We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sugar Beach Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$186
$167
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bahia Esmeralda(Playa Potrero)
$50
$49
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Guanacaste Lodge(Playa Flamingo)(Great Value!)
$79
$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paradise Flamingo Beach(Playa Flamingo)(Great Value!)
$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa(Playa Flamingo)(Great Value!)
$226
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Casa Chameleon Hotel at Las Catalinas(Las Catalinas)(Great Value!)
$577
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Brasilito(Brasilito)(Great Value!)
$59
$46
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Spa
Hotel Mediterraneus(Playa Potrero)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (447)
Filter reviews
447 results
Traveler rating
302
109
19
9
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
302
109
19
9
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshowler monkeyscosta ricahoneymoon suiteprivate covelas catalinasocean viewthe wait staffthe open air restaurantbody surfingduring low tidedry seasonsmall fridgehermit crabslovely groundsget away from it alltide poolshidden gem
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
340 - 345 of 447 reviews
Reviewed April 29, 2008

We stayed in the honeymoon suite for 5 nights. We had a large balcony that overlooked the beach. Our room was set back a bit and secluded from the other buildings and it was fantastic. My inlaws got a regular room (no ocean view) yet, they had a perfect view of the ocean. Tons of iguanas everywhere on the property and the food was pretty good...the drinks were a little weak. I loved this hotel and will absolutely return again, as it is only 1.5 hrs from the Liberia airport. I can't believe this hotel is not more popular...beautiful beach, lovely hotel and spectacular sunsets. We swam everyday in the calm warm surf......I can't wait to go back! The only negative (super minor) the cleaning staff are there about 9am to clean rooms and they just lurk around your room until you feel compelled to leave so that they can clean. I also didn't find the restaurant staff very friendly, but.....my fault for not speaking the language. This place is incredible and very affordable.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank NicoleSacramento_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2008

I stayed at this hotel for two nights in late March. It has a lovely private beach with wonderful surf for swimming. The pool is quiet, too, if you prefer that. There are bungalows and paths throughout the property, hammocks to relax in. Rooms are nicely appointed, but not over the top. Very comfortable. The staff was very nice and friendly. The sunsets were amazing! Very romantic. Food was excellent. The roads getting to Sugar Beach are rough -- bring your dramamine. Once you're there, it's worth it. Sign up for the outrigger canoe trip and snorkel. I could have stayed much longer.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daphne68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2008

This is a wonderful place whose best qualities are the staff and the beach. My family of 5 was there for 5 nites, with other extended family there for several of those. Even when there were 16 of us, the restaurant staff knew our names. We often had the same waiter (Francisco) nite to nite and he was great with the kids. Everyone is just very warm and friendly. We changed around who was in which building and they moved our luggage without problem.

The beach is phenomenal. It is very rocky to one side, which is hidden at high tide. Stay toward the center- beautiful sand well out into the sea. The waves were perfect. Boogie boards for $1/hour at the front desk. We were new to that, but adults down to our 5 year old had a blast. Lots of sand for building and lounging. There is a lack of shade. It would be fabulous if they built a couple of shelters or gave out umbrellas. The kids and I also had fun at low tide, checking out the tide pools-fascinating.

We were booked in the 2 room 'suite.' They are beautiful rooms, steps from the beach, sharing a lovely, well-furnished terrace. But since the rooms themselves were not connected, we switched with other members of our family. (Travel agent's fault). We did spend lots of time on the shaded terrace tho, playing cards or games to stay out of the mid-day sun.

So we stayed in the 5 bedroom villa toward the end of the property. It's large, with a kitchen and laundry. Big LR and porch. Master suite is awesome, with ocean view. Be aware of the discrepancy among rooms; you could fit all the other bedrooms into the master, as well as the 2 other bathrooms into master bath with ease. Also, the a/c's in the small rooms are VERY loud (quiet in master and living rooms). One was broken the evening we arrived, but workers came to fix it the next morning.

We did not have a car, so ate every meal on site. The food was always good, and the included breakfast was ample. There was a marimba band two evenings, which was quite pleasant.

Main problem is DARK, gravely, rocky road to the villa. Difficult to navigate at nite, and impossible if you have difficulty walking. Twice, a tarantula was spotted by those with flashlights. I also saw a scorpion scurrying away one evening on the porch. Now, you are in the tropics, and these creatures were trying to stay away from us, just be aware, and if you're in the villa, bring flashlites! Other buildings had lighted paths with steps.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NancyJL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2007

Just returned from honeymoon in CR. First 5 days at Sugar Beach. We really enjoyed our stay here, and could barely make ourselves leave. We stayed in one of the master suites, which was very nice. Nicely furnished, comfortable bed, great A/C, bathroom, porches, etc. Lots of friendly Iguanas on the grounds, no monkeys spotted or heard though. Food was very good. We sampled just about all of the fish dishes and loved them all. Perfect portion sizes, and plenty of really good fresh fruit. Great service. By the end of the week, we felt like the waiters were old friends. The view from the dining area is incredible. The beach area is not all that large, but plenty big for the small crowds here. The tide pools on each side of the beach area were great to explore and discover all sorts of creatures if you look close enough. Almost all positives to report here. Just a few minor negatives. This place is pretty isolated, but I think thats the idea. We don't mind walking a ways and did so almost daily. Walked all the way to Brasilito one day, quite a haul along beach and dusty roads. Probably 6 miles or more. Little town of Potrero is nearby to buy beer or calling cards, snacks, or whatever. Still a good steep sweaty walk. As far as the hotel goes, our room was on the far end and rear of the property, and I believe near the septic area. It got pretty ripe on occasion, especially after rain. We got used to it. You actually couldn't smell it at all once in the room with the A/C on. I think we were in the only spot where it would be a concern. You really can't expect one place to be completely perfect. Overall we absolutely loved it and recommended this place to everyone on the rest of our trip. If your OK with more or less staying put for a few days, this place is paradise. Incredible views and surroundings. Very quiet. Comfortable. Great food. A really special place.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank cbass2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2007

Sugar Beach Resort was wonderful. The staff was so accommodating. They helped us plan a wedding on the beach with very short notice after many attempts with other hotels. They arranged the official, flowers, and photgrapher.The rooms were gorgeous. We had a great view. The road to the remote hotel can barely be called a road but the directions that the hotel's website gives are exact. We drove out from Liberia after dark and had no trouble at all. I would not try this road without 4-wheel. Also the food was scrumptious the entire time. I did not have one bad meal in 10 days. We could not have done without the A/C. It was hot. Power did go out for a short periods. This never lasted too long thank god! Highly recommend a visit!!

Stayed: March 2007
2  Thank 123456789Seattle_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews