We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sugar Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Catalinas Beach Suites(Playa Flamingo)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Bahia Esmeralda(Playa Potrero)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Mediterraneus(Playa Potrero)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Spa
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paradise Flamingo Beach(Playa Flamingo)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Flamingo Marina Resort(Playa Flamingo)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Guanacaste Lodge(Playa Flamingo)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (447)
Filter reviews
447 results
Traveler rating
302
109
19
9
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
302
109
19
9
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshowler monkeyscosta ricahoneymoon suiteprivate covelas catalinasocean viewthe wait staffthe open air restaurantbody surfingduring low tidedry seasonsmall fridgehermit crabslovely groundsget away from it alltide poolshidden gem
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
211 - 216 of 447 reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed at Hotel Sugar Beach for six nights on our honeymoon. It is a lovely little hotel on a beautiful beach. The room was very reasonably priced. It was spacious with a comfortable bed and a nice patio. The hotel staff was very friendly helping to arrange tours and transport and giving us tips and directions when we ventured out on our own. We saw monkeys in the trees outside our room and many beautiful birds. The restaurant is really reasonably priced and the wait staff was so friendly and accommodating. The food is fresh and well prepared and the drinks are also great. The front desk had a great library of DVDs to borrow and a good llibrary of wild life books as well. We had a great time in the pool and walking along the georgeous beach.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JennyFH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JosePablo, Guest Relations Manager at Sugar Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Dear Honeymooners, Congratulations! We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your week with us and will be sure to let the staff know that you appreciated their hospitality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2014

The resort is quiet and relaxing. The wait staff was friendly and courteous. The food was delicious. The waiter made some recommendations and he got it right. The meal tasted like something my grandmother used to cook 50 years ago and brought back to mind some wonderful memories. Would recommend this place over and over again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank travelcrazy1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JosePablo, Guest Relations Manager at Sugar Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2014

Thank you so much for your kind review! We are happy that you will also have good memories of Sugar Beach. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is located on a beautiful private beach. We saw monkeys, iguanas, birds and beautiful sunsets. For the price, I was hoping for a bit more luxury in the room as it was fairly simple. The restaurant served delicious food at a fair price, but a bit pricier than I would like.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Alexandra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JosePablo, Guest Relations Manager at Sugar Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

Dear Alexandra, We are delighted that you enjoyed the wildlife, sunsets and delicious food in the restaurant! I am sorry that you found your room lacking and would appreciate very much if you shared with me privately what you would have preferred in your room and if you stayed in a standard or deluxe room, or master suite. We agree that our prices are fair and are glad that you acknowledge that as well as the quality in the restaurant and the general travel experience. All comments appreciated and welcome info@sugar-beach.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Me, my wife and my 2 girls spent 4 nights at this property and we had a great time for various reasons.

Firstly, the location of the hotel. The place is just steps away from " Pan de Azucar" beach so you can walk in 30 seconds from the restaurant to the sea. The beach is not crowded. Therefore you can enjoy the peace and the privacy without paying a fortune.

We payed 150 USD per night with a great breakfast included.

Secondly, the service. Gama, Victor, Ale and the rest of the staff are amazing, they took care of every detail during our stay. For example, one of my daughters is allergic to wheat and they prepared the pasta we brought with us at no extra cost.

Thirdly, the food. We ate at their restaurant every day for breakfast wich was really good- fruit, pancakes, traditional " gallo pinto", eggs, etc- Also we ate there for lunch and some dinners and we were impressed with the quality of the food and the prices. For instance, the prices of the restaurant are 25% cheaper than other resturants around.

Finally, the facilities. The hotel is not luxurious but the rooms and the restaurant are nice and have everything you need. The pool is close to the beach and the rooms and is good for adults and kids.

As a conclusion, I can recommend this hotel for families and those looking for a nice place to rest and enjoy the beach and the nature.

Room Tip: The rooms with garden view are still great and close enough to the beach.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hozkhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JosePablo, Guest Relations Manager at Sugar Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Thank you for your detailed recommendation. We are happy that your family enjoyed your stay and appreciated and mentioned some of us by name! We hope you can return someday soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Sugar Beach is a curious spot. During our stay, the place was nearly deserted until our last day, a Friday. The beach is absolutely gorgeous, with herons diving in the surf, and the loveliest Pacific sunset imaginable. The food, was outstanding, and very reasonably priced. We really enjoyed the open-air restaurant, very comfortable and welcoming, and a perfect spot to watch the iguanas and the colorful birds that liked to stop by. The place fell short, however, where our children were concerned. There were DVD's and board games to borrow from the front desk, but not a single piece of beach equipment--no boogie boards, no kayaks, nothing. I could see a stack of boogie boards near the desk but was told they could not be borrowed. We couldn't even find a towel. We had to make our way with great difficulty to the neighboring resort, which has a wonderful center for surfing, paddleboarding, kayaking and bike riding, with a very welcoming crew. But it was so difficult to get back because of unreliable taxi service, and heat in the 100 degree range, that it undermined the outing. The pool at Sugar Beach, by this point, was paradise, and that is where we stayed the rest of our time there. All in all, a mixed experience. I would have enjoyed it more if I had not had children to keep busy. It happened to be extraordinarily hot during our stay, and our rooms were like ovens, so we needed air conditioning all night. Thus no sounds of surf or sea breezes. We stayed in a house on the far end of the property and its interior bore absolutely no resemblance to the photos on the website--a completely different kitchen. We wanted an accessible facility, and it was steeply ramped in places and with stairs in others. In general the resort was manageable but we would have done better in regular rooms, which are spread across the resort in smaller units. It would be more enjoyable at this resort if you had your own car.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 60763Travelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JosePablo, Guest Relations Manager at Sugar Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2014

Thank you very much for your review. We are grateful for your suggestions in regard to traveling with children. Sugar Beach is quiet and tends to focus on couples and romantic vacations. The property has many features that are kid friendly – with the wild life living on the property and our secluded location, kids have some space and easy adventure at hand – yet we have missed an opportunity to organize other activities for our younger guests. We have some ideas in the works and your feedback has motivated us to move forward asap!

The hotel currently offers only boogie boards for guests to use now that Pura Vida Ride is operating a water sport business near the hotel and offers lessons and a wide variety of rentals. Unfortunately, the boogies boards you spotted were a retired dozen boards that we no longer offered to guests as they were badly damaged. We will do better with our replacement boards.

Sugar Beach has two beachfront family rentals – the five-bedroom beach house and the three-bedroom beach suite. Your reservation was upgraded to the five-bedroom beach house. Although similar, the house has a full kitchen and the beach suite a kitchenette – the photos clearly do look different. We apologize for this assumption – that an upgrade is good – and our failure to involve you in this decision. We now understand that you preferred to be more centrally located to the restaurant and pool and we will be better with our communication with guests at check in. Again, thank you for taking the time to give us helpful feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews