We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sugar Beach Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Bahia Esmeralda(Playa Potrero)
$50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villaggio Flor de Pacifico(Playa Potrero)(Great Value!)
$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Spa
Numu Cabinas(Playa Potrero)(Great Value!)
$61
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Isolina Beach(Playa Potrero)(Great Value!)
$56
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Cabinas Windsong(Playa Potrero)(Great Value!)
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
Christina's Bar & Grill, Hideaway(Playa Potrero)(Great Value!)
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Pitaya Lodge(Playa Potrero)
$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel(Playa Potrero)(Great Value!)
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sueno al Mar Residence & Hotel(Playa Potrero)(Great Value!)
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Guanacaste Lodge(Playa Flamingo)(Great Value!)
$75
$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (451)
Filter reviews
451 results
Traveler rating
306
109
19
9
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
306
109
19
9
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshowler monkeyscosta ricahoneymoon suiteprivate covelas catalinasocean viewthe wait staffthe open air restaurantbody surfingduring low tidedry seasonsmall fridgehermit crabslovely groundsget away from it alltide poolshidden gem
Filter
Updating list...
338 - 343 of 451 reviews
Reviewed December 29, 2008

My husband and I along with another couple reserved the beach house. It so impressed us and it did not disappoint. We found this place on TA and it was a great find.

Location:
This hotel is really remote but it's worth the drive knowing that you have your own private beach. Us four were the only ones boggie boarding and tanning on the beach. I felt we had the Elvis treatment.

It was easy to find since you take the only paved road from Liberia. Once in Brasilito, you have to drive about 5 miles on dirt road over hills and through off-the-beaten path little towns. We were the only tourists among the locals and it was worth the organic experience. If you are looking for an upbeat place with nightlife, this is not the place for you. This is a totally remote place which was great for us business peeps that live on the BB. No cell reception, just beach and a bottle of wine. Loved it.

Accommodations:
We reserved the beach house which had 3 bedrooms and 2 bath plus full kitchen and dining/living area. It was more than ample for the group. It was very clean and daily housekeeping was provided.

Literally the beach house was 20 steps from the beach, 30 during low tide. It was the best.

Service:
Simply perfect. The staff was very attentive to our needs.

Overall:
I would definitely return again and highly recommend it if you want to escape society. :)

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jetsetMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2008

My wife and I booked the honeymoon suite from August fourth through the ninth, in what was; we were warned by several travel agents; the wrong time of year to go. We did not need worry, it only rained sparingly the whole time we were there, and we had three days it rained not at all. The road was not as bad as described and we booked miguel and his two wheel toyota for many of our adventures. Thanks, Miguel. (Miguel waited an hour outside the bank in tamarindo for us, because all we took in the way of credit cards was american express and master card. Do youself a favor and take visa)

We took the second floor honeymoon suite not because we were just married, but from looking through the photos it looked the most desirable. We were not disappointed. The view from the wraparound balcony was gorgeous. The crashing of the waves on the beach(only one-hundred yards away) could be heard from anywhere in the room,and lulled one to sleep at night. The room was very clean and the hot water, cable and phone all worked.
My wife and i would have coffee on the balcony first thing as the sun came up,and a flock of magpie - bluejays would fly through the trees and fetch themselves up near us, waiting to see what my wife would leave them. You could almost feed them from your hand.

The food was impeccable, we had no desire to eat anywhere else. The wait staff were excellent, and lead by Victor,were as on the ball as any world-class resort.

The front desk was at our beck and call at all hours, and helped out with whatever logistical problems we had.

All in all,we did not have any negative experiance with this hotel, and i would reccomend it to anyone.There were families there enjoying it as well as we were. The waves were perfect for bodysurfing. We WILL go back!

Stephen and Deborah
Canton, Georgia

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Magpiebluejays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2008

Hotel Sugar Beach was unbelievable! It is very private, remote and romantic. If you're looking for a complete getaway, Sugar Beach is the place.

The road leading into the hotel is rough but managable. A SUV is necessary. There are many local day trips that are very accessible by car. For surfing, I would recommend Playa Grande. Steer clear of Tamirindo!

The staff at the hotel are extremely friendly and helpful and the food is to die for. I would recommend the 2 bedroom suite for an older family. The bedrooms are separate with no internal connection, but both lead out to an outdoor living room/patio,

I wouldn't recommend Sugar Beach if you are looking for a touristy resort but would absolutely recommend if you are looking for a RELAXING, fun getaway.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank lappel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2008

We stayed at Hotel Sugar Beach for four nights during our honeymoon in April 2008. Overall -- it was nice, and I recommend it. The price is pretty good for the kind of seclusion and beach access that the hotel provides.

Pros:
- The hotel may or may not have been fully booked, but we always felt like we could carve out a big chunk of the beach to ourselves.
- The restaurant and drinks were pretty good, and the prices weren't outrageous.
- The rooms were very clean.
- Those nice hammocks (in the pictures) aren't made for two people, and we ripped one , and the staff were nice and didn't make us pay.
- The views were amazing! The sunsets were gorgeous.

Cons:
- The road to get to the property is very rough. Get an SUV.
- The road to get to the property has a couple of places where it is not clearly marked, so do this during the daytime.
- There were spiders in our room (daddy long legs) which appeared at, shall we say, inopportune times.
- The water never was really warm. The best we could hope for was tepid.
- If you want to spend all day being active and not just laying on the beach (as we did a couple of times), the road into town is long.

So yeah, I'd recommend it for a mid-range honeymoon getaway, especially if seclusion and quiet are what you're looking for.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tom_in_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2008

Sugar Beach hotel is about as close to perfection as you can get on vacation, especially on a reasonable budget. Okay, I may be slightly biased because I was married at Sugar Beach, but I feel I can still at least attempt a realistic description.

Not only did our dream wedding, the first few days of our honeymoon, and our most anticipated vacation depend on the quality and hospitality of Sugar Beach, but most importantly, so did the happiness and satisfaction of our friends and family while in Costa Rica. Since forty people agreed to come and celebrate with us in a foreign country, the pressure was on!

No worries however! Sugar Beach delivered in every way and all fourty of our guests were beyond pleased!

Sure, the (very) bumpy dirt road to Sugar Beach might be a bit of a challenge, but it is worth the end result! You arrive at a calm, secluded and stunnigly beautiful paradise. The night we arrived, we immediately ran down to the beach and found ourselves gawking at millions of starts sparkling brightly over the ocean.

The staff is increadibly friendly (shout-out to Victor!), and hospitable. Not the most efficient, but if you are at Sugar Beach and in a rush, there is probably something wrong with your vacation. The food is good, not fancy, but tasty and satisfying. One of our friends went fishing and the chef agreed to cook the fish he cought. It was delicious!

The property is beautiful with iguanas running around everywhere. The rooms clean and comfortable, with some local flare! Every room we had for our group was different, each comfortable and lovely. We are not excited about large, chain hotels, and luckily everything about Sugar Beach was the anthitesis of one.

The best part was the beach house where our group spent each night sipping wine after dinner, chatting, looking at the starts and listening to the waves crash against the sand.

Although isolated, its not too hard to get from Sugar Beach to Flamingo by taxi or car, so you have a choice between a relaxing evening at the hotel restaurant or a wild night dancing in Flamingo.

I can go on for days, but I won't. All I can say is that you won't be dissapointed!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Fruzsinka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews