We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Vacation Ever”
Review of Casa Melray

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Playa Potrero
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Melray
Newton, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Best Vacation Ever”
Reviewed June 3, 2012

This past February, my sister, father and I traveled around Costa Rica. We really found paradise when we walked through the gates of Casa Melray. We stayed in a beautiful guest house next to a sparkling pool with the ocean just a few steps away. Mel and Ray greeted us as warmly as old friends and even made cookies for me on my birthday! They know ever inch of the area. If you are thinking of staying i this part of Costa Rica, you must stay here!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CathySchumer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
48
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Casa Meray is a beautiful boutique hotel. It is like being in heaven. Owner Mel and
Ray make sure you are comfortable.
they have a outdoor movie theater with soft cushy couches. Every night we took a glass of wine or my favorite a Pilsen out to the beach and watch the sunset. Magnificent, recommendations to the local Tica restaurants were excellent. In the morning expect a surprise from Mel we had fresh warm baked banna bread, assorted fruit. This is a place you want to stay for a long time and they can accomodate you. The rooms are comfortable all computer a wifi avaiable. Mel and Ray will guide you to the beach bars all within walking distance or they will help you with a rental car. Highly Recommend CASA MELRAY

Room Tip: All rooms are great we stayed in the Iguana room over looking the beach with our private patio outsi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pilsenqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at Casa Melray for 3 weeks in April 2012 for his 22nd birthday. This was our first trip to Costa Rica and we had no idea what to expect. We landed at Liberia Airport and rented a car, which I highly suggest doing. Getting to Casa Melray is incredibly easy, and once we arrived it was like paradise, total diamond in the rough. It had all the ammenities of home and more. The property was more then gorgeous, and being beach front made every evening romantic, being able to watch the sunset from our rooms porch. Our room (Iguana room) had powerful air conditioning, plently of space, a huge bathroom, and a very comfortable bed. There is an outdoor kitchen, fully equiped, and the oudoor living room has a massive projection screen which was perfect for watching movies on a rainy night. Our absolute favorite part about the whole place was the pool, being able to have it so close to dip in several times a day to cool down was a god sent. Being located in Potrero made it so close to so many beaches and really good restuarants, and Mel and Ray have everything mapped out as well as tons of recommended places to eat. I could go on and on but Casa Melray is a beautiful, welcoming place to stay, and we will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

My fiancee and I were thinking about staying at either Flamingo or Potroro beach, and were so glad we picked Casa Melray on Potrero beach. At flamingo there are personality-less resorts with tons of people. On Potroro nobody is on the beach, and it's a 10 min walk away from another stunning beach. It's also within walking distance of Flamingo, a nice walk to work off all the burritos you will end up eating. Casa Melray is a GORGEOUS place, clean and modern with great design. We stayed in the Iguana room- basically right on the water. Big windows and ocean view. Mel and Rey also have wine to go around, a nice way to wrap up a day of activities and talk with people who actually live in the area.

I stayed here because of all the 5 stars reviews and am here to add another! You'll love it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 95KateH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamptons, New York
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Location, Location, Location... Yes Yes Yes, but your hosts are just as good!
You want beach front luxury boutique hotel that is very affordable?
This is it!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FredL881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waverly, MN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 24, 2012

My husband and I just got back from our 30th Anniversary celebration in Costa Rica. We chose Casa Melray which exceeded all our expectations! Excellent accomodations and a wonderful central location for exploring Costa Rica. Mel & Ray made us feel like family and we met some really fun people! Their knowledge of the area was much appreciated as they helped us decide where to eat and which beaches to visit, etc.The pool was clean & very inviting/relaxing, the beds comfortable and the entire property just gorgeous! Spectacular sunsets made for romantic evenings on our private patio.Coffee, fruit and interesting conversation in the shared kitchen area on most mornings was a bonus.We'll be back for sure! Pure heaven!

Room Tip: Frog Suite has a wonderful oceanfront view and great private patio.The Penthouse would be wonderful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maryhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spruce Grove, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed March 14, 2012

What a great trip to Costa Rica. Thanks to Mel and Ray who are wonderful people and who couldn't do enough for us. Be prepared to be wowed by the beaches and sunsets and the beautiful accommodations. The food was fantastic, especially the seafood. Thanks for the wonderful memories, Mel and Ray.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Potrero
0.6 mi away
Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel
1.5 mi away
Sugar Beach Hotel
Sugar Beach Hotel
#2 of 5 in Playa Potrero
405 reviews
4.5 mi away
Reserva Conchal Beach Resort, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,578 reviews
12.5 mi away
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
#2 of 3 in Playa Panama
701 reviews
12.4 mi away
El Mangroove, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Melray? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Melray

Property: Casa Melray
Address: 1km north of La Perla's Bar | Playa Flamingo, Playa Potrero, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Potrero
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Potrero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to paradise at Casa Melray, a sensational beach front accommodation only steps to Potrero Beach, Costa Rica. Located in the stunning province of Guanacaste, Canadian operated Casa Melray has every amenity you can think of. Enjoy our contemporary boutique guest house or take a dip in our sparkling pool. Feeling adventurous? Try some kayaking, surfing, or nearby fishing. Hungry? You have to try the mind blowing restaurants in the area. Wander down the marina or hop in the car. You're only a five minute drive from the breathtaking tourist destination, Flamingo Beach. You're not dreaming. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Melray Costa Rica/Playa Potrero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing