We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Pura Vida!”
other travelers have booked this property
Sunset from balcony
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sunset from balcony
View of villa from Playa Penca Dining Area with custom carved table and chairs
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
30 reviews
Sunset from balcony
View of villa from Playa Penca
Dining Area with custom carved table and chairs
Granite countered kitchen and island
First level living room convertible to third bedroom . Curtains pulled for privacy .
Circular stairs from Master level to Living room
King size bed on Master Level
Double Talevera sinks in Master bath
Florentine tiled Master Shower
Master bath soaking tub
View from Master Bedroom
Guest bedroom first level
Outside Dining Area
Rattan palmed fans on all levels
Custom Carved Guanacaste wood doors
Costa Rican Rockers on balcony
Pool on walk out level
Poolside Outside dining area at night
Playa Penca
Guests catching tuna
Arenal Volcano
Hot Springs
Tucan
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Playa Potrero, Province of Guanacaste

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ankle_wei...
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pura Vida!”
Reviewed May 14, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Villa Cielo Mar is a little bit of heaven! The views from all 3 levels are amazing. Carol and Scott's house is one of three townhouses but we had total privacy for the 11 days we were there. It was so nice to have the pool and Jacuzzi to ourselves. The house was in walking distance to 2 beaches, Playa Potrero which wasn't a very nice beach and Playa Penca which was fabulous. Also a short drive to Playa Danta, our favorite. We saw and heard many howlers around the house and at Danta. We were also in walking distance to a few restaurants.......all very good. There are several small markets close by for food, cervezas, vino, etc. In addition, a short drive away there are some larger markets. Claudia was helpful in arranging our snorkeling trip and massages at home. Jenny has magic hands and I only wish we could have had a massage every day! My husband and I have rented vacation homes/condos in several countries but Carol and Scott have topped them all. You will get a workout....there are 3 levels. Of course something was always forgotten so it was up and down the stairs.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Our flights......we arrived at the house around 11pm and our departing flight was 6:50 am so we had to stay at a hotel for the last night.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy T
Bowdoinham, Maine, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Get Away Vacation”
Reviewed March 21, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

This was the perfect getaway. My husband and I rarely get away for what I call tropical vacation. And when we do, we always hope that it's going to be the perfect get away for us to relax and have fun. We traveled to Costa Rica with good friends and found that the three story condo was the perfect getaway. It really was ideal for 2 couples or a family of 4 or 5. Each level had a view that was amazing. I always looked forward to early mornings with coffee or evenings having cocktails sitting on the deck. The pictures we took of the sunsets just don't do it justice. Words or pictures can't describe how pretty they really are. Although, we did a fair amount of cooking (the house was totally equipped), we went out to eat a great deal as there were several awesome restaurants within walking distance. And the people there were so friendly and helpful. I really miss the fresh fish, fruits and vegetables! The beach is only a 5 minute walk. Our experience there was authentic as the condo was not located within a resort, but in a small community. Carol and Scott were incredible and were a wealth of information.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View from the deck, the fresh food, pool, easy access to so many things....
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver V
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Amazing location!!”
Reviewed March 14, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

We spend a week in this conveniently located villa in Costa Rica. It was our first time in Costa Rica and we were very happy with our experience. It was very close to the beach and various restaurants. It also had a swimming pool and jacuzzi for our use. The views from the balconies are incredible!

The owners were very helpful. Booking and receiving the keys was a breeze. convinient.

We highly recommend this villa. We had a great time and will be coming back very soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views, amenities and updated kitchen.
Liked least: Nothing!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ann t
Brunswick, Maine
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This property is awesome!!!”
Reviewed March 7, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

We've never rented a property outside of the USA. It was so the right choice! The home was clean, comfortable, in a quiet area and within a 3 minute walk to 2 beaches, a small market & 3 restaurants (the first one on the left just after the food market was our favorite). We didn't even end up renting a car since all was within this area. We were so fortunate to have the owners, Carol & Scott in the area when we were there. They gave us several very helpful tips....but then I did find all the same information in the book of the area that they provide with the house. We connected with Alex Tours for transportation for a couple of excursions and our return to the airport.....he is great and speaks very good english. Do Not Hesitate to rent this property! You will make new friends at alot of these places!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: felt like home
Liked least: the length of our stay
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WV
Reviewed February 13, 2013 for a stay in January 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Winnipeg mb
Reviewed February 5, 2013 for a stay in January 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NJ
Reviewed January 6, 2013 for a stay in December 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$150
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing