009

Sugar Beach is beautiful! It's at the end of the road, so to speak, north of the tourists in Tamarindo. The beach is private with spectacular views. The pool is very nice for lounging out of the sun or after some time on the beach and in the ocean. We were very happy with the staff. They were all professional and accomodating. The restaurant there is peaceful and prepares wonderful meals at all times during the day. We stayed in room 23, which I highly recommend for the view it's location relative to the beach, pool, restaurant and front desk. Rooms 21 and 22 would also be a great choice.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TwoWaterSigns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2009

Hotel Sugar Beach is one of the most spectacular places I have visited. We took Interbus from Allajuela after spending a few days sight seeing, and as the dirt road wound far from the main highway, I knew we were in for a treat. We stayed for 8 nights and enjoyed every one. The property is very isolated and quiet; far from the all-inclusives and buzzing nearby towns (both in location and mentality). The rooms are beautiful, the staff is very kind and the restaurant is full of delicious options. We only left the property twice to go surfing - Point Break Surf (awesome!) - and were completely content with the relaxation and solitude of our choice. Each day was spent alternating between the ocean, the pool and the bar. The property is full of visitors - lizards, crabs, monkeys... and the owners are very earth conscious. We made great friends with the afternoon waiter - Victor - who has many stories to share. If you are looking for a true escape, Hotel Sugar Beach won't disappoint.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GirlOnTheG0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2009

First of all, anyone who has complained about the road to the hotel has obviously not driven on ANY mountain roads in Colorado, Utah, Wyoming or Montana! It was nothing a small SUV couldn't handle.

Now, on to the good stuff....this place was simply amazing. Never, in my life did I think I would be in Costa Rica on a beautiful beach, at sunset, with NO ONE else around. That was pretty much the norm while we were there. For a few days we were the only people at the hotel and it couldn't have been more perfect. The staff was so gracious and attentive! Yes, we were the only ones there, but they all knew us were always extremely kind and helpful.

The food was delicious and the mojito's and guaro sours were incomparable. They whipped up a mean drink there. And, the views from the restaraunt are indescribable. The service was impeccable. They always had our drinks ready for us, complete with a large bottle of water!

I could write and write about this place, but truth be told, just go there. Words and pictures do not do it any justice. We cannot wait to go back - we miss it already.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skruse13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2009

What a find! Great, attentive staff. Off the beaten trail. Right on the Beach. Great place to relax for a few days.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OaklandTraveler_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2009

This was our second trip to Hotel Sugar Beach and loved every minute of it. Sara is wonderful and taught us alot about the area. We were in the Deluxe Ocean View room and thought it was perfect. Has a small fridge so that we could have snacks and beer. We had a family of monkeys in the trees directly outside of our room and it was magnificent. The water and beach is incredibly beautiful and relaxing. Lunch and breakfast were fantastic at the restaurant, but felt that dinner was a little over priced. This time we were prepared and made sandwiches for dinner. I want to renew our vows here for our 10 year anniversary - I truly love this place.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Potrero
2.0 mi away
Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel
14.1 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,618 reviews
5.4 mi away
Reserva Conchal Beach Resort, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
#1 of 3 in Playa Panama
730 reviews
9.5 mi away
Hotel Bosque del Mar Playa Hermosa
2.6 mi away
Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa
Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa
#1 of 7 in Playa Flamingo
2,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Beach Hotel

Address: Playa Pan de Azucar, Playa Potrero, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Potrero
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Playa Potrero
Price Range: $125 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sugar Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are one of the few small hotels in Guanacaste, with a pristine secluded beach, surrounded by nature. Enjoy breathtaking views and experience the Pura Vida lifestyle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Sugar Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Beach Hotel Costa Rica/Playa Potrero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing